Customer Reviews for

Dolphin Browser HD 10.2.0

Average Rating 4
( 551 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

222 out of 253 people found this review helpful.

Tremendous browser!

I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better...
I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better apps every month or so and I appreciate that. Please consider offering Lets Create Pottery by Infinite Dreams and Cut the Rope and other popular apps. Good job!

posted by 2955316 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

133 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

Good...But needs some development LUUUUUV

This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everyth...
This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everything you do on your nook is being tracked and recorded by Google, HLS! and other agencies if you use this browser. Look up Google's privacy policy if you want to know more.

2) I bought a Nook tablet because I'm vision impared. I can blow MOST things up big enough to read them But...some Web pages seemed locked in this tinsy tiny font that I can' t enlarge. I seems to happen on blog sites alot. VERY FRUSTRATING!

3) I've been out to the Dolphin site to see if I could get an add-on for the font issue mentioned above. All KINDS of cool and useful add-on available...Just not compatible for the Nooks. All the cool kids get to play with the fun toys but not us Nookies. What's up with that??? You're teasing us, right? Throw a little more meat on the bone, Dudes!

4) I like the "speed dial" feature but it is too limited in the number of sites it will let you save there. Need to add AT LEAST enough spots to fill the screen. I think, right now, it gives you only 5 or 6 sites. We want MORE! ..Please?

5) BOOKMARKS- nice you can save them but there are only two folders you can use to try and organize them. I'd like to be able to add unlimited folder that I name what I want to call them. Not just "bookmarks" and "more bookmarks." Uhhh...those dont help much. Hahaha...

All that said, I'd give this browser good marks but not great marks. The developer is on the right track but they have lots of work to do to make it a winner.

posted by 10702491 on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good...But needs some development LUUUUUV

    This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

    1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everything you do on your nook is being tracked and recorded by Google, HLS! and other agencies if you use this browser. Look up Google's privacy policy if you want to know more.

    2) I bought a Nook tablet because I'm vision impared. I can blow MOST things up big enough to read them But...some Web pages seemed locked in this tinsy tiny font that I can' t enlarge. I seems to happen on blog sites alot. VERY FRUSTRATING!

    3) I've been out to the Dolphin site to see if I could get an add-on for the font issue mentioned above. All KINDS of cool and useful add-on available...Just not compatible for the Nooks. All the cool kids get to play with the fun toys but not us Nookies. What's up with that??? You're teasing us, right? Throw a little more meat on the bone, Dudes!

    4) I like the "speed dial" feature but it is too limited in the number of sites it will let you save there. Need to add AT LEAST enough spots to fill the screen. I think, right now, it gives you only 5 or 6 sites. We want MORE! ..Please?

    5) BOOKMARKS- nice you can save them but there are only two folders you can use to try and organize them. I'd like to be able to add unlimited folder that I name what I want to call them. Not just "bookmarks" and "more bookmarks." Uhhh...those dont help much. Hahaha...

    All that said, I'd give this browser good marks but not great marks. The developer is on the right track but they have lots of work to do to make it a winner.

    133 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Almost awesome

    What hardly anyone has mentioned is all the cool add-on features, like "Gestures", aren't available unless your Nook is rooted. So the only positives Dolphin has over the other browsers is bookmarks can be organized, tabs, and flash to watch videos. So close to an awesome app and then cut short! :(

    25 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    MUCH faster but with drawbacks...

    The stock browser does run slower than dolphin but it seems the sacrifice may have been worth it for me. I namely notice changes with Facebook and YouTube. On Facebook, I can't tag people in anything. Not photos, comments or status updates. There is no feature for that. I usually just begin typing a person's name and the drop down list appears, I click on the person I want and then they're tagged. That doesn't happen. Of I want to do that I have to get on my phone. YouTube is more frustrating though. It is no longer interactive. I can't click on video links in the video, and worst of all is that I have to restart dolphin everytime I want to type! I click on a video to comment, or I click in the search bar, the cursor blinks but my keyboard never appears! If you sacrifice all this then dolphin is fine. But the interactive features are sorely missed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No longer works

    Worked great til about a month ago. Now java elements display incorrectly, and links rarely work. Links just dont respond when tapped. Forms act weird. Trying something different.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Meah

    At first it was amazing very fast! But then it gave me pop ups and i tried to get the update. But it will not install anymore. ;(

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Love it/Hate it

    Dolphin is a good browser when it works correctly. I have read enough comments and reviews online to know that the glitches Dolphin has are well known by users. I have also contacted Dolphin myself but the problems remain. I wish developers would care about their product after people have made it popular. My biggest complaint at the moment is the keyboard freezing up when trying to type on Facebook. It is maddening! Takes forever to get it to work and when it finally does, you are lucky to get four words typed before it freezes again.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Great App but ........

    This is a great app but B&N doesn't have a way to push app updates out to customers. The only way I could it was to delete and re-install. If B&N won't allow access to the full android market, it needs to develop a way to update the apps without having to do a complete re-install.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Note.

    Please note this is not the real app. It's publisher is Mobotap Inc., rather than Dolphin Browser itself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    What happened?

    Worked fine, now there's a blank window covering the page that I can't get rid of. :(

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Better before the update

    Been using this app for a couple of years and it was great, up until a few months ago the video worked. Now I can't watch anything on YouTube. I would give it better marks if not for the video thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Anonymous

    I think the browser works well with most things, but it's not loading videos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Great browser but...

    I love Dolphin however, I've noticed that it no longer has any flash support on the Nook HD+ and because it's a Barnes tablet, there is NO way to upgrade the built in flash player in this browser. If you're looking for a browser for Youtube, I recommend Maxthon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Ummmmmmmm

    Used to have it and it was really good. Now it keeps crashing after 3 sec. of opening the app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I love this app

    I like it but it totly opens a stuped pop up every five secons

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Meh

    The browser itself is fine, but I can't use it for YouTube because the Google voice keeps popping up, so I have to start the video over again and fast foward to where I was, which is very frustrating. It does, however, at least seem to run faster than the built-in Nook browser overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Dolphin Browser

    This is so helpful

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Works ok.

    I am so use to explorer, that took me time to get use to this one. Not the best and certainly not the worst! There are parts of all programs that will statisfy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Great browser, but no add-ons for nook

    Really great browser, but lack of add-on support for the nook version is disappointing. 3 stars based on this, 5 stars with add-on support if added.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Functional, but eh...

    Dolphin is off to a great start; however, there are some issues:

    1. Google search leaves something to be desired, particularly with image browsing. It feels as though Dolphin can't keep up (i.e, touch and scroll, image actual size link).

    2. Facebook interaction (i.e., image view, comment, like/unlike, etc.)

    These are standart compatibility protocols Dolphin should really have a grip on by now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    More add on-s

    This browser is great but i cant install add ons on my NookColor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3