Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(266)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by 19189092 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 860 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Incredibly creative and fun to read

    Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

    47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I never thought I'd be jealous of a dog

    This book is hysterical because it is from the dogs point of view. Chet, the dog detective, goes on crazy adventures and solves crimes. My life is boring in comparison. It is light hearted and tons of fun to read. At the same time it is a well written mystery novel with great characters and suspense. I'm loving it and highly recommend it.

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

    Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


    Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

    AD

    27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    L

    Harriet klausner strikes again, ruining another book with her reveal of the entire book. This poster needs to be stopped. She is vain, egotistical and seems to delight in ruining a book for other readers. Harriet...i can read and actually would prefer to read a book for myself. I do not need you to read tge book, then tell me what happened.

    16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dog On It - Doggone Good - I want more!

    I fell in love with this book when I realized that the narrator was a dog. Spencer Quinn KNOWS how dogs think & what matters to them (smells, steak, loyalty), develops a good plot and creates really lovable characters. The story was excellent & I really want more...now! I listened to it on recorded book and the narrator, Jim Frangione, also did an excellent job. Please get him to narrate Chet's voice the next time, he really captured it. I under stand Mr. Quinn is working on another Chet & Bernie mystery and all we (my dogs & I) can say is, "Thank Dog!" Two paws up.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Barking Up the Wrong Tree

    Since I'm a dog lover, book lover, particularly mysteries and detective novels,this book caught my eye. Unfortunately, it never caught, much less held my interest. Mr. Quinn had a unique idea to have the dog narrate the story, but I found the dog to be a boring narrator and the mystery one that could have been solved by a very slow thinking cat. Cat-lovers should not be offended.

    Chet was bright enough, but his talent was wasted here and there was not enough sense of humor or irony in the story.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mom's Birthday Gift

    I gave this book to my mom for her birthday. She loved it so much. She was done with it in less than a week. She then gave the book to me to read. I loved it. So much adventure. And seeing through Chet's eyes was amazing. Brilliant writing! Loved every minute! Very hard to put down!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Good

    Harriet Klausner's review is long and one paragraph. It reveals too much plot and her name is written at the end(for those who cant find her review) plz flag it. Now, about the book, it is good, but the mystery is easily solved. I would recommend this book to ages 12+ because there are some swear words. Luckily, there isnt any violence. Chet and Bernie are loveable and funny.


    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Howlistic Woof Woof Woof

    Move over Lassie Chet is here!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Loved it....Must Read!!!

    I read the book called "Dog on it" by Spencer Quinn. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed that book. I loved it. I read quite a bit, and this book was just so much fun! I really look forward to reading more books about Chet the dog and really, and any other books written by Spencer Quinn. What a great way for this Author to begin his career with a book like that. Loved it and laughed out loud reading it. Chet cracked me up and I bet any other animal lover laughed out loud too, especially when Chet talks about "thinking real hard" or just saving some (pee) so he can mark up other items and he doesn't know why either! I loved how he referred to his neighbor Iggy too and how they bark back & forth, any dog owner can attest to that going on in real life. Funny. I loved Bernie too, I could date him. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read. I ordered all the other books by Spencer too. Keep on a writing. A true fan. Keep up the good work!! BlackyMN

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Chet is a howling mystery

    Picked up this book and started to love this canine character immediately. Love him as the narrator. I rank it with the Spellman Files; its a refreshing slant on light hearted humor (what we think our pets might say) and some mystery.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hank the Cowdog with some adult passages

    This is a very cute book, but it certainly is not original. Check out the Hank the Cowdog series by Erickson. I believe he wrote nearly 50 of them. This was a pretty pricey hard cover book for a story that has already been told.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Price?

    You know what would be awesome? If you're gonna advertise it all week for .99, it would be AWESOME if when i tried every day to buy it that it was ACTUALLY .99 and not 11.99. Fix it.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Dog on it

    Did anyone notice it is a special for $1.99 but when you go to buy it it is $11.99


    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great read

    Surprisingly wonderful!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    most hilarious!

    I thought Dog On It was the most hilarious book that I have ever read. I literally laughed uncontrollably at times until my eyes watered. True, that dog lovers will enjoy the book much more than non dog lovers. I have a dog and I can totally picture her thinking and saying these exact things that Chet comes up with. We have much to learn from dogs and their easy going ways. I ordered #2 well in advance of it's finish and gave it to my husband as a gift. (He also read the first one with me.) I am looking forward to many more books in this series. It takes great talent to write a book soley from a dog's perspective that is still a readable story. Great job Spencer Quinn!! Thank you for your stories!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Life As It Should Be

    Two good friends take on the world - one of them just happens to be a dog.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First book written from a Dogs point of view

    This was a real intresting read. First off the book is told from Chet's point of view. Chet is the dog. And as a dog his mind wanders. He'll be listening to his partner Bernie talk about the case then Chet will smell something and that will take him off on tangent in his mind and will only start listening to Bernie again after Bernie has moved on.

    Also I like the way Chet thinks. When Bernie finds some middle age grooming issues, Chet is like "well I have that to and all I ever get is compliments on it." Also I like that Chet figures things out before Bernie does. It really makes you wonder how much more animals know about our surrondings then humans do.

    I choose this to be the first book in our Store Book Club. I can't wait for the next Chet and Bernie mystery and will totally check out the other books by the authors real name.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Delightful!

    A guaranteed winner. It is impossible not to fall in love with Chet. That, and its ingenious the way the author chose to tell the entire story from the dog's POV. Not a very reliable narrator to say the least. Chet is charming, but easily distracted!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Loved it.

    I always love reading books from an animal's point of view. I loved the concept, and I loved the mystery. This was a very good book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 860 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43