Customer Reviews for

The Dog That Talked to God

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my perso

I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my personnel life because I am a widower. It is a good story of survival after a tragic loss in one's life. We tend to blame God for everything and we don't look into why He lets things happen the way they do. It i...
I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my personnel life because I am a widower. It is a good story of survival after a tragic loss in one's life. We tend to blame God for everything and we don't look into why He lets things happen the way they do. It is in His will that we survive and get through things like this. Mary was a survivor because she relied on Rufus (her dog) to talk things out. I personnelly feel that Mary was not really talking to the dog but to God and this is her way of putting her life in order. God has plans for us whether we like it or not it is His Will. Great story it kept me wanting to read more and more from the beginning to the end.

posted by monksbread on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Already read it from review

The review is longer than the book, no need to read it now

posted by Rudi on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    A Serious Read.....not light hearted.

    I purchased this book thinking I was getting a light hearted fun story of a dog having fun quirkly conversations with God. What I got was a serious book on how to handle grief. It was a slow beginning because it seemed all about the owner but picked up after 100 pages then I couldn't put it down. I appreciated the discussion questions at the end and feel this would be a great study book for a book club or grief counseling support group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    A great read

    I just loved this. I recommend it to all my friends. It's a fun story with a great message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Just what I needed to read!

    Just what I needed to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    It COULD have been good, but...

    This looked like such a cute book, I grabbed it, when it was offered as a freebie. The premise of the book is good, I think, but there's nothing that drives me crazier than someone who says something 20 different ways. Ok, so the woman may have been a dingbat, but that doesn't change anything. I'll bet the book could have covered 20 pages, if all the repetitions were left out. When I got to the chapter where she starts her move across-country, she invites the reader to skip that part, because it's so "detailed". By that point, I was just looking for an excuse to quit, and I did. Sorry.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    This book is a wonderful read. Kept me interested and longing fo

    This book is a wonderful read. Kept me interested and longing for more. I bought the next book, "The Cat That God Sent" written by the same author. That book was just as enjoyable as this one was. Would highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Wonderful story!

    Heartwarming, absolutely fantastic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Jim Kraus is not only a great writer, he also thinks outside the

    Jim Kraus is not only a great writer, he also thinks outside the norm, and, is a dog person. Has your dog ever talked to you? Yes? See, that is not fantasy, it is reality. Well, maybe dogs do not talk in audible words, but those of us that have dogs are sure to see the expressions of Rufus in the actions and looks of our own dogs and it is not that much a stretch of our imagination to figure that dogs talk. We all know how intellegent these friends of ours are. Now that I have told you that, I will tell you that I found this book hard to connect to. Perhaps it was only that the Point of View was first person, and that is a personal thing. This fact does not stop me from picking up another one of his books and enjoying it. The story is well told, and completely realistic (well, it hink that even those readers that are not dog lovers will think that, except for that little bit about a dog being able to talk in human voice that humans can understand). Jim does a great job of bringing out the aspects of grief....from being angry at God, to closure. 




    Thank you to Litfuse Publications who provided a free book in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loved It!

    Everyone needs a Rufus in their life. His innocence and faith are precious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    One of the best and moving books I have ever read. I highly re

    One of the best and moving books I have ever read. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great read

    This book is great and entertaining. It really captures my attention. This author does great work in there boojs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    It was so good :)

    I loved it it was a amazing story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Wonderful book that I highly recommend that you read.

    Wonderful book that I highly recommend that you read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Cute

    Im by no means religious and actually consider myself agnostic, however i have a mini schnauzer & experienced a similar trauma. The story itself and the unfaltering support of rufus helped me put my tragedy in the past...with perspective
    It would have been better without the religion talk

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Beautiful story!

    This is one you'll want to read again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised

    With such a title I was not sure what kind of story this would be or where it would lead. As a dog lover it struck my interest and was pleasantly surprised. The story kept my interest and kept me coming back to see what was happening with Mary and Rufus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    The Best Story I've Read This Year

    This book is more than a charming story ~It is one of those stories that sticks with a person long after they've read it. Now i look to my own little dogs and ask them whether they speak to God, half expecting to see their mouths move, speaking hesitantly yet deliberately, "of course, don't all good dogs talk to God?" I adore this book, i think anyone who reads it will. I'm so glad Mr. Kraus wrote it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    cute, easy read

    This an easy to read story. Cute story line. I liked that it wasn't offensive or suggestive. Will check out other books by this author. The only thing that I didn't like; it contained typos. I don't know if they are in the printed version or not but frustrating to see them in this version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    This was one of the best books I've read. As an animal lover I

    This was one of the best books I've read. As an animal lover I can really relate to how our pets help us through the tough times in our lives. A wonderful "feel good" book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Wonderful book- giggle and cry!

    This is a feel good fast read that packs a punch with a gentle touch. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    AWFUL

    I did not care for this book at all. I don't like religion crammed down my throat. I also felt it was poorly written, especially when the main character is supposed to be an editor, familiar with the rules of grammar. Clearly the author is not.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7