BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(265)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly creative and fun to read

Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.

posted by 964348 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Harriet Klausner needs to be stopped!

Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her ...
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby.


Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations.

AD

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    kept our interest

    i do alot of long distance driving, and this was wonderful to listen to on our recent 10 drive to virginia. hearing the story told through the dogs perspective was very funny, and thought provoking. i definetly would pass this one one to friends and family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a FUN Book.

    I loved it. Hope he continues the series. So Funny, we listened to it on cd on a recent trip and it made the driving/riding go so fast. Hated to see it end

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Looking forward to the next Chet & Bernie adventure!

    We listened to this book on a road trip to southern California. We thoroughly enjoyed it! As a dog owner, I don't think I will ever look at my golden lab quite the same again. We felt the story was original and in many parts very suspenseful. I won't go into details because I don't want to spoil it for readers, but there was one scene in particular that had me gripping the steering wheel with white knuckles until it was resolved. We highly recommend this book, especially to anyone who has a dog in their life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Dog on it is a must read.

    Dog on it is clever, original and well written. If you love animals you will enjoy this book. If you have a sense of humor, you will enjoy this book. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    glad I bought it

    I have never read anything by this author, but when I saw that the book was told from the dog's point of view I had to buy it! It was not disappointing. I highly recommend it to everyone who loves dogs and appreciates their intelligence and ever wondered what they were thinking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK

    I was continually chuckling while reading this book. Mr. Quinn captured the thoughts and uncontrollable instinctive reflexes a dog has in his life.
    I cannot wait for the next adventure Chet & Bernie go on.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Dog

    I really loved this book. I admit, however, that I have a fondness for books with talking dogs. Nevertheless, Chet and Bernie are original, truly drawn characters and this book is a delightful respite from all the bad news swirling around us these days. I smiled all the way through and can't wait for the next installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    If you're a dog lover, you'll enjoy this story.

    I found myself laughing out loud while listening to this audio book in my car. Quinn's interpretation of Chet's thoughts are right on. It was a good mix of humor and suspense. I'm definitely looking to forward to the next Chet and Bernie adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Fantastic

    Most of the other reviewers who came before me pretty much say it all about this book. It's Fantastic.

    I would highly recommend this enjoyable book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    what a great book!!

    Spencer Quinn does a fabulous job of writing from Chet, the dogs perspective. The story flows smoothly and is laugh out loud material.I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    Charming Creative Suspenseful and a Laugh Riot!!!!

    You won't be able to put this down - I know I couldn't. What a marvelous book.! The two main characters, Bernie,a struggling but very appealing detective, and his loyal and charming dog Chet, have such a special bond. It is such a touching relationship. They are true soul mates and their adventures as detectives or merely getting on with daily life is delightful. I am so happy it is going to be a series because I can't get enough of Chet. You aren't going to come across a character better written than Chet very often. He is adorable with all his foibles and "take" on things. You just have to love him. Get this book - you won't be able to put it down. It will make you happy and that's nice these days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    A Fun Read

    This story was great! Chet the dog really made it. The author really puts a unique perspective of the story coming from the dog's point of view. If you are a dog lover like I am, this story is a must to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You will love this book!

    This was one of the most enjoyable books I have read. The humor had me laughing out loud & re-reading humorous passages. The mystery story line was enjoyable with twists & turns. I can't wait for another Bernie & Chet adventure!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Creative and fun mystery!

    I really enjoyed this book! Chet's doggie narrative brings alot of humor and entertainment. The mystery itself was decent and Bernie is an interesting character as a flawed PI with a big heart. Though there is some violence and descriptions of various crimes and a few illegal drugs, it isn't written out in excrutiating detail. Good enough to keep my attention (and I normally like mysteries to be thrillers involving serial killers) but light enough that I could pass the book on to my 16 yr old sister and 80 yr old Grandma without fear of getting myself in trouble! And they both fell in love with Chet too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Cute story - I really enjoyed this

    This book made me laugh and smile quite a bit while I was reading it. The last couple of weeks have been pretty tense for me and this was a destressor that really worked. I love animals and so often wish my own dogs and cats could talk to me - don't we all!! I loved the way Chet would get distracted - it's so dog-like. Their focus can be totally on one thing and out of nowhere it can change. And it takes so little to make them happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved that Chet always has another story to tell if he has time later, but later never comes. He instinctively knows who the good guys are, and who the bad guys are. And he loves Bernie totally. This book was lots of fun. I can't wait to read the next one to find out how Chet catches the bad guys.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Wow this book is the kind where you cant put it down.

    Someone wrote that chet dies in the end no he doesnt. I love this great book. Its very highly recommended for dog lovers and mysterie lovers like me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    fun book

    Love the heroes of this book and I am a cat lover!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Money issies showing up?

    If not showing up as 99 cents search the title in the search bar and it should come up as the correct amount.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Great Book

    This is a great,easy read and appropriate for all ages. I will continue the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20