Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 863 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by 19189092 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Great for dog lovers!

    A fun mystery with a dog main character. A good change-up from regular mysteries.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Fun read!

    This book is so cute being written from the dog's perspective. Quirky and fun, great mystery read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    enjoyed it very much

    I bought the MP3 version of this book and I loved it! I recommend this book to all dog lovers out there!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read!

    Chet is a dog that flunked out of police training. He is now partners with Bernie, a human, who is a P.I. The two are working a case and the story is told from Chet's point of view.

    The plot is well-developed, interesting and moves at a good pace. Since it's told from a dog's perspective, even the serious parts have a twist of humor. This is a light, entertaining and fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Good read

    I enjoyed the narration of this book the best. I read it and kept thinking how funny the dog is and how much he reminded me of my own dog. Defianetly would suggest it to dog lovers and non-dog lovers alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Ever wonder what your dog was thinking?

    In "Dog On It", Spencer Quinn has captured a dog's behavior in dialouge that can be hysterical at times. He also captures the very human side of Bernie, the detective, and the combination is a delight to read. I happened to read the second book of the series first. "Thereby Hangs a Tail" is also an excellent book.(For those of you that may have had your doubts, the second book ratchets up the action and detecting and is a great Chet and Bernie adventure.) If you love dogs, read it. If you like a light detective story to take on a trip, get it. You will enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    So that's what they're thinking...

    Dog lovers will read this book with a smile on their face. Anyone who has lived with an insightful dog will find Chet's observations of his world very familiar.

    A good book for a lazy afternoon in front of the fire, or sunning on the beach.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Love Chet's observations on human behavior.

    Chet is the dog we would all love to have. The author has dona a great job capturing what we devoted pet owners like to think about our pet's intelligent thoughts. Bernie is flawed enough to be any of us, but certainly a good guy and a good detective - with Chet's help.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book

    This is a fun book to read. It's a big plus if your a dog lover as the story is told through the eyes of the dog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Dog's Eye View

    You'll never see the world quite the same way after this reading. P.I. Bernie's best friend Chet helps solve mysteries and in the process gives the reader a peak into how a dog sees the world. Entertaining and breezy, this book is perfect for beach reading, a long plane ride, or any time you want a flight of fancy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    This is the cutest!

    Hopefully Chet (and Mr. Quinn) will write a loooong series of these!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clever and charming

    This clever mystery is written from the dog's point of view. An awesome gift idea for any reader/dog lover on your list! I'm definitely planning on continuing with the series and look forward to the next Chet and Bernie installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Chet, the canine narrator of Dog On It, may have flunked out of K-9 school but he's found his niche as partner to Bernie Little, owner of Little Detective Agency. Bernie is divorced and lonely and misses his son Charlie. Chet doesn't understand the concept of money but takes his cues from Bernie and knows Bernie is worried about their finances. Bernie is hired by a divorced mom to find her missing daughter, Madison, who turns up unharmed with a story that's obviously made up. A few days later, Madison is missing once more and this time Bernie suspects it's the real thing. With Chet leading the way, they follow Madison's trail, which takes them to a group of nefarious Russians determined to stop them from finding Madison.

    Told from a dog's point of view, Dog On It offers a refreshing addition to the mystery genre. Chet perceives most things through body language, odors, and tone of voice. His perceptions are adept and it is amusing how food and other things distract him. Chet's thinking processes seem much like what this reviewer would attribute to a dog's thoughts. The voice of Chet is amusing and a bit noir-ish, which suits the book. Fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great point of view!

    My husband and I listened to this book on CD during a long car drive. It is hilarious is some parts, particularly if you have a dog. Owning a dog isn't a prerequisite, though. Having the dog, Chet, narrate the story is a unique way of telling the tale. It's not deep, but we did have several conversations about who did what and ideas on what we thought would happen. We really enjoyed it, and we typically have very different tastes in books. I think anyone would enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Fun and easy read

    This was a fun book to read being a Dog Lover. Chet is a cool character and the story line is easy. A good summer read that doesn't take a lot of concentration but you are captivated enough to want to know how it ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Great fun read

    Can't wait to read more. Chet's narration is a hoot. I kept wanting to say, "Bernie listen to Chet" . Then I would remember Chet is the dog and Bernie can't understand. Dog lovers will love Chet and Bernie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First Book in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series This story is t

    First Book in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series
    This story is told from the dog's point of view. Chet the dog who almost graduated the K-9 unit is really amazing. His owner Bernie is a PI and they try to find out what happened to Maddy the teenage daughter of a divorced couple who has disappeared. Chet is amazing at helping to solve the mystery. Never a dull moment with Chet and Bernie. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    very entertaining

    I really enjoyed this book as told through the dog's perspective I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Great book very well written

    Loved the book, will probably read the rest of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Dog It was a doggone pretty good book

    Dog It was a doggone pretty good book. Would recommend if you want an easy read. Was not so sure about wanting to read something "written by a dog" but turned out AOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14