Customer Reviews for

Dogs and Goddesses

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Odd but good

Not at all what I expected, and you have to really bend the mind to read this, but it was a good funny romantic story. And would give it to a friend for sure. Just explain its not typical Cruise and its very fiction!

posted by MissChristina on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Charmed 2.5

It was rehash of the Unfortunate of Miss Fortunes and a Charmed episode. I felt the book read bit clumsy and very far fetched even for fiction novel. Too many cooks in the kitchen. I would love for Ms. Crusie to get back to what she does the best: fast paced witty dialo...
It was rehash of the Unfortunate of Miss Fortunes and a Charmed episode. I felt the book read bit clumsy and very far fetched even for fiction novel. Too many cooks in the kitchen. I would love for Ms. Crusie to get back to what she does the best: fast paced witty dialogue with great heat between the characters. I like Agnes and the Hitman, good collaberation with Bob Mayer. Looking forward to her next solo project.

posted by welchmin on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Odd but good

    Not at all what I expected, and you have to really bend the mind to read this, but it was a good funny romantic story. And would give it to a friend for sure. Just explain its not typical Cruise and its very fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    I loved this book. It had me laughing out loud. I've always liked Jennifer Crusie - her books are just plain fun - and this one did not disappoint. The characters (particularly the dogs) were so well done. A little romance, some fairly steamy love scenes, and a great sense of the absurd kept me interested throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    A great fantasy read!

    This was a totally enjoyable read. All three stories intersected and came together nicely. This is a repeat read for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great Read when you want a girls night out

    This book was full of laughs and the scarcasm just keeps rolling. The characters all work well together and you can clearly see the personalities in their pets. You can really believe what the dogs are thinking. Overall a fun exciting book that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A few laughs and a snicker or two

    I found this book a funny read, and glad that I found it on a whim. I loved the talking dogs, but not so much of the control freak of the Mesopotamian goddess Kammani. I started reading and actually had to finish the book. It made me laugh and I have recommended this book to others and their feeling was the same as mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What fun!

    After reading the description, I just had to have this book just for the premise - I don't want to spoil the book for anyone else, however I must say my favorite character was Melvin. This was a fun read and I had to pass it on to others - that's how much enjoyment I got out of this. The three leading ladies come into their own in a very satifying fashion, and the love interests can be a bit too good to be true, but still enjoyable. This would be a great beach read, the otherworldly-type of plot, enjoyable characters, wacky situations and just plain good old fashioned story telling make this book true escapism. Goddesses and Dogs rule!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    good lawd

    I liked this book. It's a lot like The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes in the aspect that it dealt with three women finding their three loves. Especially the connection between Mare and Daisy. It's a nice easy read and I would definetly recomend this book for anyone looking to get away from the real world for a little bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun summer reading - great collaboration to create a single voice

    An overall fun book. I did love the other Crusie//trio collaboration - The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes - but did enjoy this one too. It started out slowly and it seemed to take a bit longer in character development so I loved the dogs from the beginning but it wasn't until halfway through the book that I really liked the lead human characters (plus Sam). It took off once the characters jelled and became aware of their roles in the plot of the Goddess. Definitely one that I have reread a couple of times for train-time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Incredibly funny & entertaining

    Loved this book and thought it was really entertaining. As always Ms. Crusie's inventive plots keep the reader involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Funny!

    Funny, an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Enjoyable

    Good Beach Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dogs and Goddesses by Jennifer Cursie, Anne Stuart & Lani Diane Rich

    I quite enjoyed "Dogs and Goddesses" as a fun read. Jennifer Crusie, Anne Stuart, and Lani Diane Rich wrote this story together and I was impressed at how well it flowed. It's got humor, hot sex, a nasty goddess, talking dogs, and three very different heroines. Once the story got going, it proved hard to put down. <BR/><BR/>The basic plot is an ancient Mesopotamian goddess is accidentally called back to life. She uses her magic to find the ancestors of her handmaidens and begins her plot to...wait for it...take over the world! Luckily for the world, three of these ancestors are our heroines who quickly come to realize something's just not right--could be when their dogs begin speaking to them or when they suddenly develop magical powers. Anyhoo, these three manage to find the information, and men, they need to help defeat the evil goddess. But the goddess doesn't intend to go down easily.<BR/><BR/>It's actually a very fun and funny read. The mix of humor, hot sex, and action was just perfect for a sunny winter day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2