Customer Reviews for

Domestic Violets

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great

    Really liked it. Very humorous at times and a good story overall. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!

    Wow, this book is pretty amazing. I got all the way to the end before it suddenly hit me that it was written in the first person - something I tend to hate. The book is fun, witty, captivating and a page turner. Once I started I couldn't put it down, much to the chagrin of my coworker who wanted to chat.

    The book is about a middle aged man who has his mid-life crisis that brings him many woes before it all smoothes out again. His humor and thoughts make one laugh out loud while some of his antics make women roll their eyes in disgust.

    A great read! Norman does a wonderful job with the internal struggles and his opening chapter pretty much sets the stage of what is to come. I would recommend this book to anyone - including those going through or who have a husband/brother/son going through their mid-life crisis.

    I received this book by Netgalley to read and write a review. I am not required to write a good review, I am only asked to be honest after reading the entire book. This book was quite easy to praise - it is that good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Engrossing read

    This book is amazing and is deeply insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Lottie's bio, an actual bio this time

    Name: Lottie<p>Stuff and things: 18ish years old, six feet tall, and never ask a lady how much she weighs<p>Looks: Very long silvery-blonde hair with orange tips that begin after the hair leaves her feet and go on for a foot where the hair ends. Yellow eyes. Not gold, just straight-up yellow.<p>Wears: a mixture of random costumes like Luigi's outfit or a green crayon, and outfits available in X and Y like a light pink hat with the Sundae Dress thingy.<p>Personality: Considered crazy, but just random and humor-oriented. In extreme situations, she'd be the one being all brave and cr<_>ap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Book well done.

    What I enjoyed about this book, was that it had some pretty solid moments, I liked hearing a male point of view, from a male author, who is introspective, but not obsessive... a change of pace from the YA world of relationships where everyone is pretty much a stalker in the name of love.

    I felt like I was getting inside information; into a marriage, into guy thoughts. I actually felt edgy for him, when his wife put him on the spot about the cute, young woman he supervises. Or his struggles with his own impotence, and his actual perceptions about it.

    His relationship with his famous Father was interesting. His father who wasn't around for Tom's childhood, and has gone through a series of wives, is often drunk, but always charming and charismatic. The author did well bringing out all the flaws, but also the connection, you could feel the charisma, while also the disappointment that maybe he wasn't a better Father or husband.

    This book was a really smart and good read, but there were some parts that felt a little too wrapped up easily. Tom, the main character, is introspective, but sometimes lacked a little emotion. I think. I know I read emotions described aplenty, maybe I'm the one that lacked emotion, I just didn't connect on some things at a deep level with me, where I was thinking - YES! This has described humanity in a new way that has forever changed my perspective. It didn't do that...but it did make me think about things, and added some information that I can carry over from non-fiction into fiction and apply.

    I felt like I saw every character in my mind pretty clearly, with the exception of Anna his wife. There wasn't anything that made me like her or dislike her, one way or the other. Just all the other women in the book were so much more definite characters, his Father's current wife, his Mother, Katie the girl he works with, had much more depth and description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Lots of fun!

    Even though the story deals with emotionally packed subject matter, the author keeps everything rolling along at a nice pace with loads of humor. Fun reading! Great for a vacation read or a rainy day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Read it!

    Wasnt sure about 1st person story but this one works! Very modern and believable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I loved this book! In fact, I couldn't put it down. I hope he

    I loved this book! In fact, I couldn't put it down. I hope he keeps writing because this guy is hilarious. The only jarring thing for me was the casual mention of &quot;brothers&quot; a few times because it seemed obvious as I read that Tom was an only child. Don't know what that was about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    loved it

    i found this book by accident and i am really glad i did....made me laugh out loud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful first novel

    Matthew Norman's debut novel Domestic Violets is the story of a lot of things - the confusion of a failing marriage, the horrors of corporate America and a failing economy, and the struggles of living up to the bar that your talented father has set. To sum Domestic Violets up into one category, one could describe it as the story of a man's midlife crisis. As a twenty-something girl, it would seem this book may not have been for me, but that was not the case. Norman's humor, witty dialogue, and overall realness make Domestic Violets appealing to anyone with an appreciation for good, honest writing.

    Tom Violet, the novel's main character, is a man in his mid-thirties with a beautiful wife, an adorable, inquisitive young daughter, a well-paying job as a copywriter for a large company, and a father who has just won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. This may all seem ideal, but for Tom, his life is falling apart at the seams. As an aspiring writer who has just finished a five-year process of writing his own novel, Tom finds it difficult to come to grips with the fact that he is writing blurbs for a ruthless corporate business while his father is off winning prizes and moving onto his next romantic endeavor (Curtis Violet doesn't stay with one woman for too long, being a famous writer and all). In addition to this, an icy distance has formed between Tom and his wife, making it all that more difficult to push away the temptations from work that come in the form of his young, gorgeous coworker.

    Domestic Violets is written as though readers have a window into Tom's head, and his hilarious inner thoughts do not disappoint. From his feud with Greg from work (reminiscent of Jim and Dwight's funny antics on The Office) to his rocky relationship with his parents and their respective newly-separated spouses to the poignant moments when Tom realizes just how much he loves his daughter, this book is a complete take on just how hard it is for a man who has a dream on one hand and his family to support on the other. Norman's characters are endearing despite their individual faults, and it is bittersweet leaving them behind at the novel's end. Considering Domestic Violets is Norman's first novel, I can't wait to see what he cooks up next.

    Check out more reviews on the Baltimore Reads blog on wordpress!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Recommend!

    This is a great, quick read. This book was recommended to me and at first I was a bit hesitant but it's definitely worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Domesticity gone wild!

    Tom Violet is your typical office dweller. Unsatisfied with his job, he takes great pleasure in deconstructing the ridiculousness around him. But times are tough and the economy has tanked and with a wife and daughter to support, he's glad to have a job. His real dream though is to be a writer. In fact he has written a secret novel, but with his own father just winning the Pulitzer, he's hesitant to share his work. Struggling to get through the day-to-day, he finds himself attracted to a co-worker which further complicates things. Domestic Violets is a jewel of a book. It's funny, well written and honest. The characters are wonderfully developed and genuine. What I liked most about this book is that the development of the characters seemed effortless. Sometimes, when a book is humorous, even when discussing serious topics, the characters can be a bit "in your face" and obvious and that was not the case here. In each character, there existed a vulnerability; a sweet dose of self-doubt that made these characters very likable. Although there was one moment were I questioned the self-deprecating humor, in the end I found myself loving Tom Violet. He may be the guy who throws paper airplanes your way when the board meeting goes stale, but he's a good guy. The kind of guy you want as a husband or a father. I thoroughly enjoyed following him around for 350+ pages and was a little sad when I finished reading it. In summary, Domestic Violets is a book that will appeal to many readers, young, old, employed or not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1