BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dolphin Browser HD 10.2.0

Average Rating 4
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

227 out of 261 people found this review helpful.

Tremendous browser!

I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better...
I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better apps every month or so and I appreciate that. Please consider offering Lets Create Pottery by Infinite Dreams and Cut the Rope and other popular apps. Good job!

posted by 2955316 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

138 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

Good...But needs some development LUUUUUV

This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everyth...
This browser is, functionally, much better than the stock browser. But...

1) This browser is run through GOOGLE? If you like your privacy and try to stay out of the GOOGLE monster's tentacles...you need to keep looking for another browser. BIG RED FLAG that everything you do on your nook is being tracked and recorded by Google, HLS! and other agencies if you use this browser. Look up Google's privacy policy if you want to know more.

2) I bought a Nook tablet because I'm vision impared. I can blow MOST things up big enough to read them But...some Web pages seemed locked in this tinsy tiny font that I can' t enlarge. I seems to happen on blog sites alot. VERY FRUSTRATING!

3) I've been out to the Dolphin site to see if I could get an add-on for the font issue mentioned above. All KINDS of cool and useful add-on available...Just not compatible for the Nooks. All the cool kids get to play with the fun toys but not us Nookies. What's up with that??? You're teasing us, right? Throw a little more meat on the bone, Dudes!

4) I like the "speed dial" feature but it is too limited in the number of sites it will let you save there. Need to add AT LEAST enough spots to fill the screen. I think, right now, it gives you only 5 or 6 sites. We want MORE! ..Please?

5) BOOKMARKS- nice you can save them but there are only two folders you can use to try and organize them. I'd like to be able to add unlimited folder that I name what I want to call them. Not just "bookmarks" and "more bookmarks." Uhhh...those dont help much. Hahaha...

All that said, I'd give this browser good marks but not great marks. The developer is on the right track but they have lots of work to do to make it a winner.

posted by 10702491 on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Tremendous browser!

    I love this browser! It is fast, reliable, and very stable. It uses tab browsing and has flash video. It also has gestures which I haven't had time to use much yet. I want to thank the Barnes and Nobles developers for this browser. They have been offering new and better apps every month or so and I appreciate that. Please consider offering Lets Create Pottery by Infinite Dreams and Cut the Rope and other popular apps. Good job!

    227 out of 261 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    One of the best mobile browsers

    Dolphin is fast, stable, and supports all sorts of great things like tabbed browsing. The gesture navigation system (which is completely) optional, has a little bit of a learning curve, but once you master it web browsing is an even better experience. Heartily recommended.

    95 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    My New Default Browser

    This is by far the best browser for the NC thus far. Having your favorites on the side bar means they are always available, and you don't have to leave your current webpage to get to them. Gestures makes moving around webpages a snap (once you learn the gestures); you can also create your own.

    Unlike what someone else posted, there is a way to import your bookmarks. There is also the ability to have folders for your bookmarks so you can organize them for easy recall.

    Other great features: Tabs, Clearing data (history, cache . . .), having an Exit feature, it's fast, pinch zooming seems to be smoother . . . And a whole lot more. It only took a few hours of use for me to archive my other free web browser and totally ignore the stock browser. The only thing missing is the ability to be able to use addons (but that's not the browser's fault).

    85 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    5 stars

    I had trouble with using puffin because of the lack of flash but this browser is amazing. I don't think i'll ever use the stock browser for a long time. I had heard many good things about it from friends with droids and i'm glad i wasn't let down. Gestures feature is fun and unique and since i had an sd card there's no issue there. Sd card is not required to use the browser as a whole, just the "gestures." Free and great, go for it.

    62 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome! Best. Browser. Ever.

    Tabs, fast as heck, draw gestures on screen as commands for the browser, all your bookmarks just a swipe away; what more could you want?! Improves the web experience exponentially. Did I mention this is FREE? Get it right now!

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A Browser for NOOKc & t 5 STARS +

    I give this browser FIVE(5) stars despite the LACK OF ADD-ONS & THEMES... It's really that good! SMOOTH ops, Import Bookmarks from the NOOK stock browser, a quick links page ( they refer as "Speed Dial" ), topping it off with on screen input for gestures that allows quick control of page movements and browser commands. You can draw your own gestures for your personal broesing habits. You can make individual gestures for your favorite links. ( i.e. I made a gesture that looks like a "M" to quickly surf to my hotmail...) Niffty eah!!

    MAYBE! B&N will open up android market alittle more for the ADDONS? If they did, Dolphin would really rock!!cdveve

    32 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    WAY better than default browser!

    So much more functional than the browser that comes on the Nook Tablet! Tabbed browsing? Yep. Access toolbars at a flick? Got it. Best of all, I don't have to scroll to the top of the page to hit the back button, it's down at the bottom where it belongs and always there. Easy to exit, and I can clear my cache and history on the way out. Hands down, easily THE must-have browser for the Nook. And free. Did I mention free? Oh and it supports flash.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Best Browser yet

    I've used Puffin and the built in browser on the Nook and while they're not bad, I tend to run into minor yet annoying issues. With Dolphin, not only is it faster, but overall feels more 'stable' (as in, I haven't run into any problems as of yet). I also like the interface which allows me to go to Google just by drawing a 'G' on the screen. Same goes for going back or forward - just draw arrows. Overall... I love this app!

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    BEST WEB BROWSER EVER!

    Dolphin is AMAZING. It is lightning fast, has flash, tabs, and bookmarks, you can do these really cool gestures to do all sorts of actions, it has a sleek design, and best of all, it's FREE! What more could you want? I am never using the stock web browser ever again!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Yay

    We need Temple Run! Rate as good so we can get it on Nook!

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Super!

    See you later puffin and hello dolphin! This browser is blazing fast and suports flash. Barnes and Noble should make this thier default browser! GET IT! IT IS THE BEST!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Really Improves Nook Tablet Experince

    I'm so glad I got this App. You are suffering needlessly without it. I ran it thru a battery of paces and I am the one out of breath!

    Tabs are a great improvement over the native browser. The old one is history, in fact, I can't seem to find it anymore :)

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great app

    It is a great app.


    Pros:
    Fast
    Stable
    Not choppy

    Cons:
    Now it doesn't work at all.


    I hope this review helped you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Love it!

    Happy to have an almost full functioning browser. Tabs, bookmarks, copy paste urls and text. Works great on nook color. Only wish it had an add-on spell checker.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    FINALLY!!!

    So happy to finally get dolphin!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Saved me $400

    We've had a nook color for a few years, and I was ready to upgrade to a new tablet so internet browsing would be more enjoyable. While reading tablet reviews, one mentioned alternate browsers....well, a light bulb went on for me. After a quick search and comparison, I installed Dolphin. Love it! No need for a new tablet now.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Best Browser for the Nook color and Nook HDs.

    This browser is the best I have used on nook devices. I like it better than chrome, and as far as I am concerned this should be the default browser on the all nook tablets. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Probably the best Android browser

    I'd tried, on my smartphone, a number of different browsers, and settled on Dolphin as the front runner. I was pleased to see it available for the Nook, and didn't waste much time switching to Dolphin after I got my HD+. My only complaint regarding Dolphin for the Nook is that there aren't as many extensions available (in fact I'm not sure there are any). I have a few add-ons to Dolphin for my phone that I'd love to have available on the Nook, but B&N's restrictions, I guess, don't allow for that luxury. Still, I much prefer it to the native Nook/Android browser and suggest that Nook users give it a try.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Bummed

    With the new update...the sonar screen is annoyingly popping up, and I cant add any more bookmarks? I loved it before, lots better than the built in browser, but annoyed now.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Makes Nook Useable

    Browser loaded on Nook Tablet works for about three pages then the tablet needs to be rebooted. Dolphin works great, fast, and is reliable

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15