Customer Reviews for

Dog Training For Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dog Training for Dummies

All the dummy books work great! I read this book,Dog Training for Dummies, then I trained my dog and he never gets in trouble. I recommend this book to everyone!!!!!Naomi#1

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nothing special

Just not impressed with this book. Training tips not super helpful. Lots of strange 'alternative' care type stuff (adding supplements to pet's diet). At one point even suggesting to not buy from a breeder who isn't familiar with their puppy grading scale. Whole book...
Just not impressed with this book. Training tips not super helpful. Lots of strange 'alternative' care type stuff (adding supplements to pet's diet). At one point even suggesting to not buy from a breeder who isn't familiar with their puppy grading scale. Whole book just a little strange.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Nothing special

    Just not impressed with this book. Training tips not super helpful. Lots of strange 'alternative' care type stuff (adding supplements to pet's diet). At one point even suggesting to not buy from a breeder who isn't familiar with their puppy grading scale. Whole book just a little strange.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Dog Training for Dummies

    All the dummy books work great! I read this book,Dog Training for Dummies, then I trained my dog and he never gets in trouble. I recommend this book to everyone!!!!!Naomi#1

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Save frustration, go to a real trainer

    My malamute didn't respond to the techniques in this book. I ended up taking her to the PetSmart training classes anyway...and she started responding to their techniques immediately. Save your frustration...Go to a real trainer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    -good

    Good so far

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    Wonderful Book Very helpful

    I loved this book, Very helpful for a person like me. I am getting my first Leonberger service dog for balance and hearing (my second service dog)and it was very imformitive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    This book is AWESOME

    If you actually take the time to read the entire book you'll find yourself very knowledgable when it comes to dog training. As for housetraining, there is an entire for dummies book devoted to that and it is called Housetraining for Dummies. And for puppies there is a for dummies book called Puppies for Dummies. If you buy and read all three books, you will have all the knowledge you need.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    This book is not helpful

    This book is very poorly organized, it is not cohesive and does not flow. I had simple questions about my puppy and I couldn't find one word in the index or in the table of contents to address the issue at hand. Some issues it doesn't even address, others it addresses, such as HOUSETRAINING for only a few sentences!! I am sure the authors had good intentions but if in your table of contents you have chapters about putting your dog in shows, before chapters about normal everyday puppy needs, then you need to get a better editor!!! Obviously, I DO NOT recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Burbly rerf boo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Poop

    If you take time to read it you can actually work it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Ruff

    L

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Dog

    Wow omg it totall

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Its alright

    It didnt work on my dog if u hav a pup or an old dog dont use this sztart at like 4-5 it mite work then :/

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    thix is in

    this i

    0 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2