Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(265)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

    Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


    Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

    AD

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Chet is a howling mystery

    Picked up this book and started to love this canine character immediately. Love him as the narrator. I rank it with the Spellman Files; its a refreshing slant on light hearted humor (what we think our pets might say) and some mystery.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Harstan

    Shutup, u wretched spoiler! I hate u

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Dogs way

    I like the sample after reading it, it make me think what my dog would say hmmmmmmm... lol ;) :P

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Interesting but not a keeper

    2.5 stars for the plot, 4 stars for the unique perspective. I listened to the book, and the reader was excellent, however I found myself annoyed with the overall plot of the story. Told from Chet, the dog's, point of view, we see how he and his owner, Bernie, handle cases. That's all well and good, however the overall plot itself was weak.

    When Chet needed to remember things from the past, he did so. When he needed to forget, it was simple enough for him to nap and boom! no advancement of the plot. There were also several areas where Chet just happened to see things that allowed him to move everything along, but when things really happened to him to advance the story, they were dropped.

    It also seemed as if the author used every stereotype available, with no real original characters (except chet of course). The bikers who were nice to Chet but Bernie, even though they'd saved his dog, let prejudice rear up. Bernie also had a really annoying habit of going on and on about urban sprawl, which is a concern, granted, but not what I wanted to read about in a mystery. Then there was the clilched love interest who makes only bad choices but happens to show up just when needed.

    As for Bernie himself, I think he needed more rounding out, less of the typical, cliched detecive, more human, more real. I found him more of a cardboard cut-out than a real person, and honestly didn't see how he detected anything given the least amount of work he did. No, I'm not saying Chet did all the work, but I'm saying that for a detective he didn't find many clues, or at least follow them anyplace.

    I think telling the story from Chet's perspective is a great new way to write a mystery, however it's also very tedious in that it takes away from the forward motion of the story. Of course if he'd wrapped up the story where it seemed the author wished him to, a little more than half-way through the book, it would have been a very short story indeed.

    Ah well, I might give the next one a try, but I'm just not sure this one was cute enough to warrant a second chance.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good Story

    I enjoyed his girl friend in it and hope she becomes more into the cases. He needs her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    cute again

    Okay, so I have been picking up all the Chet and Bernie series. Its just a cute, quick, mystery to fill the gaps until I find another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    I liked this book and I liked that it was written from the dogs point of view, but there was really no suspense on who dunnit, so it dragged a bit for me. If you are looking for a light summer read with some laughs, this is a good choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Good read

    If you love dogs, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Mixed, sometimes humorous and sweet, sometimes just a bit stupid.

    On the surface of it, I kinda liked the book. Having the dog help solve the mystery was a different approach. However, I had an issue with the fact that at times the dog knew exactly what her was doing then at other times he was completely oblivious. The flipping back and forth from "super dog" do just doggy goofiness was just a bit too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Not bad.

    This was a cute book and I enjoyed the premise mostly. After a bit I did get tired of the dog narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Recommend it!

    This book was an enjoyable read, and I am looking forward to #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    a dog-gone good tail

    A good lite read that can lift you up. this is a different slant on detective work. I found it "draggy" here and there BUT--------what can one expect when it is from a dog's viewpoint. will probably read another in about a year. I can be draggy, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    no text

    no text

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Is thiis a good book?

    What r ur thoughts about this hook...because i have to read 1000 pages for schooland i am at 800 pages and have one month left till the 1000 pages r due??? Wat do u think about this book it sounds good.
    Signed,
    Christina Mary Lou Houseyy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Age?

    What is the minimum age? Thanjs

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    It seems good

    Does Chet get hurt?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    On violence cited by other reviewer

    Odd how some people are so upset about scenes depicting violence towards animals, but have absolutely no qualms about depicting violence towards PEOPLE !!! I guess their lives must be more valuble or important to some people? PETA members and other misguided activists. Whatever...everyone is entitled to their opinion I guess.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Okay I guess

    Wierd dog perspective altough funny
    And wats with k9 class???
    Theres a lot of good reviews and
    you should believe them

    SINCERLY XXK9

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    cute

    slumber food

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6