Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 849 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(265)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Incredibly creative and fun to read

    Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

    46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I never thought I'd be jealous of a dog

    This book is hysterical because it is from the dogs point of view. Chet, the dog detective, goes on crazy adventures and solves crimes. My life is boring in comparison. It is light hearted and tons of fun to read. At the same time it is a well written mystery novel with great characters and suspense. I'm loving it and highly recommend it.

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dog On It - Doggone Good - I want more!

    I fell in love with this book when I realized that the narrator was a dog. Spencer Quinn KNOWS how dogs think & what matters to them (smells, steak, loyalty), develops a good plot and creates really lovable characters. The story was excellent & I really want more...now! I listened to it on recorded book and the narrator, Jim Frangione, also did an excellent job. Please get him to narrate Chet's voice the next time, he really captured it. I under stand Mr. Quinn is working on another Chet & Bernie mystery and all we (my dogs & I) can say is, "Thank Dog!" Two paws up.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mom's Birthday Gift

    I gave this book to my mom for her birthday. She loved it so much. She was done with it in less than a week. She then gave the book to me to read. I loved it. So much adventure. And seeing through Chet's eyes was amazing. Brilliant writing! Loved every minute! Very hard to put down!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Howlistic Woof Woof Woof

    Move over Lassie Chet is here!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Loved it....Must Read!!!

    I read the book called "Dog on it" by Spencer Quinn. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed that book. I loved it. I read quite a bit, and this book was just so much fun! I really look forward to reading more books about Chet the dog and really, and any other books written by Spencer Quinn. What a great way for this Author to begin his career with a book like that. Loved it and laughed out loud reading it. Chet cracked me up and I bet any other animal lover laughed out loud too, especially when Chet talks about "thinking real hard" or just saving some (pee) so he can mark up other items and he doesn't know why either! I loved how he referred to his neighbor Iggy too and how they bark back & forth, any dog owner can attest to that going on in real life. Funny. I loved Bernie too, I could date him. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read. I ordered all the other books by Spencer too. Keep on a writing. A true fan. Keep up the good work!! BlackyMN

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great read

    Surprisingly wonderful!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    most hilarious!

    I thought Dog On It was the most hilarious book that I have ever read. I literally laughed uncontrollably at times until my eyes watered. True, that dog lovers will enjoy the book much more than non dog lovers. I have a dog and I can totally picture her thinking and saying these exact things that Chet comes up with. We have much to learn from dogs and their easy going ways. I ordered #2 well in advance of it's finish and gave it to my husband as a gift. (He also read the first one with me.) I am looking forward to many more books in this series. It takes great talent to write a book soley from a dog's perspective that is still a readable story. Great job Spencer Quinn!! Thank you for your stories!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Delightful!

    A guaranteed winner. It is impossible not to fall in love with Chet. That, and its ingenious the way the author chose to tell the entire story from the dog's POV. Not a very reliable narrator to say the least. Chet is charming, but easily distracted!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Loved it.

    I always love reading books from an animal's point of view. I loved the concept, and I loved the mystery. This was a very good book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Loved This Book!

    The story was so original and the characters so easy to love and understand. The dog telling the story was very endearing. I can't wait for the next one!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Wonderful Funny Book

    This book is wonderful to read -- I found myself laughing out loud (I haven't ever done that!). Can't wait for the next book from this author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I almost missed a good story

    Half way through the first CD(audiobook)I was shaking my head and ready to stop and take the CD out. I thought this is really dumb. I didn't and I am glad. The story is funny, warm, interesting and a good mystery. How the author gets inside a dog's mind is puzzling. But inside he gets. I found myself laughing out loud alone in the car. Chet has memory losses and then he remembers. He has moments when he realizes he is barking and wonders why? He has an odd thing with smells. I never thought about a lizard's smell.

    A good story and fun. I hope it is going to become a series. Many thanks to the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    Best Dog Since Spud McKenzie

    Best Dog Since Spud McKenzie

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Highly recommend, great series. I am amost finished with 3 inseries

    I would recommend these books. At present I have bought 5 and read 3. they would be great for a book club. They are all written form the dog, Chet's point of view. I love dogs and don't ever think I will think of things quite the same now. Don't get me wrong, my dogs have it easy, but I change their water more frequetly and other things I think about differently. They really make you much more aware. I would love to know what my dogs think I smell like. I used to think my forehead just read "stupid for dogs" in some kind of dog lingo, but I guess it's my sent, in a good way. Anyway they are great books and very entertaining!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A must read for dog and detective mystery lovers!

    I have read all of the books out on this detective team- still not sure which one has made me laugh the most, and am looking very much forward to the new one coming out this fall/winter , I think I may have one of Chet's sons actually- Lord knows he thinks he is!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Great book!

    I read this book in only 2 days. I loved it. If you're a dog lover this book is for you. I call it a mystery/comedy. I've already downloaded the second book in the series. Some swearing including the f word several times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Debut Book A Winner

    I found this through a Book Club. Their synopsis sounded interesting so I ordered it. It was even better than I expected & I finished it in 2 readings. The plot is entertaining but the real joy is in the characters. Seeing things from a dog's point of view - Chet - written by a man who clearly understands dogs, makes it unique. When I read Robert B. Parker's first Spenser mystery, "The Godwulf Manuscript", I knew I would read everything he would write. I haven't felt that way about a new author until Spencer Quinn. I want to know more about Chet & Charlie & their lives together past, present & future. You have to read this book;you will be doing yourself a favor!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book that is highly entertaining.

    This book is fantastic. I do not read much fiction unless I am seeking a change of pace or if the story is very good. This is a very good detective story but it is the point of view from which it is told that elevates the book from good to great.

    When I read a mystery story I prefer detectives who are distinctive, Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot, or Nero Wolf and Archie Goodwin. Dog on It is similar to Nero Wolf stories in that it is narrated by the junior partner, Chet. What makes the story wonderfully entertaining is the fact that Chet is a dog. We experience this adventure through Chet's eyes and his antics are wonderfully entertaining and are beautifully woven into the plot line. If you like dogs you will love Chet.

    The only negative thing that I can say about this book is that it was over much too quickly, I read it in three days. If you like mysteries and dogs, get this book. I have not read many books that I would call fun, but this book definitely is fun.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great light-hearted mystery

    Since I work for b&n and love mysteries reading this book was just about a must, haha. That being said, I was impressed with Quinn's writing style. Not many authors could have pulled off the language of a dog in the private eye world so eloquently. In the midst of greed, conspiracy, and family issues a girl goes missing. Chet, the loyal dog and voice throughout the book, is somehow drawn to each piece of the puzzle to this kidnapping. Bernie, his owner, will stop at no ends to protect Chet (and he does get into a heap of trouble) and to bring this girl back home safe. The relationship between a man and his dog is beautifully portrayed and the passion that only the best P.I.s possess is depicted throughout this page-turner. Well done Quinn, well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20