Customer Reviews for

Dollmaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The Dollmaker is the story of a Kentucky woman who is forced to leave her blissful pastoral home to move her family to industrial Detroit where her husband has gained employment in an automobile factory. They settle into the projects, temporary housing units built to accommodate the hordes of workers who flocked to Detroit during World War II. The children are soon contaminated by the materialistic temptations of big city life, unknown to them previously in rural Kentucky. The story rings true for me because I lived in the neighborhood and attended the school described in the book. Although my family lived in a house, many of my friends resided in the projects. I clearly remember the railroad tracks that those children crossed to go to school, and I can attest to the fact that many young people played on those tracks and were injured. The Dollmaker is a touching book, realistic and painful, which fosters empathy for people of few means.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Too much

    I really want to read it but it is too much money itsounds like a great book!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    A remarkable book worth reading and rereading.

    Harriet Arnow's book, The Dollmaker, is the story of an impoverished family struggling in a war-time economy. Much of the story takes place in Detroit and, like A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, both the story and its characters help readers gain a sense of empathy toward the impoverished that are often invisible to the majority of citizens.

    I read this book many years ago (it was written in 1954) when I was about 15 years old and I credit it (along with A Tree . . . Brooklyn) as helping me to build empathy toward those whose life experiences were/are different from my own. I recommend it, especially, to teenagers, especially those who are shielded from the poor of our society or have developed an antipathy toward them or hold them responsible for their circumstances.

    Our book club will reread this book in August of this year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I just finished this book for the third time and it still is as

    I just finished this book for the third time and it still is as enjoyable as past reads. It is a fabulous reflection of the industrial machine of WWII and the sacrifices of the laborers as well as their families. It was written from the heart and is timeless!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Deeply moving

    I read this book more than 30 yrs ago, but it is still one of the best books I've ever read! The author's prose draws the reader into the story and makes him or her deeply care about the characters and their lives of relentless and inescapable poverty. This is a story of striving and surviving and, ulttimately, of hope. I recommend this to every serious reader I know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Fantastic!

    A must-read! I read this story probably five or more years ago and still think about it often.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great look at American culture.

    This book was a heart wrencher right from the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Excellent, realistic, and depressing

    Harriette Arnow¿s novel ¿The Dollmaker¿ showed how those farmers who migrated to Detroit for factory jobs had the life and humanity crushed from them and their innocence and dreams taken away. Though she was careful to describe the hardships of farm life during the war as well, Arnow presented life in Detroit as the worse situation because it took away the pride the people once held in their land and their way of life. The contrast of Gertie¿s relative weakness once she was forced to move to Detroit was disheartening. The author presented the new Gertie as weak and unsure of how to react in the busy city of Detroit. From a strong willed headstrong woman, Detroit gave birth to a very different Gertie ¿ afraid and hesitant ¿ wallowing in her homesickness. However, there is also a sense of magic and a glimpse of a whimsical side of Gertie in her carving and in her belief in her daughter's imaginary friend. These characters came to life as I read the novel and a month later I still reflect on Gertie's struggles and think about the people who actually lived that kind of life here in Detroit. Very powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Loved it!

    Why is this $28.40 on the nook and only $3.99 in the store? Excellent book though - should be a well read classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1