BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Dog's Purpose

Average Rating 4.5
( 1455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1091)

4 Star

(210)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

125 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

What a treasure. Amazing, uplifting, life changing.

I have a friend who works in a book store who has never once offered me an "advance reader copy" of a book, but that changed with A Dog's Purpose. "You have to read this NOW" she told me. So I was lucky enough to read this amazing novel before its release, and I could...
I have a friend who works in a book store who has never once offered me an "advance reader copy" of a book, but that changed with A Dog's Purpose. "You have to read this NOW" she told me. So I was lucky enough to read this amazing novel before its release, and I couldn't agree more. You should RUN to get this book, it is simply one of the most amazing novels of all time. I've never read a book in my life where I am so immediately sure that 100 years from now people will still be talking about this book, it is the "To Kill a Mockingbird" of our time, the novel that will define what literature could be and was during the first years of this century.

The plot sounds simple: a wonderful dog has successive lives, reborn again and again, certain that the reason it keeps having new lives is because it has some purpose to fulfill. I say "it" because the dog is both a female and male during its lives, but by the end you will become so attached to the character of this canine, so fascinated and enthralled and in love with him/her, you will wish this book didn't have to end.

But it isn't simple, anymore than life is simple: this is a rich, deep, complex story, a story that will stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

Disclosure: I loved "Marley & Me" and I love "The Art of Racing in the Rain," so obviously I like dog books. But this is no ordinary dog book. It completely redefines "dog book" and goes where neither of those two books ever went--into the soul of the dog, into the heart of the dog.

I'm worried I'm not doing this book justice. But I'm not THAT worried, because the great novels of history always prevail and this is one of those. Other dog books eventually fade away, but A Dog's Purpose is forever.

I probably will read this book at least once a year for the rest of my life.

posted by Maddy_Phillips on June 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is probably the best book I've ever read.

There is a reason that this has 5 solid stars. It's because it's a fantastic read. Thank you W. Bruce Cameron. Brought me lots of laughter, tears & memories of my good old dogs over the years. I borrowed this on my nook through the Lend Me feature at Barnes & Noble and ...
There is a reason that this has 5 solid stars. It's because it's a fantastic read. Thank you W. Bruce Cameron. Brought me lots of laughter, tears & memories of my good old dogs over the years. I borrowed this on my nook through the Lend Me feature at Barnes & Noble and wanted to thank you and the publisher for this. I am purchasing the ebook today and will loan it out immediately and I'm sure whomever gets it, will do the same thing. My boys will be getting the hardback for Christmas. A complete joy to read and I didn't want it to end. Again, thank you.

posted by crabsomatic on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1091 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 55
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    What a treasure. Amazing, uplifting, life changing.

    I have a friend who works in a book store who has never once offered me an "advance reader copy" of a book, but that changed with A Dog's Purpose. "You have to read this NOW" she told me. So I was lucky enough to read this amazing novel before its release, and I couldn't agree more. You should RUN to get this book, it is simply one of the most amazing novels of all time. I've never read a book in my life where I am so immediately sure that 100 years from now people will still be talking about this book, it is the "To Kill a Mockingbird" of our time, the novel that will define what literature could be and was during the first years of this century.

    The plot sounds simple: a wonderful dog has successive lives, reborn again and again, certain that the reason it keeps having new lives is because it has some purpose to fulfill. I say "it" because the dog is both a female and male during its lives, but by the end you will become so attached to the character of this canine, so fascinated and enthralled and in love with him/her, you will wish this book didn't have to end.

    But it isn't simple, anymore than life is simple: this is a rich, deep, complex story, a story that will stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

    Disclosure: I loved "Marley & Me" and I love "The Art of Racing in the Rain," so obviously I like dog books. But this is no ordinary dog book. It completely redefines "dog book" and goes where neither of those two books ever went--into the soul of the dog, into the heart of the dog.

    I'm worried I'm not doing this book justice. But I'm not THAT worried, because the great novels of history always prevail and this is one of those. Other dog books eventually fade away, but A Dog's Purpose is forever.

    I probably will read this book at least once a year for the rest of my life.

    125 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Kept Me Up All Night

    I admit it, I bought this book because of the cute cover and because I was desperate for something new to read. The blurbs on the back all sounded good, but those always sound good, don't they? I really had no idea what I was in for.

    This is a book like no book I have ever read. Honestly, I was hooked from the first sentence, which delighted me and made me laugh out loud. Of course it's a cliche to say something is a page turner, but I'm telling you, a lost almost an entire night's sleep because I couldn't put it down. I'm a reader, I love books, but I can't remember the last time that happened to me. Oh wait, I can. The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo. That was the last time I was bleary-eyed from staying up until past three in the morning reading, and then having to roll into my work day looking like crap.

    I was so entranced with the book that at past three in the morning I had to check out it's website and joined up on it's Facebook fanpage.

    This book is everything those glowing blurbs on the back cover and on it's website promised. I agree with Iris Dart, author of Beaches, who said "This book is a classic." I agree with Temple Grandin, whom I adore (and whose new book Animals Make Us Human is great too, BTW) who said, "I loved this book and could not put it down."

    I hear ya, Temple. I've had way too much coffee today because I loved this book and could not put it down.

    I guess it hasn't been out that long, I hadn't heard anything about it, just bought it like a goofball because of the slightly graying wise sweet black lab on the cover. OK now I'll admit this too, my first dog was a black lab, named Boo Boo. (After Boo Radley, in To Kill A Mockingbird).

    And here's where I'll really go over the top on this book. I also agree with the other reviewer here who compared it to that classic, brilliant book. How do I know? Because, as tired as I am, I want to go home and reread my favorite parts. Maybe just read the whole thing again.

    In short (and I haven't been short at all) I simply cannot recommend this book enough. I'll be giving it as a gift this Christmas to everyone I know who loves dogs. Which is everyone I know!

    48 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing concept; an enchanting read

    Come to think of it, though, considering the time and effort we humans spend trying to figure out "who we are" and "the meaning of life," and given our delight in anthropomorphising animals (especially those we love), I suppose sooner or later someone would come up with the idea of a dog searching for his meaning in life.

    Mr. Cameron has the imagination and the talent to pull such a story off with style and panache. The dog's story, divided into a series of separate lives, comes together at the end with inevitable and still surprising results.

    I don't know when I've enjoyed a book so much. I found it nearly impossible to put down.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AN ABSOLUTE TREASURE!!

    AN ABSOLUTE TREASURE! Not being able to do this book justice, may I just say, a dog lover or not, 8 years old to 108, buy this book! You will not regret it! What a story! What we would imagine the thought processes of our dogs, the author portrays beautifully and makes the reader think about the role we play in our pets' lives, good and bad. There are many uplifting moments, as well as tearful ones that are from a dog's perspective that will totally humanize the main character. Not a boring cookie cutter formula read; totally unique, and others I recommend are BEAUTIFUL LIES, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and CUTTING FOR STONE.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    A Must Read for Animal Lovers

    This book is amazing! Once I started, I had to finish and didn't put the book down till I did. Through his canine narrators, Cameron tells one of the greatest love stories I have ever read. If you love dogs, please read this book.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Three Words

    This review is from: A Dog's Purpose (Hardcover)
    I received a publisher's advance copy of W. Bruce Cameron's first novel, "A Dog's Purpose". In a word? Magnificent. OK, two words. Brilliant. Actually three. Soul.
    Bruce Cameron has brought forth a magnificent, touching piece of a soul's journey through life in search of purpose and meaning. At times hilarious and yet other times heart breaking, Bruce brilliantly weaves a story of a dog and its quest that is told with such heart and humanity that anyone who has ever had a dog (or any pet , for that matter) feels that this truly is how they see us and the world in which they live.
    The humor is real and effortless. You will find yourself laughing out loud. You will also cry. Real tears born out of your life's memories of pets past and the essential intertwining of souls that exists in no other relationship.
    That bond (from the dog's perspective) is what brings the true love in this novel to life.
    Though many dream of writing that one great novel, the difference here is that Bruce Cameron has done it right out of the gate and I have a feeling that there is plenty more where that came from. An essential, five star must read.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL WONDERFUL BOOK

    For a few years now, I've always kept as my number 1 favorite book of all time, "The Art of Racing in the Rain" and I read a lot of books....all different genres, but that book was still my number 1. Well, after reading "A Dog's Purpose", I now have TWO number 1 books of all time!
    This book was so good. I laughed, I cried (a few times) and it was just the greatest book! Do yourself a favor and read this one. In fact, I might just read it again - it was that good - and I never re-read books.
    It makes you so much want to be a part of this dog's life. Incredible. If 5 stars is the highest rating - then this book should have 10!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    A must read

    Truly a wonderful book. It will make you laugh and cry and realize why you love your dog. One of the most entertaining books I have read in a long time

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    Loved It!!

    This was such a heart-warming novel. I couldn't put it down and breezed through it in a day! There were times when I would laugh out loud, and times when I would cry thinking of my furry friends that I have loved and had to say goodbye to. This book will make you look at your four-legged friends in a different light and thank them for being there for you everyday, whether to lift your spirits or just keep you company. If you view them as just pets, you will realize that they love you unconditionally and just want to be part of the family. Don't hesitate to pick this book up. Wonderful, wonderful read!!!!!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down- amazingly touching!

    Once you begin reading this book,you will not put it down! Cameron gets you into the mind, heart, and sould of man's best friend! This is now one of my all time favorite books!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    A dog book for people who don't like dog books

    I do not like dog books. I am an easy crier and the last thing I need is a book with a dog, because you know the dog is going to have to die at some point. I have spent my adult life avoiding them like the plague.

    And then an insistent friend of mine gave me A Dog's Purpose and told me I'd love it. Because of her impeccable taste I sat down to read it, begrudgingly, and noticed something weird within the first few pages. I was laughing. I was laughing, because Toby/Bailey/Ellie/Buddy talks EXACTLY like I imagine my dog talks. The author nailed all the details of the dog's voice, like having food described in terms of whether it is shared by the humans with the dog, or making the siren lure of car rides nearly impossible for the dog to resist.

    Meanwhile all those funny, sweet details were wrapped up in a story of a dog and his people that felt genuine and real. If you've ever had a dog, pet a dog, or seen a dog, you'll find yourself pondering this book for weeks to come, and hoping that it's as on-target with its message as it was with the dog's voice.

    And yes, I cried, three or four times. And then started rereading.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    This Writer Knows and Loves Dogs

    Seriously - anyone who has a dog, wants a dog, had a dog recently pass on, or merely likes to be taken on a wonderful journey needs to own this book. I read "A Dog's Purpose" before I knew anything about it beyond the title and author. I had to stop reading when I was halfway through and realized that I had not moved from my bench for several hours - and this is NOT my reading style. I had become completely lost in the wonderful world of a dog's mind. The next day, I set everything else aside to read and again did not move until I had finished the book. It is at once touching, laugh-out-loud funny, heartfelt, and a fascinating depiction of how a dog's mind actually works (his limited understanding of words, his response to human emotions and scents being his primary sensory input). Every issue related to the care, custody, health and well-being of dogs is presented here as well - from hoarders, rescues, trainers, uneducated abusers, neutering, and the wonderful gift of love that every dog offers. I will always have a copy on hand as a gift for friends when they are faced with the loss of their own beloved canines as I am certain that they will find both comfort and joy in its pages.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Kirkus Reviews Gives Away the Plot! Read Kirkus at Your Own Risk!

    First and foremost a warning: this book has some great plot twists but the Kirkus review gives them away. If you think you might read this book, you're better off reading an unfavorable review than Kirkus. Though Kirkus loves the book, calling it "Marley & Me meets Tuesdays with Morrie" they also say the "dog understands human language as soon as he hears it." Arggh! The whole POINT of the book is that the dog doesn't understand more than 100 words or so.

    What I would say about this book: it's a moving story about an animal's search for purpose, a dog's search for the meaning of life. The dog lives more than one life, being re-born over and over again, and is convinced this is because he has not yet fulfilled his purpose. It teaches what you've always suspected: that true love never dies and that our furry friends never forget us.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!

    I read this as a paper copy as a small child. I reccomend it to anyone at all, even if you dont like dogs. This book will grab your heart and will never let go

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Books I've Read in Ages.....and I'm a Read-a-holic!

    I am an avid reader, and this is the first time I have ever been compelled to write a review. This book is marvelous! I read excerpts alound to my husband (a staunch non-fiction only reader) and we laughed out loud. While at times disturbing, "A Dog's Purpose" is consistenly heartwarming, funny, poignant, insightful, and oh-so-accurate. The dog's "voice" will ring true to anyone who's ever loved a dog. I didn't want the book to end, and when it did, I was torn between immediately re-reading it, and sharing it with my daughter-in-law. Altruism won out. Since then, I have been recommending it to everyone. You'll love it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Sweetest Book Ever

    I just love A Dog's Purpose. The story was wonderful, the characters were real, and the message was powerful. I recommend to anyone who loves dogs, humans and/or a good story!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Must read...but get the tissue BOX.

    A lovingly written book in the voice of a dog. I don't know how he did it, but if you have ever owned a dog you will know that this author is more dog than human. We all have a purpose in life, the job is trying to find out what it is, and that is the question the dog in this book asks..."What is my purpose?" I could not put it down and sobbed in some spots yelling to myself..."it's just a book, idiot". It is a book about love, loss, loyalty, homelessness, human spirit (and sometime lack thereof). But most important it is a book about friendship and belonging. Pleas e read it and love it. Don't forget the tissues.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read For Dog-Lovers!

    What if animals were able to reincarnate? W. Bruce Cameron explores this question in A Dog's Purpose, a novel about one canine soul embarking on a journey to last more than one lifetime. The novel presents many different situations, but the universal thread weaving them together is the circle of life and the interconnectedness of humanity and species. For me, it was an emotional journey, with laughter and tears. And it made me remember to stop and appreciate my dog all the more. I never want to take a second spent with her for granted. This book is a love letter to the four-legged variety that populate our planet and I recommend it to those that have ever been touched by a dog's purpose.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    i love this shocking loving book

    this book was in my magazine the at my book fair so i got it and this book was glued to my hand it was shocking haert braking and haert warming i did cry so if u lost a dog reacently dont read but other than that 999,999 out of 10 stars

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    You have to read "A Dog's Purpose".

    Flat out....one of the best books I have ever read. Such a novel idea and a teriffic ending. A must read for every dog owner.....

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1091 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 55