Customer Reviews for

Dogsong

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I like the book and I recommend it to my friends to read. I learned that someone can live alone in wilderness. Russel had to kill animals for his food and he had a lamp that Oogruk gave him to warm the meat up. He had to kill for him and the dog team that Oogruk also g...
I like the book and I recommend it to my friends to read. I learned that someone can live alone in wilderness. Russel had to kill animals for his food and he had a lamp that Oogruk gave him to warm the meat up. He had to kill for him and the dog team that Oogruk also gave him.

posted by K_Terry on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dogsong

Newbery Learn about different culture in this book. A boy name Russell learns from Oogruk, his father friend, on how to hunt caribou, seal, and birds. He also learns that there are songs for everything. One other thing that Russell has to work on is to trust with the...
Newbery Learn about different culture in this book. A boy name Russell learns from Oogruk, his father friend, on how to hunt caribou, seal, and birds. He also learns that there are songs for everything. One other thing that Russell has to work on is to trust with the team of dogs. The dogs have a special instinct that tells Russell where he should go in order to discover the northern land. If you want to see what will happen next, you have to read. I encourage to all readers to read this amazing book so that you know that there are another life. Gary Paulsen was born in 1939 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In 1966, his first book was published, The Special War. Paulsen lives in La Luz, New Mexico with his wife, Ruth, an artist. Bibliography Paulsen, Gary. Dogsong. New York: Aladdin Paperbacks, 1985.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Dogsong

    Newbery Learn about different culture in this book. A boy name Russell learns from Oogruk, his father friend, on how to hunt caribou, seal, and birds. He also learns that there are songs for everything. One other thing that Russell has to work on is to trust with the team of dogs. The dogs have a special instinct that tells Russell where he should go in order to discover the northern land. If you want to see what will happen next, you have to read. I encourage to all readers to read this amazing book so that you know that there are another life. Gary Paulsen was born in 1939 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In 1966, his first book was published, The Special War. Paulsen lives in La Luz, New Mexico with his wife, Ruth, an artist. Bibliography Paulsen, Gary. Dogsong. New York: Aladdin Paperbacks, 1985.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    My personal opinion of the book ┬┐Dogsong┬┐ by Gary Paulsen is tha

    My personal opinion of the book “Dogsong” by Gary Paulsen is that it was an overall adequate book. I do indeed like Gary Paulsen and have read many of his works prior. I think the book definitely had potential, for it did have an interesting plot, however Infamous Gary Paulsen had to go do what he always does and make his book about finding your inner self through solitude, which makes a good story, but he seems to incorporate it into every book he writes. I felt the book was very predictable and bland, it never really had me on the edge of my seat. I also felt that it ended too early and that about three more chapters were missing from the book. I had unanswered questions about the book when it ended. My favorite character was actually Russell’s father. He seemed like a good man. I am disappointed that he was not incorporated more deeply into the book, for he seemed very interesting and would have made a good character. My favorite quote from the book was on page 176: “See my dogs in the steam, in the steam of my life. They are me.” I like this quote because it explains how important the dogs really are to Russell and how important they are to the overall operation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    I think ... i have a treat for uou...

    That thos is an ok book. It wasnt what i exspected it to be but ihchvhghghgghfgfyghvjbuh cant say that it was hortible. This is news for you pulsen... write some better books for me than thus vone.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@()()()()()()()()()()(
    L
    L.l.l.l.l.l.l.l.l
    l.l.l.l.l.l.l..l.dfdhjfrvsjdehcs


























    V
    V
    Vvvv



































    Gyftctdtxyfuguhuhuhufsrsytijjxdarfygghghghugygygygygyghgygyvjgubugubihhddeuuhsfoufawxyhrg





















































    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Can dogs even sing

    Gary paulsen writes some of the most intresting action novels ever and this was a good book but the plot got a little hard to follow at some points. I've read Gary Paulsen before and this is probably one of his worst writting that ive read.I would only recommened this book to eskimos, dog sled fans and die hard Gary paulsen fans. But in my opinion this is a big step down from Hatchet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    ok

    it was good but borning at it has a pointless reason why he left his dad and to go to oogruk and then find his song come on paulsen think of a better reason for him to leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    Dogsong Review

    I've just read the book Dogsong by Gary Paulsen. This book is great for a reader who likes books with an outdoorsmen tale of survival. I liked Dogsong becuse of the action and the outdoors setting. I also like how Gary Paulsen combines the things of today to the things of the past. I think every thing is great in the book except for the ending. I don't like the ending because the story just stos, it doesn't even explain what happens to the people later in there life. If I had to give the book a rating btween 1 and 10,I would probably give it a 8. I liked everything except for one part, so I encourage you to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    A Good Book from the North

    'Dogsong', by Gary Paulson was a complicated book that was almost too complicated to enjoy. In the end, though, it was a good book. It wasn't the most exciting book I have ever read, but it was the most boring either. One thing that I thought was pretty good about the book was the plot. The climax wasn't very exciting, seeing as all it was, was a food shortage for the main character, Russel, that lasted about one page. At the end of the food shortage though, there is a action filled scene. The ending of 'Dogsong' doesn't really conclude the book, but it does go along with the theme of the story. Russel is a teenager who finds his own path in life after living off the land for a while. Oorg, Russel's wise and old counseler, helps him by telling him how to change into a man. Another thing that almost forces Russel to change is the food shortage that comes later in the book. The story takes place in a very cold and icy place, most probably the North Pole. It is a good setting, beacause it adds a element of danger to the book, since Russel must learn how to live with the frigid cold. Another thing I liked about it was that it taught Russel to live off the land. It also tells us that Russel is very brave, since he is willing to go out in that kind of weather. Gary Paulson, in this book, is trying to say that everybody must choose their own path in life in order to become adults. This is shown when Oorg tells Russel that he must live off the land and create his own individual 'dogsong' in order to become a man. In conclusion, 'Dogsong', by Gary Paulson, was a very good book. Although it was a bit confusing, I would recommend it to anyone. So if you like to read, read 'Dogsong', by Gary Paulson. I give it a three out of five star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    i wouldn't recommend it

    i had to read this book for one of my classes in school. I really didn't enjoy this book very much. Of course one reason why is because i am a female. I wouldn't recommend this book for a female. Men can surely relate to this book a bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1