Customer Reviews for

The Doll People

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    I read this book back in fifth grade and I plan on reading the whole series again even though I'm older now. It was sooo cute and I really enjoyed seeing the detailed pictures that went along with it. I recommend this book for everyone no matter how old! Two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    VERY CUTE STORY

    I chose this book to read to a 3 year old boy and a 7 year old girl i take care of during the week. we got into the habit of reading while they eat dinner as a way of getting away from having the tv on. we started out with the book "coraline" and the idea worked so well that they were telling me to continue reading til mom and dad got home. Doll People is a cut funny story about a family of dolls living in a doll house that has been in the family for many many years. It is currently owned by a girl named Katie. when the family goes to school or work during the day and to sleep at night the dolls come alive and are free to roam the house. they must, however, be back in the same exact positions they were in when everyone went to work or sleep by the time they get home or wake up. they can not raise the suspicions of the humans. katie's little sister gets a modern doll house with "plastic" dolls for her birthday. the older porcelain dolls and the new plastic dolls become friends and the 2 doll children annabelle and tiffany embark on an adventure to find annabelle's auntie sarah, who has been missing and is believed to be somewhere in the house for years. annabelle and tiffany take us on many adventures and come up against many close calls in being almost being discovered. Doll People is an easy and fun book. it's easy enough and intrigueing enough for a 3 year old to get into and just old enough to still hold the childish imagination of a 7 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Amazing Dolls

    This book was about a doll. Her name is Annabelle and she has a friend named Tiffany. They are very brave because they find missing dolls. My favorite character in this book is Aunt Sarah because she explores around the attic and likes spiders. Aunt Sarah has been lost for 45 years.Will she ever be rescued?
    I liked this book because two very brave girls go out to save Aunt Sarah. You should read this book because it is an amazing story for children because it teaches you to be brave. (Jacie, 7)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This series is the best I've ever read in my life!!!!!!

    Don't ever think twice about buying this! I loved it!I found out about it when I went to Barnes and Noble to buy mouse and the motercycle and some girl was lookiong for it!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!!!!

    I love this book!It is a great book for my 9 year old!she can not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Doll People

    This book was so good, its actually hard to explain. It combines realistic fiction, but then switches it to somthing that not real but it a great perspective to look at!!! REALLY GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    This is a great book!

    You should totally read it. And you would love it. It's very adventurous, exciting, caring, loving, and it sure leaves you hanging from chapter to chapter. If you read this one , you'll want to read the whole series! There are two more books, this is the 1st, here are the others: 2nd The Meanest Doll In The World, and 3rd The Run Away Dolls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice story with some good messages

    My 6 year old daughter loved this book. We read it together and then she re-read it again on her own. There are some nice underlying messages in the book about self-confidence and friendships as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Doll People ROCKS MY SOXS!

    My Book Review:

    I loved the book "The Doll People" because it gave great detail and it had a happy ending. I loved how Annabelle went on an adventure to find her Aunt but instead she found a new doll house with a family. Annabelle became great friends with the family in the box and had a great time looking for her aunt with her new friend. Annabelle went on great adventures with her new friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    The Doll People

    The Doll People is a great funny learning book that you cant wait to read the next chapter in. I truly think it can help people find others if they find a place for them in there heart.Some people can relate to this book and you can find out if your really love someone in your family.After you finish reading this book if someone is missing in your family go fight for them because im sure they love you too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    its great

    i love this book it is really fun the book has lots of imagination
    and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Doll People

    My daughter read this book in the summer before her 3rd grade year. She could not put the book down. Every once in a while I would get reports from her about how the doll people were and what they were doing. She really got into this book. It has some adventurous parts, some funny, some reflective. I would recommend this book to any young reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Great Book

    Its a great book, I think everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXTRA EXTRA READ "THE DOLL PEOPLE"!!

    This is such a good book!!! there is a sequel the meanest doll in the world, which is so good! The author Ann M. Martin has great books like Main Street(Welcome to Camden falls)! her writing is so pretty.in main street each chapter starts out explaining the scenery. All the recommended books below. Are also GREAT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    The Doll People

    My daughter LOVED this book. She has since read the second and third book in this series and found them equally as exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Was Great!

    This book was full of exitement! Annabelle was always bored and she
    always wanted to do things full of exitement. In this great book,
    Annabelle and her family had many adventures. This book taught me lots of lessons. One of the lessons was, to do what she was supposed to do. This book is one of the best books I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This was a wonderful book! I loved it so much! The second in the trilogy, The Meanest Doll in the World, was good too, but my favorite of the three is tied between this one, and the third, The Runaway Dolls.<BR/>Overall, a fun, imaginative series that is good for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    The best book ever!!!

    This book was so charming and imaginative. I was just as enthralled as my 8 year old daughter was. I could not wait to read with her everynight. I hope they come out with a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I loved it!

    It tells about what happens after you go to bed.(If you have dolls.) <BR/>-Written by my 8 year old granddaughter, Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    THIS IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK!

    This book is the greatest book I have ever read. I love the adventure. I think that Ann M. Martin should write more of the doll series. I have read it over and over again- This book never gets old! I have read both of the doll books but I still think that this one is the best. In both of the doll books there is so much adventure! Okay, well I gotta go now. To let you know again, this book is the best! Thanks for reading. Bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7