Customer Reviews for

The Dogs of Babel

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

When I read the reviews of this book, I thought it sounded rather strange. I am a dog lover though, so I was also intrigued, so I bought it anyway. I'm so glad I did. The writing is marvelous, the story is compellingly told, and I actually cried. I can't recommend t...
When I read the reviews of this book, I thought it sounded rather strange. I am a dog lover though, so I was also intrigued, so I bought it anyway. I'm so glad I did. The writing is marvelous, the story is compellingly told, and I actually cried. I can't recommend this book highly enough. You won't be sorry!

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Why all the positive reviews?

I don't get it at all. The vast majority of people on this site seem to love this book. Why? Lexy is an extremely self-centered, unlikeable 'heroine' and Paul is a complete dolt whose moronic actions cause horrific consequences for the poor dog, Lorelei. W...
I don't get it at all. The vast majority of people on this site seem to love this book. Why? Lexy is an extremely self-centered, unlikeable 'heroine' and Paul is a complete dolt whose moronic actions cause horrific consequences for the poor dog, Lorelei. What is there to like in this book? If you're a dog lover or want to get caught up in characters you can actually care about, run, don't walk, away from The Dogs of Babel.

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    A lovely book up until the middle... then it's TERRIFYING.

    I would not recommend this book. I was left with terrible nightmares about mangled dogs and death masks. The ending left me with a lot to be desired. I cannot stress enough about the horrifying images I was left with. Never before have I felt such fear for a character of a book as I did with Lexy and the members of the 'Cerebrus Society'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Nice prose, can't tell where it goes

    Before buying this book I read a number of reader reviews. A mystery, a dog lover's book, a love story. A man loses his wife under suspicious circumstances and then tries to enlist his faithful pet, the only witness to the event, to tell him what happened. I kept reading the book waiting for the pivotal moment, the key to unlocking the story. It never happened. I felt like a person trying to run on ice. A lot of work, not getting anywhere. No doubt the author can write. But about what? A neurotic husband, a crazy wife, a peculiar relationship. So many possibilities. So short in delivery. A big disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Okay....but depressing

    The Dogs of Babel, is a book that tells about the mysterious death of Lexy Ransome after she fell out of an apple tree. Paul is determined to know why, even if he teaches the only witness to talk, their dog, Lorelei. Paul must face many obstacles including the intelligence of days and harassment from collages in his field of linguists. The Dogs of Babel, is a good book, its about grieving, self-examination, love and mystery. When Paul studies Lorelei he learns more about himself and Lexy, he is very dedicated to Lexy, he is forced to abandon his job, friends and family. I would recommend this to readers in their middle to older teens and to people who enjoy reading this genre of book. The book is complicated to follow at first because it has flash backs to when Lexy was alive to after her death, from chapter to chapter. I would not recommend this book to young readers and to animal lovers because it features some gruesome animal abuse. Which can be hard to read at times. The dogs are tormented and put through much pain and get into much detail. Paul studies Lorelei so he can understand her death but doesn¿t realize what he puts her through. He puts himself first as the ¿higher being¿ and doesn¿t seem to care what she goes through. Paul does not realize his mistakes until its too late. ¿All I can think of, the only thing that will help, is to go get my dog and wrap my arms around the great furry mass of hers¿I get to the back gate, I stop short and my skin turns cold. Because the yard is empty.¿ Lorelei is gone, one way or another, all because Paul was to ignorant and ¿blind¿ to take notice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Disappointing

    I was engaged enough to read through to the end. But, even at that, I simply skimmed and skipped through the last third of the book. The only character I really cared about was the dog. I just wanted to make sure she was okay. Otherwise, I would have done what I rarely do - put this book down without finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Dogs of Babel: A Novel

    I was pretty put off by the animal abuse, but even more by the story. It didn't go anywhere. Some books are just mediocre and this is one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Preposterous and sophomoric

    This book was very disappointing. After reading other reviews about the rich, multi-layering, deep mystery, and emotional intrigue, I was left wondering what others saw in this. When Lexy's story started to unfold, it became obvious where this book was going. The only mystery to me was how Paul could be so obtuse.The Cerberus thread was so preposterous it would have made me laugh if it hadn't been so seriously presented. All in all, a waste of the several hours it took to plow throught this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Dogs of Babel: A Novel

    I think the writer is certainly talented, but the sad subjects addressed here were taken too far for me. It was a good short read, but I felt so depressed at the end that I wouldn't wish that on anyone. The lead character should have protected his dog better and I couldn't forgive him for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    Ultimately disappointing

    The first half was great. I thought it was a suspensful page-turner and I couldn't wait to see what Paul would learn about his wife's mysterious death. However, the book takes a bizarre turn with a despicable underground group of dog 'surgeons' and a telephone psychic. Also, the more I learned about Paul's wife, the less I cared about her. The second half completely ruined it for me. Check it out from the library, if you must read it but don't waste your money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Why the animal abuse????

    When i first picked this book up and started reading....i was captivated. Then animal abuse was thrown into the story, which I believe was not necessary and it ruined the whole book for me. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    What exactly is this book about?

    After reading the rave reviews, and what I had believed to be the premise of this book-'A widower so filled with grief after the untimely death of his wife (to which the only witness is the family dog) that he proceeds to devote his entire time to teaching the dog to communicate with him to find out what happened', I read this book with great expectations. I expected the story line to develop and ultimately the question of 'how will he accomplish this and will he then avenge his wife's death?' to be answered. But the story does not follow the premise or even the title of the book. Is the story about an amorphous, grieving widower? (Little physical description of the character is given) or is it about mental illness? Still,as he reveals the life story of his 'loony wife', I am left to wonder how an intelligent, educated man with so much insight into his marriage could not arrive at the obvious conclusion of his wife's demise from the beginning. He put their beloved dog through an unthinkable ordeal. I found the cruel, evil mutilations of the dogs to be gratuitous and unnecessary. Great immagination on the part of the writer, but a sadly disappointed story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1