Customer Reviews for

Domestic Violets

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    Tom Violet has problems. He has erectile disfunction, a mind-numbing job he hates, an arch-nemesis who'd love nothing better than to have Tom fired, a wife who he thinks is having an affair, a novel in his desk drawer that nobody apparently wants to read, a crush on his beautiful and too-young coworker, a father who's just won the Pulitzer and is getting yet another divorce, and a dog with acute anxiety. Anybody would go off the deep end, which Tom does, with true Violet flare.

    When I started reading this book I immediately thought that the beginning did not bode well - the protagonist, Tom Violet, kept going on and on about his erectile disfunction in the most descriptive fashion and I just could not imagine reading a whole book of that. Tom did prove to be a funny guy with an off-beat sense of humor and a hilarious comeback for whatever life throws at him and ED soon stepped off the center stage so I kept reading. In no time at all Norman charmed me with all the characters in Tom's life - his beautiful and intelligent wife, his budding artist daughter, his excitable dog, his brilliant philandering father, his too-good-looking subordinate, his agent and even his mental mother-in-law. They are all so alive and so far from being cliché that it's impossible to remain indifferent especially since they all do something unexpected or funny on a regular basis and the story never gets boring.
    While there is a lot of humor in this book it's not a literary romp. Things are never that simple in the Violet family and while their relationship with the truth has always been touch-and-go, as Tom himself admits, they make it work because they love each other. The value of family is up-front and center here and all the funny parts aside it's a thoughtful and thought-provoking book that is mainly about Tom's relationship with his father and it had me reeling on a number of occasions from Tom's actions and their consequences.
    The only thing that was a bit off for me is the ending. It seemed long with a number of instances when the story could have ended right then and there and wouldn't have been any less satisfying. There was even that "the end" type finality to the paragraphs and yet Norman kept going, wrapping everything up neatly and giving us a promise of a happy future for the Violets despite all the difficulties. Then again, there's nothing wrong with that, is there?
    This is a very good debut novel, well-written, funny but not slapstick, profane but not vulgar, sad but not depressing, and best of all when I turned the last page I was smiling. A word of caution: it is most definitely not appropriate for younger audiences.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Sam bio

    Gender male.
    Sstuffff hard worker pokemon xearneas lev twenty genski genesect lev one hundred vicski victini lev one hundred.
    Also fast runner. Clothing is the same as the guy in digimon with agumon. Catchprase is whats crackalackin yo?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Jocelyn Biography

    My name is Jocelyn Saravia. I am twevle years old. I new traine here. My persontiky is happy and serious. I am also dermtined person. I am girl. I waer a hat that said Pokemon. And i wear a black shirt and red jacker. My pantis black leggings. My pokemon is chikorita. Her nam is Leafy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Zelda's Bio

    ((Little late for this)) Name:Hatsune Zelda ((in Japanese order))| | Age:15| |Looks:Blue hair((it will change, hses always dying it)), black Kingdom Hearts tank top, black jeans with aqua circles at the flares. She sometimes wears her sxhool uniform which consists of a gray blazer, black and aqua skirt, aqua d gray stripped thigh high socks and a aqua and black headband. For each outfit she wears her signature Black Orsis.| |History:Zelda was adopted at the age of the 3. She had a 2 brothers. One was murdered. Her only surviving brother is Hatsune Link((again in Japanese order)). She doesnt know where she was born. She has no idea who her parents were. And becasue of this she went on a killing rampage which got her sent of to a mental hospital. She stayed there for awhile then came back and started to listen to voiced in her head.| |Personality:"Get to know me"| |Theme song(s) I Hear Voices, InSaNiTy, Bad End Night, Love is War, Animal I Have Become

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Glaceon

    Im a female glaceon named snow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Darkrai & co

    U all know darkrai and lugia and zorua and ditto, right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Pokemon girls bio

    Real name: Rebecca Kimm Night. Looks: Glossy, waist-length, blond hair with glossy black and shiny silver streaks. Pretty silver eyes with mascara. Heart shaped face. Small nose. Light skin. Sparkly lip gloss. Green t-shirt with pokeball on it and a low v-neck. Very short blue skirt that goes down almost to mid-thigh. Torquoise boots that go up to right below the knee. Jean jacket that is died magenta. Personality: usually sweet, but can sometimes come up as a snotty attitude. Loves: her pokemon, reading, drawing(and shes really good at it), fighting for whats right, helping others, food, and dreaming about how she could one day make the world a peaceful one. Hates: people with evil hearts( even though she once saved a team galactic member from an avalanche), war, pokemon getting hurt or controlled, and the memory of when her tyranitar died. Pokemon: mew, charizard, suicune, luxray, celebi, ninetails, salamence, gardevoir, and the rest are in her pc at her dorm. She has a total of 200 pokemon, all lv.100s. Crush: NOT TELLING!!! History:NOT TELLING Want more info, just ask!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    To larvitar

    Dufuq not even tyrantiar at level 80 reaches that high

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Keldeo

    Moooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Xernes bio

    You all know me im a legendary but still thunderbolt and moonblast are my fav attacks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Snorlax's bio

    YOU KNOW FLIPPIN' SNORLAX! <br>
    Other: Fat; knows Splash, Cut, and Tackle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Ayame's bio

    Name:Ayame;Gender:Female;Age:15((almost 16));Height:5'6";Wieght:More than she looks;Looks:Black wavy hair that goes right below her shoulders,Dark green eyes,light brown tiny freckles spread right above her nose but below her eyes,Pale skin,A black t-shirt,A black sweater with tiny white fluff at the edge of the sleeves and hood and bottom of the jacket,Dark grey jeans,Black white and grey tenni-shoes;Pokemon:Vulpix-female-,Evee-female-,Pidgeotto-Male-,Poocheyana-Male-,Houndoom-Male-,Leavanny-Female-,Roserade-Female-,Roselia-Female-,Kirlia-Female-,Gardivour-Male-,Bisharp-Male-,Seaking-Female-,Arcinine-Male-,Rapidash-Female-,Dragonite-Male-,Rhydon-Male-,Cubone-Female-,Starmie-Female-,Gyrarados-Male-,Flareon-Male-,Dragonair-Female-,Aggron-Male-,Delacatty-Female-,Milotic-Female-,Zoroark-Male-,Duskclops-Male-,Pachirisu-Female-,Buneary-Female-,Glaceon-Female-;Region:Johto((Born in Johto but traveled));Crush:None;Relationship:Single pringle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Alecs bio

    Name:Alec. Gender: &male. Age: 16. Looks: Tall blonde and grey eyes dimples and blue jacket black shirt and red cap. Current pokemanz: Fenniken named Dellfox, shiny pichu.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Octavia's Thousandth Update.

    Name: Octavia Autumn Willis <p>
    Age: I turn 11 in December, thank you very much <p>
    Gender: Do you know any guy named Octavia? <p>
    Appearance: Tall, with a jet-black ponytail and creepy gold eyes. Usually holds a Master Ball in one hand. <p>
    Clothes: It depends. When cosplaying, I'll be genderbent Link or Fluttershy or something. When in normal clothes, I wear the black Logo Cap, brown Bowneck Blouse or whatever it's called, black skinny jeans, and black boots. All from Pokemon X. <p>
    Personality: Weird and random. Meet me and figure out the rest. <p>
    Pokemon and random facts about them: Luna, my lv. 82 Xerneas, who loves Spice PokePuffs. Spitfire, my lv. 87 male Delphox, whose ear-fluff is reviving if you touch it. Squee, my lv. 84 male Blastoise, who hates to be poked. Gardevoir, my lv. 43 female Gardevoir, who loves me to the bottom of her heart. Celest, my lv. 43 female Ampharos, who likes neck rubs. And Lily, my lv. 72 male Pidgeot, who likes to run better than he likes to fly. <p>
    Other: Nope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Kinera and co. bio GET READY FOR ANOTHER UPDATE!

    Name: (FACENOOK) (Kinera for those who can't read headings)<p>Gender: &female<p>Age: 15<p>Appearance: Dark brown hair and eyes, leather jacket with casual tee under it, blue jeans, sc<_>ar on arm<p>History: IT'S SO LONG I DON'T FEEL LIKE TYPING IT!<p>Team: Illux (Zorark &male), Ace (white Staraptor &male), Queen (Jellicent &female), Chomper (Mawile &female), Yin (Pangoro &male), Rocky (Golem &male)<p>Other: Ask!<p>***<p>Name: Dora<p>Gender: How many guys do you know are called "Dora"? EXACTLY.<p>Age: 15<p>Appearance: See orre res 2!<p>History: Unlike her childhood friend, Kinera, Dora didn't become a Trainer. Instead, she became a scientist at the Pokemon Lab HQ in Orre. Though that doesn't mean she doesn't have any Pokemon.<p>Team: Dragonite &female , Porygon-Z, Clefable &female , Gothitelle &female , Ampharos &female , Electrode<p>Other: Ask.<p>***<p>If you have played "Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness", you know Michael. Only difference is that he's now 17.<p>Team: Jolteon &male , Pidgeot &male , Aggron &male , Walrein &male , Ursaring &male , Zapdos

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Kaitlin

    My bio is at camp b.<br>
    Add on.<br>
    Pokemon; absol. Typhlosion. Staraptor. Moltres. Articuno. Milotic. Houndoom. Luxray. Lucario. Weavil. Arcanine. Ninetails. And zorua

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Flight

    I'M LOCKED OUT OF RES 1 ON THIS NOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Mark's New and improved v9.7.0 Bio

    Name: Mark. Age: 19. Gender: Male. Height: 6' 11". Weight: No. Just no. Clothing: A black body suit. Looks: Muscular and tan with jet black hair and eyes that change from a deep brown to a striking violet. History: He was born in Lavender Town and possesses many paranormal powers. His parents died when he was young and he was raised by a Zoroark from which he learned to talk to pokemon. Love Life: Currently unattached but has his eye on a certain girl ;). Anything else ask me. (NOTE: Has a starange connection to dragons and loves tea and jaffa cakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    &stars

    &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3