Customer Reviews for

A Dog's Purpose

Average Rating 4.5
( 1396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1055)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

119 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

What a treasure. Amazing, uplifting, life changing.

I have a friend who works in a book store who has never once offered me an "advance reader copy" of a book, but that changed with A Dog's Purpose. "You have to read this NOW" she told me. So I was lucky enough to read this amazing novel before its release, and I could...
I have a friend who works in a book store who has never once offered me an "advance reader copy" of a book, but that changed with A Dog's Purpose. "You have to read this NOW" she told me. So I was lucky enough to read this amazing novel before its release, and I couldn't agree more. You should RUN to get this book, it is simply one of the most amazing novels of all time. I've never read a book in my life where I am so immediately sure that 100 years from now people will still be talking about this book, it is the "To Kill a Mockingbird" of our time, the novel that will define what literature could be and was during the first years of this century.

The plot sounds simple: a wonderful dog has successive lives, reborn again and again, certain that the reason it keeps having new lives is because it has some purpose to fulfill. I say "it" because the dog is both a female and male during its lives, but by the end you will become so attached to the character of this canine, so fascinated and enthralled and in love with him/her, you will wish this book didn't have to end.

But it isn't simple, anymore than life is simple: this is a rich, deep, complex story, a story that will stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

Disclosure: I loved "Marley & Me" and I love "The Art of Racing in the Rain," so obviously I like dog books. But this is no ordinary dog book. It completely redefines "dog book" and goes where neither of those two books ever went--into the soul of the dog, into the heart of the dog.

I'm worried I'm not doing this book justice. But I'm not THAT worried, because the great novels of history always prevail and this is one of those. Other dog books eventually fade away, but A Dog's Purpose is forever.

I probably will read this book at least once a year for the rest of my life.

posted by Maddy_Phillips on June 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is probably the best book I've ever read.

There is a reason that this has 5 solid stars. It's because it's a fantastic read. Thank you W. Bruce Cameron. Brought me lots of laughter, tears & memories of my good old dogs over the years. I borrowed this on my nook through the Lend Me feature at Barnes & Noble and ...
There is a reason that this has 5 solid stars. It's because it's a fantastic read. Thank you W. Bruce Cameron. Brought me lots of laughter, tears & memories of my good old dogs over the years. I borrowed this on my nook through the Lend Me feature at Barnes & Noble and wanted to thank you and the publisher for this. I am purchasing the ebook today and will loan it out immediately and I'm sure whomever gets it, will do the same thing. My boys will be getting the hardback for Christmas. A complete joy to read and I didn't want it to end. Again, thank you.

posted by crabsomatic on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1055 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 53
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    WHOEVER GAVE THIS BOOK A BAD REVIEW IS OUT OF THEIR MIND. My mom

    WHOEVER GAVE THIS BOOK A BAD REVIEW IS OUT OF THEIR MIND. My mom gave me this book for christmas one year to read becuase I recently lost my best friend who yes, was a dog. He was very young and it is one of the worst experiences I have ever had in my life. This book helped me so much through the struggles I was going through. It made me laugh out loud, cry, and have hope. If you have a dog....you need to read this book. It is one of my favorite books of all time. There is nothing better then this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST Read For All Dog Lovers Or Anyone Who Will Allow Themselves To Feel All Of The Emotions Associated With Life (And Death)!

    To start off, I won't say that A Dog's Purpose is one of the best books I've read in a while. That wouldn't be close to expressing what a wonderful book I think this is. To be more accurate, I'd say that A Dog's Purpose is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! Summarizing the plot even a little bit won't be fair for the potential reader because you'll want to experience every aspect of this terrific book without any advance information of what you will experience as you read it. I think the following information from the jacket cover pertaining to the essence of A Dog's Purpose should suffice. This is a remarkable story of one endearing dog's search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another charming dog story, A Dog's Purpose touches on the universal quest for an answer to life's most basic question: Why are we here? A Dog's Purpose is a heartwarming, insightful and funny story of a dog's many lives -- but is also a book that you'll need to have a box of tissues close by as you read it, as your reading will make you come face-to-face with all of the emotions associated with life (and death). Further, the book is a dog's-eye documentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend; and, at its highest level, attempts to teach that love never dies, that our true friends are always with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose. Well, that's all I'm going to say about this very, very memorable book, which hopefully will be enough to motivate you to read it. I know you'll be very happy you did. Now, I have to go hug my dog, Luigi, tell him what a good boy he is and give him all the love he deserves.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Love it.

    Makes me sad, happy and mad.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Loved this book--thank you Mr. Cameron

    I smiled and cried at all the right places and then some.
    I have responsibly raised poodles for 54 years; bred, obedience-trained and showed in the ring. Dogs have always been a big part of my life--raising 5 children along with them. I now have my last standard poodle, because he is 12 and I am 82.
    I loved all the reincarnations of Bailey-- feeling all the feelings he felt. I am tearful as I write this to thank you for a Dog's Purpose.
    I have just finished my first novel---it is about a person I loved as much as Bailey loved his master.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    An absolute joy!

    This may be a work of fiction, but there isn't anything more real than the love between a dog and their human(s). This book is heartwarming, well-written, and will awaken something deep in your soul. Buy this book now, and then pass it on to a friend. We can all benefit from the love of a dog.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    LOVED THIS!!

    Great book for any dog lover!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Great Book

    I loved this book! It's about the many lives of a dog, and how he will find his purpose in the world. I would check it out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A Thoughtful Read for Dog Lovers

    The book is difficult to review without spoiling the story for readers. It is a story premise I'd never encountered before. But throughout, it offers thought-provoking ideas and a few "That's right!" moments too. After reading, I was left with the same comfort people get following a good sermon or a well-played symphony.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    A thinker

    Makes you think about your pet and where in their journey are they. It's a great book. You fall in love with the dog, every time he's reborn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book and would recommend it to all pet owners!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves reading a fictional book from a dog's point of view. It made me laugh, smile, cry, and love reading what was going to happen in the dog's next life.
    This is written in a very simple way (similar to a dog speaking and thinking) so it would also be good for children who are advanced readers.
    This book made me love my dog just that much more, and wonder what her previous lives were like.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    A Book All Dog Lovers Should Read!

    This book made me smile, laugh, cry, and sob all in the course of one afternoon. I couldn't put it down. As a doglover, I was drawn to the unique perspective of the book (the dog's point of view). How did the author do this-get inside the mind of a dog? I don't know, but it worked. The book answers the question- "Do we save our dog's or do they save us?" You have to read the book to find the answer. The story made me reflect upon my 15 years with the best dog in the whole world, Lucie. I lost her, but this book reminded me of the fact that I loved her for 15 1/2 years. That time with her was a blessing and an honor. I know she served her purpose. She taught me how to love onconditionally.
    That's what a good book does. It makes a personal connection with us on a deeper level and brings forth emotion that we may have buried, put aside, or denied entirely. This book is certainly a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    I loved this book.

    I picked this book up to read on vacation. I have started and not finished so many books in my life. Once I started I couldn't put it down. The author's way of getting into a dog's head was genius. Now whenever I look at my dogs I wonder if they might have had similar experiences. Without doubt I will recommend this to all my friends and I might just read it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    A "MUST READ" for Dog Lovers!

    This is THE BEST book I've ever read! I received it as a birthday gift and loved it so much that I've ordered another copy from B&N to give to a friend who I'm sure will love it as much as I did. I think I should have ordered more than one copy for gift-giving as I have several other friends who would love it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    RUN...Don't Walk...

    ...to get this book. If you have ever loved a dog & wondered if they have gone to Heaven, after making the hardest decision to help them move on...this is a book for you. Sweet & soulfully written, this book is a must read & will change the way that you look @ your K-9 friends from here on out. I LOVE THIS BOOK.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    This Summer's Must Read!

    If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking - this is the book for you! W. Bruce Cameron captures the inner life of one dog, reincarnated through 4 lives, in a manner that is funny, charming and heart-warming. You'll hug your dog a little tighter when you're done!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    The greatest Canine read...EVER

    This was the most inspiring human to dog to human book I have ever read. Because the dog (in it's various incarnations) is the narrator, it really epitomizes the genre of "dog book". It is evident that Bruce Cameron was a dog in a previous life and this book should not be missed. I read it over one weekend and I am a better dog parent for it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    What a treasure! Be careful when you read reviews!!!

    This is such a wonderful, magical experience! I really love my dogs and all dogs, so I don't know if you would like this book if you hate dogs or something, but I've seen other reviewers who weren't "dog people" say that it has changed the way they see animals in general.
    I totally lost myself in the story and I wish with all my heart that it could be true, that my beloved dogs find their way back to us until they have fulfilled their purpose in life-- then up to heaven with us? I hope so!
    This is a book to treasure, to read again and again, to share with your friends, pass on to your children, and if you're a goofball like me, tell the story to your dogs!

    Be careful of some of the reviews! Kirkus gives away too much of the plot and you shouldn't read it unless you don't mind being told the entire story before you read a book.
    There is another reader who was very irate that a pit bull was depicted as being mean and violent, but the dog was never identified as a pit bull! How would a puppy telling a story know what a pit bull is? I think that reviewer pictured a pit bull because of her own prejudices against pit bulls! That's the only way she could possibly think it was a pit bull! So some of the negative reviews are just totally bogus; read them with a discerning eye.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    A Unique Tale

    While the book is a simple and quick read, "A Dog's Purpose" is a unique and wonderful story. This book could have easily been cheesy and predictable, but it is really exciting and unpredictable. It is a true page turner. I looke forward to cracking open the follow-up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    loved this book!

    Didn't want it to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Millie

    Loved this book! I'm only in the sixth grade and already have read it all, and sobbed throughout the whole book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1055 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 53