Customer Reviews for

Dogs and Goddesses

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Odd but good

Not at all what I expected, and you have to really bend the mind to read this, but it was a good funny romantic story. And would give it to a friend for sure. Just explain its not typical Cruise and its very fiction!

posted by MissChristina on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Charmed 2.5

It was rehash of the Unfortunate of Miss Fortunes and a Charmed episode. I felt the book read bit clumsy and very far fetched even for fiction novel. Too many cooks in the kitchen. I would love for Ms. Crusie to get back to what she does the best: fast paced witty dialo...
It was rehash of the Unfortunate of Miss Fortunes and a Charmed episode. I felt the book read bit clumsy and very far fetched even for fiction novel. Too many cooks in the kitchen. I would love for Ms. Crusie to get back to what she does the best: fast paced witty dialogue with great heat between the characters. I like Agnes and the Hitman, good collaberation with Bob Mayer. Looking forward to her next solo project.

posted by welchmin on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    Waste of money

    I was very disappointed with the book. I always read a book cover to cover. But not this one. From the beginning I was confused by the story line. But even after fifty pages, I just could not become invested. I put the book down and it is in my pile of books to give away. This will not even be worth a read at a later time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Seamless collaboration

    Three talented authors with unique voices came together to deliver a dynamite read in this hilarious and entertaining story. I loved every minute of the fast-paced paranormal with an undeniable off-the-wall humor that made me bond with the characters and worry about the outcome. I applaud the effortless way the trio managed to deliver the book without the obvious breaks I would have expected with such diverse talents at work. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm still trying to get through this book!

    If this had been three individual stories (anthology) or just a series, I would have loved the concept. Nothing better than whimsical romance! It just keeps jumping from character to character before I can get a grasp on what's happening. The title and the cover hooked me, but I got lost trying to keep up with the characters and the dogs. If you slow down and re-read some of the scenes, it's really a good try at romantic comedy. The dogs are hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Incredibly funny & entertaining

    Loved this book and thought it was really entertaining. As always Ms. Crusie's inventive plots keep the reader involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It Was a Barker

    I had expected more from the women who wrote this.The plot all but rolled over and played dead.The storyline was too farfetched to keep my interest and I almost begged it to end.Oh well,enough with the dogged theme of this review.I have put this book in the bag to donate to my local library where someone else may decide to bone up on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Funny!

    Funny, an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Enjoyable

    Good Beach Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Very strange

    This is by far the most strange book I've ever read. Looking at the cover, it seemed like a cute story so I picked it up and read the back to find out more. Again, sounds cute. Well not far into the book it gets really strange and a little on the creepy side! No where in reading the back cover does it talk about 'talking dogs'. Yep, you read correctly. Talking dogs. I've read many Jennifer Crusie books and have to say I'm ver disappointed in this joint venture she takes with the other others. That is partly why I even picked up the book. Don't be fooled. It's nothing like other Jennifer Crusie books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank Goddess!!

    In Dogs and Goddesses our trio of authors gives us a really great read. I love the fact that not all of the "Goddesses" are nubile young 20 somethings and that the one who in facts gets the God is middle aged (Just means there's still hope for me, middle aged Goddess that I am). I love the dogs, I mean how could you not love those dogs.
    The writing is superb, the characters are just quirky enough to get your attention and lovable enough to steal your heart. And I love the ending, no spoilers here so go out and get your own copy and find out why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dogs and Goddesses by Jennifer Cursie, Anne Stuart & Lani Diane Rich

    I quite enjoyed "Dogs and Goddesses" as a fun read. Jennifer Crusie, Anne Stuart, and Lani Diane Rich wrote this story together and I was impressed at how well it flowed. It's got humor, hot sex, a nasty goddess, talking dogs, and three very different heroines. Once the story got going, it proved hard to put down. <BR/><BR/>The basic plot is an ancient Mesopotamian goddess is accidentally called back to life. She uses her magic to find the ancestors of her handmaidens and begins her plot to...wait for it...take over the world! Luckily for the world, three of these ancestors are our heroines who quickly come to realize something's just not right--could be when their dogs begin speaking to them or when they suddenly develop magical powers. Anyhoo, these three manage to find the information, and men, they need to help defeat the evil goddess. But the goddess doesn't intend to go down easily.<BR/><BR/>It's actually a very fun and funny read. The mix of humor, hot sex, and action was just perfect for a sunny winter day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4