Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(266)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by 19189092 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Good

    Harriet Klausner's review is long and one paragraph. It reveals too much plot and her name is written at the end(for those who cant find her review) plz flag it. Now, about the book, it is good, but the mystery is easily solved. I would recommend this book to ages 12+ because there are some swear words. Luckily, there isnt any violence. Chet and Bernie are loveable and funny.


    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Life As It Should Be

    Two good friends take on the world - one of them just happens to be a dog.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First book written from a Dogs point of view

    This was a real intresting read. First off the book is told from Chet's point of view. Chet is the dog. And as a dog his mind wanders. He'll be listening to his partner Bernie talk about the case then Chet will smell something and that will take him off on tangent in his mind and will only start listening to Bernie again after Bernie has moved on.

    Also I like the way Chet thinks. When Bernie finds some middle age grooming issues, Chet is like "well I have that to and all I ever get is compliments on it." Also I like that Chet figures things out before Bernie does. It really makes you wonder how much more animals know about our surrondings then humans do.

    I choose this to be the first book in our Store Book Club. I can't wait for the next Chet and Bernie mystery and will totally check out the other books by the authors real name.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, is one you can but down but when you have time to read again you will be picking it up.

    If you want a good book that is for people that like animals, a little mystery, and a touch of flirtation it has it all.
    So I will be looking for his next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    LOVE Dogs -- You'll Love this Book

    If you like mysteries and you have an ounce of affection for animals, you're gonna love Chet.

    When you look into your dog's heart and wonder "what's going on in there" --- Chet's nose will tell the "tail".

    This is just a funny, smart, wonderful read and if you don't find Chet completely loveable by the time you finish reading, something is seriously wrong with your heart.

    It's a decent mystery but the soul of the book is Chet and his doggie reasoning and musings. I hope there are more to come and I hope Chet stays healthy through a long series of books.

    Loved It!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    great easy read....

    Since I am a dog lover, I purchased this book to read while on vacation. It was my first in this series and I will return to read the rest. I highly recommend this book as very entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    A Detective Mystery told from a dog's perspective

    It was an original perspective and an engaging detective mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Entertaining

    This audio story was fun and easy to listen to while driving in the car. I would recommnend this story for anyone who enjoys listening to stories on tape or anyone who is a dog lover.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Totally enjoyed this. Excellent commuting entertainment.

    Made me appreciate my own pooch. Quinn had thinking like a dog right. And the dynamic duo made me smile a lot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun read

    Perhaps this book is more for dog lovers than mystery fans but either way it is a fun read that you don't want to put down. Mr Quinn's writing is smooth and, through the eyes of Chet the dog, humorous. I look forward to the next Chet and Bernie mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Chet and Bernie-----what a perfect pair!

    Well written and edited. Love reading the story from the dog's perspective. The writer obviously has a handle on what motivates his "partner" in the private detective business. Funny and heart-warming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Dog On It wins a bag of Milkbones

    I have read and greatly enjoyed the Chet and Bernie series. I have a service dog who helps me through my days. I often wonder if my Summit has the same thoughts as Chet. They are both highly intelligent and mischevious at times.

    I am just now starting book 5, "A Fistful of Collars." Can' wait to see how it plays out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great quick read

    Such a loveable story. Loved how it was written from the dog's perspective! I am a dog lover; so that was a bonus. It was fast paced and humorous at the right time. I plan to read more in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Adorable

    Major adorable story. Told in first person (Dog) from Chet's perspective. Very inventive and if you ever wanted to know how a dog thinks, you have to check this out. Can't wait to read the others in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Adorable.

    After reading a few heavy books on my vacation, I picked up this one and had a wonderful day! I just could not help smiling as I read. Fun, well written and will make any non-dog person (like me) start to wonder what they are missing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great new series!!!

    Great new series with the best narrator in town! Witty & intelligent writting style...sucks you in to the mysteries! I want a Chet of my own!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Great for dog lovers!

    Chet and Bernie (Chet is the dog) have wonderful adventures and solve mysteries. I've read all four of the series. Waiting for no. 5. If you've ever had a dog, you know he thinks like Chet. Lots of fun to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    A great read

    Told from a dogs point of view, it is a suspenceful et comedic tale that will make you laugh out loud or bit your lip waiting for a narrow escape. The story will keep you guessing. Not too serious. Just the tale to round out a good weekend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Good

    This book was super special awsome I loved it from the dogs point of view I recomend it to any one who reads!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Entertaining if not a bit predictable.

    Nice causal read written from dog's perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14