Customer Reviews for

The Dog That Talked to God

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my perso

I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my personnel life because I am a widower. It is a good story of survival after a tragic loss in one's life. We tend to blame God for everything and we don't look into why He lets things happen the way they do. It i...
I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my personnel life because I am a widower. It is a good story of survival after a tragic loss in one's life. We tend to blame God for everything and we don't look into why He lets things happen the way they do. It is in His will that we survive and get through things like this. Mary was a survivor because she relied on Rufus (her dog) to talk things out. I personnelly feel that Mary was not really talking to the dog but to God and this is her way of putting her life in order. God has plans for us whether we like it or not it is His Will. Great story it kept me wanting to read more and more from the beginning to the end.

posted by monksbread on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Already read it from review

The review is longer than the book, no need to read it now

posted by Rudi on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my perso

    I throughly enjoyed this book and I can relate to it in my personnel life because I am a widower. It is a good story of survival after a tragic loss in one's life. We tend to blame God for everything and we don't look into why He lets things happen the way they do. It is in His will that we survive and get through things like this. Mary was a survivor because she relied on Rufus (her dog) to talk things out. I personnelly feel that Mary was not really talking to the dog but to God and this is her way of putting her life in order. God has plans for us whether we like it or not it is His Will. Great story it kept me wanting to read more and more from the beginning to the end.

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Reviews

    I agree with the previous reviewer. I live reading reviews but sometimes you don't even need to read the book when the reviewer is finished. Don't tell me the whole story, that's why I read. Thank you

    19 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!

    I am a dog person and enjoy most books about dogs. And The Dog Who Talked To God is one of the best Ive read. Of course it isfantasy because dogs dont really talk, but they certainly communicate with us. "The Art of Racing in the Rain" is my favorite book about a dog, but this is number 2.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Animal lovers will enjoy this heartwarming and humorous book. T

    Animal lovers will enjoy this heartwarming and humorous book. The deeper message of healing is a pleasant plus.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great story.

    Loved this book! It made my heart smile. The ending tied everything up perfectly without leaving you hanging.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    This made my heart smile

    I enjoyed this book so much. It was simple on the surface, but the love and joy this wonderful dog gave made my heart heal from my painful loss. Don't miss this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is avery heartwarming story. I loved it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Beautiful

    This book tells a real, beautiful, and heart warming story. Engaging and inspiring.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Terrific book for pet lovers!

    This was a very uplifting story that anyone who has gone a
    difficult time can relate to. Those who have pets can understand how pets can bring such comfort and understanding to us humans. They give us such conditional love.

    This is well worth the read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great Read!

    This is a lovely book. Enjoyable characters, both canine and human.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nice story.

    It was such a nice story. Don't find many of them much any more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    good reading

    good wholesome book good reading

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Recommend this book.

    Not exactly what I thought it would be- even more. Enjoyed reading this book and recommended it to my friends and fellow dog lovers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    WHO WOULD WRITE A REVIEW OF THE STORY?

    WHY R U PEOPLE WRITING THE STORY IN YOUR REVIEW?WHAT IS WRONG WITH U PEOPLE?BYE

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    A great read

    I just loved this. I recommend it to all my friends. It's a fun story with a great message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Just what I needed to read!

    Just what I needed to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    This book is a wonderful read. Kept me interested and longing fo

    This book is a wonderful read. Kept me interested and longing for more. I bought the next book, "The Cat That God Sent" written by the same author. That book was just as enjoyable as this one was. Would highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Wonderful story!

    Heartwarming, absolutely fantastic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loved It!

    Everyone needs a Rufus in their life. His innocence and faith are precious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    One of the best and moving books I have ever read. I highly re

    One of the best and moving books I have ever read. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4