Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(266)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by 19189092 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Barking Up the Wrong Tree

    Since I'm a dog lover, book lover, particularly mysteries and detective novels,this book caught my eye. Unfortunately, it never caught, much less held my interest. Mr. Quinn had a unique idea to have the dog narrate the story, but I found the dog to be a boring narrator and the mystery one that could have been solved by a very slow thinking cat. Cat-lovers should not be offended.

    Chet was bright enough, but his talent was wasted here and there was not enough sense of humor or irony in the story.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hank the Cowdog with some adult passages

    This is a very cute book, but it certainly is not original. Check out the Hank the Cowdog series by Erickson. I believe he wrote nearly 50 of them. This was a pretty pricey hard cover book for a story that has already been told.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay.

    IMHO this book was not worth the price. I just did not enjoy it. It seemed kinda lame and although there were some humorous parts it was a letdown to me. I feel like the author could have puched it up alot as it's written from the dog's point-of-view.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    His first book

    lot of jumping around in this one and lots of the description is skipped in this book and the ending is short if you ask me not a book I would recomend characters were ok but not well descriped either this book is told by a dog thats cool but not the way it was in this one
    overall I think it sucks

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Not impressed

    Despite publicity and a great cover, I wasn't all that impressed. The concept of telling the story from the dog's perspective sounds good and fun, but although it's cute, it got tedious after awhile and I yearned for something more substantial. I won't hurry to buy the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    hard to follow

    this plot was somewhat interesting but hard to follow. The reason for this was the story was told from a dog's point of view and the dog was the narrator. Some parts that could go on to be interesting were dropped because the dog fell asleep or had no interest in what was going on at the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Too much language

    Adorable idea of using an animal's POV (that's point of view) and I thought I'd really enjoy it. Both dog and owner are very smart and well written characters. However I stopped reading halfway through as the language was way to frequent and unneeded. I mean really, why does a dog need to swear? Three f words that I saw and a great numberof "milder" words. The author didn't need to go there and I'm really disappointed.

    P.S To all you people who single out one reviewer when numerous ones spoil plots - you need a hobby not her. I flagged all of you're reviews.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Series

    If you're a dog lover, you will find this book and this series fun to read. Light mystery with a dog we all wish we had!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    not too bad, as a break.

    I probably would read another, but only as a break from the more serious books I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    K j

    I thought it was a little slow and the ending was incomplete needing an explanation to why certain things happened. I will however read the next book to see if the book is a little better written , it deserves that much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dog on It

    This book was different. I liked the characters and it was light reading. I don't think I would read another but I like to read something different once in a while. I think that I would call it cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A different kind of book.

    I have to say up front that I did not finish the book. I only got to chapter 2 or 3 and then gave it away. I guess that's why I can not
    remember how far I got. I just couldn't get around the idea of a dog talking and telling me the story. When I read the jacket and looked at the cover the book looked fun and interesting. Maybe if I had been able to get past the dog telling me the story I would have enjoyed it, I just
    don't know. It isn't that I don't have a good imagination, the story just didn't grab me in the first chapter or two. I would suggest that each person judge for themselves if you will like this book, but read the
    first few pages before you buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    CUTE LIGHT BOKK, REALLY CONFUSING CHARACTERS

    I ENJOYED THE BOOK. THOUGHT THE DOG WAS ADORABLE. DID NOT THINK MUCH OF THE MASTER. THE CHARACTERS WERE VERY CONFUSING. THE RUSSIANS WERE VERY HARD TO FOLLOW NAMES. I AM AN ANIMAL FREAK ANYWAY.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    WOW

    This book seemed really great by what it stated on the website, what it did not say was this was a book that is NOT meant for young readers. My daughter and I like to read books together and the story line seemed perfect based on the detective work with his dog as his partner and looking for a missing girl. However, there is enough foul language and a lot of talk about drugs in this book. Had I seen that stuff prior to, I would have passed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just OK

    Having the book written from the dogs point of view was a cute idea. I thought the story was dull and predictable. If you love dogs you might get a kick out of the dogs way of thinking, but thats about it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    I just can't get into this one

    Sorry, I just couldn't finish this one. Too predictable.......familiar plot. If a book doesn't grab me by page 50, I seldom continue reading it. Gave up on this one page 30.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3