Customer Reviews for

The Dogs of Riga (Kurt Wallander Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent follow-up to "Faceless Killers"

    An excellent read - I couldn't put it down. Although dated a bit by subsequent events in the Baltic Republics, it remains a gripping read and well worth the effort. Though it could be read stand alone, it is better as a follow-up to "Faceless Killers". Wallander is an appealing character and I look forward to reading further into this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    I've become a real Kurt Wallander fan.

    I had become a huge fan of the Myron Bolitar series of thriller novels written by Harlan Coben and read each and every one of them. It didn't seem possible I'd find a series by another author that I enjoyed as much but I was wrong. Henning Mankell's police officer Kurt Wallander makes an enjoying, enthralling, everyday type of character who has "investigated" his way into my list of most interesting fictional heroes list. I had read two Kurt Wallander mysteries before reading "The Dogs of Riga" and learned to watch for clues as to the identity of the villian. This novel was slightly darker than the other two but, none the less, equally enjoyable. One particular aspect of Mr. Mankell's novel is that he brings up topics addressed in the other K.W. stories,which gives more dimension to the story. I'd recommend this book to other mystery novel fans.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Scandinoir tsunami has broken on either side of me and left

    The Scandinoir tsunami has broken on either side of me and left me largely unmoved. I'm tired of protagonists who are incompetent at the business of being human beings and stories full of characters who are all broken doves. So it could be that my reaction to The Dogs of Riga -- author Mankell's second Wallander novel -- is one of relief in finding an entry in this genre that didn't make me want to open a vein.

    Inspector Kurt Wallander, Our Hero, is a detective in a provincial town in southern Sweden. When two murdered Latvians wash up on his shores in a life raft, he ends up falling down a rabbit hole trying to solve the crime and the associated murder of his Latvian counterpart, whom he befriended earlier in the story.

    As seems to be the case among the Scandinavian authors I've read, Mankell is more concerned with characterization than he is with setting. We spend extensive time inside Wallander's head, and the other characters are well-realized and feel authentic. The dialog is likewise realistic and serves to both move the plot and further the characterizations. However, if you don't know what Ystad (Our Hero's hometown) looks like before reading this, you won't be any better informed afterwards. To be fair, Mankell spends more time describing Riga than he does any other location, possibly because Wallander is seeing it for the first time, and possibly because it was still considered exotic in 1992 when this book first appeared in Sweden.

    It's impossible to overlook the fact that when Mankell wrote this book, the dust from the fallen Berlin Wall was still blowing through central Europe and the post-Soviet era was both new and fragile. Much of the plot hinges on the political upheaval in the Baltic states and the possible threat posed by ex-Soviet hardliners wanting their empire back. That we know how this all worked out doesn't detract from the story, though, in the same way that knowing the interwar years in Europe wrecked on the twin shoals of fascism and war doesn't take away from the experience of reading an Alan Furst novel.

    I use that comparison advisedly, because The Dogs of Riga is as much a novel of intrigue as it is a police procedural -- perhaps even more so. Without giving too much away: Wallander finds himself involved with Latvian dissidents who are trying to resist the old-regime apparatchiks who are working to throttle Latvian democracy in its crib. There are midnight meetings, shadows to be evaded, secret messages to be passed, and a fair amount of skulking around that wouldn't be out of place in a spy novel. As a result, Wallander isn't nearly as much a human wreck as he was in Faceless Killers, and most of the non-Swedish characters are likewise acting rather than wallowing in their various dysfunctions.

    It's this atypical excursion into political intrigue that salvaged this book for me. Wallander is still too dithery and diffident to really engage me as a protagonist, and the general bleakness wears after a while. It could simply be that after my various other excursions with Larsson, Nesbo and Mankell, this genre is lost to me. If you're a fan, you'll probably enjoy it more than I did. I may read the next Wallander tale sometime in the future, but not soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    over wrought -- tells us rather than shows us; unbelievable when

    over wrought -- tells us rather than shows us; unbelievable when insider suddenly materializes to help infiltrate ....no spoilers!  as if it could be spoiled.  Should have stuck with bodies in the lifeboat and Sweden.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly, Highly Recommended!!

    This series is nearly as good as the "Girl With the Dragon Tatoo" series. These are not as psycho-thriller as the other series, but just as suspensful and just as mysterious. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    My first wallender book

    Although i enjoy the intertwining elements of murder mystery and following the slow start of the resulting police investigation, i was fascinated by the all too human wallender. As he carefully picks up clues, he gets frazzled from exhaustion and lack of sleep or regular meals. He works himself to the disregard (not only of his health) but ogf his family. Wallender takes rare breaks inderto visit his crusty old gather who upbraids wallender for his choice of profession but also his lack of attendance upon the father. Wallender has a sentimental side that misses his wife but also allows the gruffness shown to others to disappear when his daughter makes one of her unannoumced visits. Wallender worries about his daughter, his dad, his ex wife between his endless bouts of self-doubt and his non stop investigations. As i read a wallender novel, i sometimes get so involved that i feel that i too have neen hard at work! The illusion only ends when wallender falls accross vital clues then makes a very satisfying conclusion.... leaving the end of the novel in inspired resolution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great read and very difficult to put down

    I am so into these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Another excellent book from a wonderful series.

    Another excellent book from a wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good second book but...

    ....not as good as the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great series

    All of this series needs to be on Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3