BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Domain (Domain Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Pseudo Faux Science Fun

    Paperback/Sci-Fiction: I figured I'd better get this one off the shelf because 2012 is around the corner and this is a trilogy. I really loved Alten's shark books and this one was pretty good too. Let's get the hard part over: There were some problems: 150 pages too long, slow beginning, undone loose ends. The biggest thing I did not like was the father's journal. Instead of a man, who has pretty much isolated for much of his life, seems to get saner as his journal goes on. The good parts are everything else. I liked the comic book fun of the sci-fi. It was way out there and a page turner. Just have fun with it and don't take it too seriously. The main two characters are likable. The government is conspiratorial. The aliens are evil. What else you want?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    riveting

    with 2012 coming these novel delves into the mayan myths in an entertaining and Enlightening way! Steve educated me as to the earths precession and raises the valid? how on earth did the ancient mayans have a clue about it much less align thier calender to thr precession of the earth,facsinating and a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dramatic and exciting Steve Alten has done it again.

    With romance to an epic fight scene. This book is no exeption to the rule that steve alten is a master at his work. The charachters in this book are his best charachters by far. The moment i read the prologue i was caught in an epic adventure that left you guessing the whole way. At first the present tense format was kind of annoying but after the first fifty pages i actually liked this style of writing alot. The research for this book was phenomenal. This is one of steve's best books. This book was great. It did get kind of dry at times but what book does not. This book was soooooo much better than the cheesy overdone impossible film 2012. So read this book but dont go see 2012 IT SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a must-read.

    Okay, I found this book while browsing my library--the cover caught my eye. I have always been interested in all the things that this book explains--I mean, everything: from the impact on earth by a "so-called asteroid" to the 2012 Mayan prophecy that says the human race will perish from the face of the Earth. This book had it all, thrill, drama, romance... it was truly fantastic. I re-read this book recently and enjoyed every minute of it, I will never get tired of this great book. I recommend this 100%

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    a book that was a hard book to put down and when you did you could not wait untill you picked it back up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Oh, Gan!

    Having been an avid if terrified fan of Steve's Meg series, I jumped upon this after finishing the latest of these. I DEVOURED this book, finishing just as school started back up. As Mick sped off to parts unkown, I spazzed out. 'No!', I said, 'That can't be all!? What with all the talk of evil incarnate, and destiny and twins and such!?' Well, as it turns out, I was right. While in Digital Imaging class, I was perusing Steve's site ( Which happens to be a GROSS misuse of school computers) and discovered not just a sequel, but a TRILOGY! The Good Times have returned! Huzzah!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Two-Day Read

    WOW! This book is great. Deals with ancient cultures and their lore, but it takes place in the future. It's basically about the end of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Incredible!

    If you are a archeologist in the making, if you don't agree with orthodox archeology, this book is for you! Suspenful and riviting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    STEVE ALTEN IS A GREAT WRITER

    I read constantly, and I also read all types of books. I love it when I discover writers who I didn't know about who write books that totally immerse me in the story they have written. Steve Alten is one of those writers. I first read MEG and was totally engrossed in the book so I then read Domain. Domain is as good, if not better, then MEG. If you love action, adventure, a great storyline, and believable characters then Steve Alten writes the books for you. I hated it when I had to stop reading the book and could not wait to get back to the book! I love it when I find books like that!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    awesome reading

    i read this book twice, i felt like i was right there with the characters, its mindboggling, everything seemed so real,can't wait for domain 2 if there is going to be one ,sure hope so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    Great book - read it!

    So far all of Steve Alten's books have been getting better. From Meg to the Trench to now Doman - all of these are exciting reads. Domain is like an Indiana Jones adventure with fact-based science out of a Michael Crichton book. The book is very exciting and really interesting keeps you turning the pages. Although the resolution could have been better, but was appropriate given the subject matter. Still, do yourself a favor and read Domain ( and Meg and the Trech as well)! If Crichton wrote this it would be a blockbuster and a movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    DOMAIN...AWESOME BOOK!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK,THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAD WITH IT WAS THAT I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN SO I LOST SLEEP..THIS BOOK FOR ME LEFT ME WITH WANTING THE SEQUEL NOW! DOMAIN IS A FAST PACE PAGE TURNER, WITH VERY DISCRIPTIVE CHARACTERS YOU FEEL AS IF YOU ARE FIGHTING RIGHT ALONG WITH THEM..JUST BUY THE BOOK YOU WILL SEE WHAT I MEAN!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    Another Bestseller from Steve Alten...

    After reading MEG, and The TRENCH, I could not wait for Steve Alten to release his next Novel. DOMAIN is a Sci-Fi packed thriller. Steve has put together another winner, in my opinion. DOMAIN is a HIT... From beginning to end, DOMAIN is a pleasure to read. If you are a Sci-Fi fan, you will Love DOMAIN. I caught myself believing what I was reading. It truly is, a realistic fiction novel. Steve has done his homework once again... If you have read MEG, and The Trench, you will notice Steve's writing abilities maturing a little more after each Novel. I can hardly wait for Steve Alten's next Novel, GOLIATH, which is due out in early 2002. Keep up the great work, Steve...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really good Book

    I bought this book for my husband and he loved it so I went back on line to buy the next one in the series but Resurrection is not avilible in book form. This upset my husband but the last one in the series is now out, Phobos. Anyway my husband reads all of Steve Alten's books and has never been disappointed yet. Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Excellent book

    Great mind candy. Easy read. Fun to read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    highly recommend

    full of action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Love Steve Alten and his books never seem to fail me. I recommend any and all of his books to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    He should have wrapped it while he was ahead!!

    He starts off with the beginnings of a fairly decent plot line- in terms of believability. But he seems to lose the picture and goes off the deep end - the characters engaging in more and more fantastic, unbelievble actions. They happen one after another and you eventually (or at least I) just lose interest. Parts of it- the history and archaeology- were pretty interesting. The story itself had huge credibility holes in it that, for me, were "un-patchable", making it pretty "Ho-Hum".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Highly Entertaining

    Great story with supporting details. Quick, fun, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    must read

    you may love it as much as i did. finish it so you can move on to the sequil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4