Customer Reviews for

Dog Songs

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Dog Lovers Delight!

    This book is a gift to my heart. Mary Oliver has a devotion to nature and her descriptions of the tiniest details while on a walk through the woods always seem so clear to me.

    This collection is all about the dogs she has known. As a dog lover, her words bring me memories of all the dogs that have shared their lives with me. Dogs spend their time with us trying to teach us to see and feel everything each minute. I share Mary Oliver's affection for dogs and enjoy this book everytime I open it up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Beautiful

    I loved this book so much that I am giving it as gifts to people who have dogs. Highly recommend to people who loves dogs and love poetry and stories about dogs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Don't read sample

    I read the sample because it seemed like a good book but it only went to the copyright page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Wer

    You are a gal en eh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Oliver has been one of my favorite poets since having disco

    Mary Oliver has been one of my favorite poets since having discovered her work in 2012. What I love about her poetry is the duality of it; what I mean by that is that you can read it and take the meaning of each poem at it's face value and find it wonderful but also the depth is there if one wishes to troll it and you will find something truly profound in each of her works. This collection is full of poems about dogs and Ms. Oliver's understanding of not only the remarkable nature of canines but also our relationship to our beloved dogs is truly amazing. Take each poem like a sip of fine wine, savor it, mull it over in your mind, and cherish the fact that we have this amazing woman in existence to give us these beautiful works. A truly profound and wonderful collection, recommended obviously for fans of Ms. Oliver but also to anyone who loves or has loved a dog. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I bought this book for myself but ended up giving it to a friend who had just lost their dog of many years and was welcoming a new puppy into their home. The book seemed the right sentiment for both occasions. I just loved reading the poems from a dogs perspective, tears and smiles. Now I have to get myself a copy! What a wonderful gift too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    A must read for people who love dogs.

    Mary Oliver tells stories about the dogs we have all loved. She makes you laugh and cry as she paints mental images of what those dogs did and what they may have been thinking as they go about their day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Gift Book

    I bought this book as a gift. The recipient loves it. He said it's one of the best gifts he's ever received. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Good reading!

    Great for dog lovers. Not her best work otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Mary Oliver delivers again.

    Mary Oliver never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Heartwarming for those who have lived a life with dogs

    This was a gift for another that I read while trying to keep it looking new in appearance. Some poems were wonderfully happy, while others were tearfully sad. All brought to mind images of the animal or situation that moved the poet to write. This is a lovely book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Excellent as always from Mary Oliver; a must have for all dog lovers

    Mary Oliver, like Ted Kooser, writes compact, precise poems that often give me Aha!' moments. I would recommend her poetry to anyone who loves all animals but especially dogs,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Absolutely the perfect treasure

    What a delightful gift - I bought it for someone else, but I'm so enjoying this lovely, sweet book. If you are new to Mary Oliver's beautiful poetry, you need to check this out; if you or someone you know is in love with dogs, this will hit the mark. Very special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1