Customer Reviews for

Doing It Right: Making Smart, Safe, and Satisfying Choices About Sex

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Bronwen Pardes, a sexual-health educator, has put together a truly informative book for teens--both male and female--on sex and sexuality. Using her years of teaching as a background, Ms. Pardes provides information that many teens want to know, but are too embarrassed ...
Bronwen Pardes, a sexual-health educator, has put together a truly informative book for teens--both male and female--on sex and sexuality. Using her years of teaching as a background, Ms. Pardes provides information that many teens want to know, but are too embarrassed to ask about.

Subjects include:
What is Sex?
The Lowdown on Down Below: Reproductive Anatomy
Puberty
Am I Ready?
No Glove, No Love: Protecting Against STDs
Planning, Not Parenthood: Birth Control
Doing It Right
Adam and Eve, or Adam and Steve?: Sexual Orientation
Boys Will Be Boys...or Will They?: Transgender and Intersex
DIY: Masturbation
Don't Let the Bed Bugs Bite: Sexually Transmitted Diseases
What the Heck Does That Mean?: Some Definitions
Oh is for Orgasm
Rape and Sexual Abuse
Where Can I Go for More Information?: A Resource Guide

This is an informative, highly intelligent look at a teen's changing body, sexuality, and actual physical intimacy. However, it's very frank in language and the information it gives, so parents may want to read DOING IT RIGHT themselves before discussing it with their teens. For fact-based information, though, this is a wonderful guide for those going through adolescence and wondering about what all the changes in their bodies means, and especially for those contemplating having sex for the first time.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

To please read

Hey. You dont need to have sex. Wait until your married. If you already did, its not too late, ask God to forgive you and repent and say a simple prayer that goes like this, God, i know i am a sinner. But i want to follow you now, so please take all my sin away and make...
Hey. You dont need to have sex. Wait until your married. If you already did, its not too late, ask God to forgive you and repent and say a simple prayer that goes like this, God, i know i am a sinner. But i want to follow you now, so please take all my sin away and make me clean and new in you.
Amen
If you say something to this effect (add in your own personal prayer in the middle somewhere like what youve been doing ect) and truely mean it in your heart than he will forgive you and make you new in him. Find a christian chuch near you and if your parents wont take you than ask a friend!!! Jesus love you and i hope this helped!!!! God bless
Amy77

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Bronwen Pardes, a sexual-health educator, has put together a truly informative book for teens--both male and female--on sex and sexuality. Using her years of teaching as a background, Ms. Pardes provides information that many teens want to know, but are too embarrassed to ask about.<BR/><BR/>Subjects include:<BR/>What is Sex?<BR/>The Lowdown on Down Below: Reproductive Anatomy<BR/>Puberty<BR/>Am I Ready?<BR/>No Glove, No Love: Protecting Against STDs<BR/>Planning, Not Parenthood: Birth Control<BR/>Doing It Right<BR/>Adam and Eve, or Adam and Steve?: Sexual Orientation<BR/>Boys Will Be Boys...or Will They?: Transgender and Intersex<BR/>DIY: Masturbation<BR/>Don't Let the Bed Bugs Bite: Sexually Transmitted Diseases<BR/>What the Heck Does That Mean?: Some Definitions<BR/>Oh is for Orgasm<BR/>Rape and Sexual Abuse<BR/>Where Can I Go for More Information?: A Resource Guide<BR/><BR/>This is an informative, highly intelligent look at a teen's changing body, sexuality, and actual physical intimacy. However, it's very frank in language and the information it gives, so parents may want to read DOING IT RIGHT themselves before discussing it with their teens. For fact-based information, though, this is a wonderful guide for those going through adolescence and wondering about what all the changes in their bodies means, and especially for those contemplating having sex for the first time.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    To below

    Stop that

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    to below

    I am so sorry that that keeps happening to you,i dont know much about the situation but what i think you should do is tell your parents the whole story i know its hard at first nut i dont think they will leave you home alone again also how is being raped different than having sex?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Help me plz

    My cousin rapped me >~<
    He comes over to my house every day and does it every time my parents leave the house
    I think he got me pregnant
    I took the morning after pill but im running out of cash
    Im scared to tell my parents because my cousin might hurt me
    What do i do
    My name is leana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    PEASE CLICK!!! JUICY STUFF AND NEEDED ADVICE

    Ok. Here is what i need advice on: how to find a boyfriend. Second thing: rubbing their fronts against eachother wildly, the coulple masturbates with pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    To sex hungry

    Lets do this babe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To big boob girl

    I will go out with u. My name is Roxas im am13 and looking for a girlfriend. I have brown hair and brown eyes. Plz reply

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I need some one to talk to I

    Anyone pls i am 14 year old girl and confused

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A helpful book

    Ok lets just say that i am a 11th grader and that i have been in a realitionship with the same person for 2 1/2 years. We met durimg a football and cheerleading game and it was love at first sight we had went to his house after a game and we ened up have ing sex and now we hav a beautiful baby girl and that i am telling you guy if you dont want baby dont have sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Gay buttsex anyone!?

    It feels so good guys!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To sex chick

    Im a guy named Santiago but im not mexican im mixed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    to number 2

    That is true i knew a 3 yesr old boy and now he is pretty hot
    So nobody put your info on here its not safe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Jake

    I didnt flip out.thx i am not really awesome.go to marty res3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Hia please read this

    Hia peoples please text me Im bored xoxox love Willow if you want to talk just say to Willow kk thx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Sex

    Lol i think its awesome it feels uncomfortable at first then u get REALLY comfy.....wink wink. And guys it feels good on ur dick... srry that waz weird. ANYWAY imma girl and follow mey on Twitter at Hannah Mcbride

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I like that

    Ggjuj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    READ THIS COMMENT !!!

    Heyy.. Follow me on Twitter.. Badd_lover
    Or.. Even better add me on Facebook Brittany Deziel !
    ( not my real face book my real one im facebook famose Ayoo Cee )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Hey felleow bitches reading about sex

    Whazzup

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Hola

    My name is preston.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Please read

    Eho wants to have sex
    I love having sex!!

    If u want to have sex plz write to sex chick

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2