Customer Reviews for

A Dog's Way Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Heartwarming

Eleven-year-old Abby's best friend is her dog Tam. While driving home after a competition, they are involved in an accident which sends Abby to the hospital. Tam's crate is thrown from the vehicle and no one can locate him. Abby is sick with worry, but she knows Tam is ...
Eleven-year-old Abby's best friend is her dog Tam. While driving home after a competition, they are involved in an accident which sends Abby to the hospital. Tam's crate is thrown from the vehicle and no one can locate him. Abby is sick with worry, but she knows Tam is out there somewhere and she has to find him. Tam is just as strong-willed as Abby and will fight against all odds to make it back home to Abby.

Ms. Pyron has written a beautiful story of friendship, hope and survival. As a child I loved books and movies that dealt with dogs and their owners. One of my favorites was The Incredible Journey, and this book was very reminiscent of that. Abby is a very strong young woman, and her hope and determination in finding her best friend is admirable. The book alternates between Abby and Tam, and I found myself rooting for Tam as he fought his way back home to his human. This book is fun and full of adventure. It's a heartwarming tale of the bond between humans and their beloved pets. I highly recommend it.

posted by OtotheD on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hate it

I hate the girl and how shes always complaing about hiw she lost the dog and sh needs the dog ughhh shes so stupid

posted by 10470801 on November 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming

    Eleven-year-old Abby's best friend is her dog Tam. While driving home after a competition, they are involved in an accident which sends Abby to the hospital. Tam's crate is thrown from the vehicle and no one can locate him. Abby is sick with worry, but she knows Tam is out there somewhere and she has to find him. Tam is just as strong-willed as Abby and will fight against all odds to make it back home to Abby.

    Ms. Pyron has written a beautiful story of friendship, hope and survival. As a child I loved books and movies that dealt with dogs and their owners. One of my favorites was The Incredible Journey, and this book was very reminiscent of that. Abby is a very strong young woman, and her hope and determination in finding her best friend is admirable. The book alternates between Abby and Tam, and I found myself rooting for Tam as he fought his way back home to his human. This book is fun and full of adventure. It's a heartwarming tale of the bond between humans and their beloved pets. I highly recommend it.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!

    A dogs way home is just an amazing and heartfelt story that brought tears to my eyes (in a good way). I think all kids wil love it as I did.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    LOVED IT.

    This book was a heart felt story about a young girl who loses her dog. As the story swiches back and forth between the girl and the dogs side of the story, you read about a loving girl who never stops believing her lost dog will come, to a faithful dog who never stops trying to get home. This book is a great read for avy age!!:)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    I love this book it is really good best book ever

    It is the best i have ever read i am in fifth grade my mom is reading

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Wow

    This book made me shead tears in the end. It was so amazing and breath taking

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    "Awsome animal adventere"!

    It was really cool because one of my favorite animals are dogs and it was a little sad and a happy animal adventure and recommend it for all ages .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Review: Heartwarming and A MustBuy book

    This book is awesome. Well, more than overused AWESOME, its emotional for me. I like books with both point of views like this had - so it didnt bore you with one point of view only. Yes it is very sad but it has the same appeal of Ann m Martins Its a dogs life.

    Poor points: no poor points in my opinion. Someobe here said the girl kept whining about her dog but i disagree.

    I loved the book and it has the overall similarity of The incredible journey.


    Get this book if u are a dog lover. PLEASE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    :) buy it!

    Best book ever never read something better i got it at a bok fair andlooked it up on here

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My 5th-Grade Daughter's New Favorite Book

    Usually my daughter would rather draw or play computer games than read, but she gobbled this one up in two days. Now I know why: the story is filled with action, drama, close calls, and all sorts of adventures. Plus, there are interesting school and family issues tossed into the mix. A wonderful cast of characters complement the main points of view: the dog making his way home & the girl determined not to give up on her beloved companion.

    You'll want to keep a few tissues handy while devouring this page-turner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    A dogs way home

    The book gives you eximent and is kid freindly. I recommend you to read this book. The book is about a young girl that goes on a long jouney to find her dog that is lost, there are two characters that talk thourgh out this main book the young girl and her dog! : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Great book

    This book made me cry just like SHILOH ;.)..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Abby and her dog, Tam, are separated because of a car crash. A

    Abby and her dog, Tam, are separated because of a car crash. Abby and Tam are separated for months and months and months! Abby is trying to track Tam down but he keeps trying to come home and that’s not helping the situation any. He keeps running into bumps in the road, as in he gets adopted by a lady and she almost dies and so her son and her friend are trying to find him but they didn’t know he was a stray even though he’ s trying to go home. Also he gets caught and sent to the pound, and then he loses his little coyote friend to a big mean hunter and he also keeps getting mistaken for a red fox! Then he goes to a ranger station and stays there and finally Abby tracks him down and takes him home. This book was really awesome, even though there were some ups and downs and some happy and sad parts too. I would recommend this book to animal lovers because just like I did I had gotten tears in my eyes because the dog and his girl were apart for so long. I’d also recommend this book to kids that are the same age of me and I just might recommend this book to one of my classmates especially if they are animal lovers too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Amazing

    Get it it is the best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    how good it is!!!

    a dogs way home is one of my fafoit books in the ol intar world it is sad at some parts than others!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Awesome!!!!

    Its the best book i have EVER read!!! Such a great story and an adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!! A little sad but very happy

    A little sad but it has a very happy ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Sooo sad I cried but happy

    I love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!

    This book is awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Sad but Happy

    It is sad because Tam is lost and straving to death but Abby will not stop looking till she finds Tam! It is an a avench trying to find Tam! You should read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Molly

    Ok i read the begining last summer just the beging in wonderful u will so want this book i hsve to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3