BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dolphin Browser HD 10.2.0

Average Rating 4
( 558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

226 out of 259 people found this review helpful.

Tremendous browser!

I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better...
I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better apps every month or so and I appreciate that. Please consider offering Lets Create Pottery by Infinite Dreams and Cut the Rope and other popular apps. Good job!

posted by 2955316 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

137 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

Good...But needs some development LUUUUUV

This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everyth...
This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everything you do on your nook is being tracked and recorded by Google, HLS! and other agencies if you use this browser. Look up Google's privacy policy if you want to know more.

2) I bought a Nook tablet because I'm vision impared. I can blow MOST things up big enough to read them But...some Web pages seemed locked in this tinsy tiny font that I can' t enlarge. I seems to happen on blog sites alot. VERY FRUSTRATING!

3) I've been out to the Dolphin site to see if I could get an add-on for the font issue mentioned above. All KINDS of cool and useful add-on available...Just not compatible for the Nooks. All the cool kids get to play with the fun toys but not us Nookies. What's up with that??? You're teasing us, right? Throw a little more meat on the bone, Dudes!

4) I like the "speed dial" feature but it is too limited in the number of sites it will let you save there. Need to add AT LEAST enough spots to fill the screen. I think, right now, it gives you only 5 or 6 sites. We want MORE! ..Please?

5) BOOKMARKS- nice you can save them but there are only two folders you can use to try and organize them. I'd like to be able to add unlimited folder that I name what I want to call them. Not just "bookmarks" and "more bookmarks." Uhhh...those dont help much. Hahaha...

All that said, I'd give this browser good marks but not great marks. The developer is on the right track but they have lots of work to do to make it a winner.

posted by 10702491 on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Good browser with annoying problems

    In updated version cant find setting to switch to landscape...not enough options in settings.





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Lool

    I like it because when your usual web browser doesnt work you can use this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good. Works pretty well.

    Good. Works pretty well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good

    All i can say to describe it is good. But not great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great browser until it stopped working with facebook recently.

    It recently stopped working with Facebook. This needs to be addressed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    pretty good

    I think this browser is a bit faster than the one that came with my Nook Color. It's easy to use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Help

    How do you get it out of full screen mode?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Better than default

    I hated the default browser and was looking for an upgrade. This was perfect. Faster, better page navigation, and if I had an SD card, Im sure the gestures would come in helpful. But the pages close randomly, and the keyboard doesnt always pop up. It would be worth a dollar, but its free! Well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    A Very Capable Browser - Easy To Gesture

    A very good browser on the Nook. The latest version of the software forces the user to use the gesture based system for such simple tasks as saving a web page, or adding a bookmark. In the previous version of the software such tasks were simple choices on a menu, simple to execute without much fuss. Now the gesture based system basically adds additional steps and complexity. Since the Nook has neither a microphone or a camera - the voice command portion of the are useless, however the software does not stop trying to access such features. Still basically a good program, and a step-up from the Nook suppled browser.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Pretty good, but...

    Don't get me wrong, I love this browser on my Nook, but I think the Speed Dial could be rewritten to use the whole screen. As it is now, you run out of slots after using only somewhere around a quarter of the screen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Very nice Chrome-based browser.

    This browser is a very nice alternative to Google Chrome for mobilw devices. Why the Nook doesn't have access to the world's best web browser is beyond me, but this app makes for a suitable alternative. Not quite as good as the real deal, but better than the default browser in most ways.

    Sure, there are some glitches here and there, but these are surprisingly few and far between for a free app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Good

    I thing this app is great but I can get the drawing thing to work

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good: This is the best mobile web browser I have used. It is far

    Good: This is the best mobile web browser I have used. It is far better than the default Nook browser. Faster, smoother, more features (tabs, gestures, more). I also use Dolphin on my Android smartphone from AT&T - I even prefer it over Firefox. Also on my smartphone, i am able to install add-ons to extend the usefulness to really take advantage of Dolpin's power. Finally, it's free.

    Bad: Barnes & Noble does NOT allow access to the wide range of add-ons available for Dolphin. I have not seen anything that explains WHY! With selected add-ons, Dolphin is far more useful on my smartphone than on the Nook Color. That's really B&N's problem instead of a problem with Dolphin, but until it is fixed it is only a 4-star app on the Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great.. until....

    When i girdt started using this app it was working great, but after a while it would lose the back button which would make me have to click my actual nook button. It would begin to load slow, and sometimes not even load at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    The Best Mobile Device Internet Browsing App on the Market.

    This is the best & most intuitive internet browser ever for mobile devices. With tabbed browsing, the ability to call-up any action by drawing a gesture on the screen (which is a very responsive feature), this app is almost flawless & defeats the Nook's default browser in all areas. However, I do wish that the Add-Ons would work on the Nook; up to now I think it's only applicable to phones. Maybe a future update will do...?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Changed my Nook to be even Better

    This browser is 1000 times better than the standard browser built into thr Nook. It is robust and flexible. So much more user friendly. You will browse the net, read fscebook, email, ect with ease!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    D

    It works buts as it gets older its slower

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Tablet Version 7.2 Is Great Browser; Much Better than Tablet built-in

    Rarely freezes, but when it does, simply closing and re-opening solves that problem. Tabs are great. Gestures are neat, though I don't use them often. Version 7.2 "select text" doesn't quite work, but that's minor. Occassionally bombs, but not often, and is easily re-started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Dolphin Browser

    The dolphin browser is by far better than the nook browser with the exception of two things. 1: you can't search up videos on YouTube after a while. 2: there is no spot to type in adresses for websites, so you have to use the bookmarked websites. If anyone thinks what is going on with my DolphinBrowser is odd, please help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great browser

    Fast and stable browser. Can switch to "desktop"mode to get around some websitrs that limit mobile devices. Only downside is I know that add ons in the full market are useful, and the full market has a newer version, but they are not available for the nook... yet....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7