Customer Reviews for

Don Quixote (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended.

Don Quixote belongs in the top 10 of all book lists. My only quibble with the Barnes & Noble Classics Nook version is that, while most beautifully done, it uses over 30 Mb of memory, so I will search for another version that uses less to keep on my Nook since I have a l...
Don Quixote belongs in the top 10 of all book lists. My only quibble with the Barnes & Noble Classics Nook version is that, while most beautifully done, it uses over 30 Mb of memory, so I will search for another version that uses less to keep on my Nook since I have a large and rapidlly growing e-book library.

posted by the_curious_reader on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Humorous book

Don Quixote is a humorous tale of a warrior who is somewhat an imbicile, and his adventures to become an all powerful soldier. In the beginning, he actual uses a slab of cardboard as a helmet :)

posted by EmmaChampion on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly recommended

    It is just as good as it was the first time I read it many years ago!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    A must for every one. Young or old.

    Royalty of the time would observe laughter and say: Either they have lost their minds or have just read Don Quixote. I intend re-reading at least once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Pretty funny :)

    I am on page 83 and its just so funny! He is such an idiot haha claiming to be a night, calling prostitutes beautiful women, an a cardboard helmet! This is a pretty entertainin book so far but i want to know, is the original book much different?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Don Quixote

    Great book. It takes some getting used to though, the diction isnt exactly modern. At over a thousand pages, it takes some dedication to finish...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    I loved it!

    Cervantes is difficult to read without some helpful notations. Both from a translation difference and a time period difference. Fortunately, this B&N version has the notations you need to both read and enjoy the story to its fullest. Before now, I tried reading Don Quixote and was never was able to finish it. Yes, it is a long read. But with the notations in this version, it is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    What a wonderful story about perseverance in the face of the imp

    What a wonderful story about perseverance in the face of the impossible. Makes me consider the futility of material existence and chasing after phantoms of wealth or prestige. Like all classics, this book speaks to our time (and all times).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Slight formatting

    I love this book, but there are some formatting issues here and there (a new paragraph starts in the middle of a sentence, but continues just as if nothing happened.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    A favorite classic

    Liked this the first time I read it ... like Sancho Panza better than the Don though! (Why are the sidekicks smarter and more interesting than the "stars"?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Great classic read

    The book Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra is a book about a man whose dream is to become a knight. This is hard for him because he never understands what a knight really has to do. His whole fantasy of what to do is from what he read from all of his books. The world he lives in is normally one that is a lot different from all the other characters, also a little crazy. For him the journey into knighthood starts by taking his old family armor and cleaning it up a little so that he can use it. Near the start of the book he meets a man name Sancho Panza who accompanies him. Sense Don Quixote lives in more of a fantasy world then the real world it normally ends up leaving Sancho with more problems that he has to deal with. Throughout the book you meet more characters on the journeys. "So he drew near to the near inn (which he thought was a castle), and at a short distance from it he halted Rozinante, expecting some dwarf would mount the battlements". This gets a little confusing from the main story of the book because every character that you meet has their own story and all the stories of each person are explained. Sense this happens a lot it can distract you from the main point of the story. Some of the journeys in this book are Quixote attacking some things that aren¿t really what he thinks they are. Some examples in the book of this are when he attacks a windmill because he thinks it is a troll and twice he attacks monks. One time when he attacks two monks with a carriage that has a girl in it because he thinks that they are capturing a princess and he wants to rescue her. The books make it so he can't become a great knight. At one point of the story he tries to make a potion that would heal him but ends up making him insanely ill. He also believes that everyone is going to follow their word for example after he finds a kid and a man arguing about the kid never getting paid and not wanting to work anymore the man says "Come here, my boy; want to pay you what I owe you in accordance with the commands of that undoer wrongs". Later in the book the boy comes back in the story and talks to Quixote about what happens once he left the farm. I liked this book because it's an older book that takes place in the middle ages. The Author was good at describing the sense and giving you a clear view of what is going on. The only thing that I didn't like about the book was when he tells you the stories of other people because it during their story you also need to remember what the main story of the book is through out the time of the other story. What I learned from this book is to keep working for your dreams no matter how it works out and don't let failure bring you down. Don's dream was to become a knight and even though it didn't work out he still kept trying to make it happen. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a good read on a higher level book. This was a great book and explained everything that happens very clear and the changes in the story which makes it harder to follow at some points.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Great classic novel

    The book Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra translated by Walter Starkie is a book about a man whose dream is to become a knight. This is hard for him because he never understands what a knight really has to do. His whole fantasy of what to do is from what he read from all of his books. The world he lives in is normally one that is a lot different from all the other character, also a little crazy. For him the journey into knighthood starts by taking his old family armor and cleaning it up a little so that he can use it. Near the start of the book he meets a man name Sancho Panza who accompanies him.
    Sense Don Quixote lives in more of a fantasy world then the real world it normally ends up leaving Sancho with more problems that he has to deal with. Throughout the book you meet more characters on the journeys. "So he drew near to the near inn (which he thought was a castle), and at a short distance from it he halted Rozinante, expecting some dwarf would mount the battlements". This gets a little confusing from the main story of the book because every character that you meet has their own story and all the stories of each person are explained. Sense this happens a lot it can distract you from the main point of the story.
    Some of the journeys in this book are Quixote attacking some things that aren't really what he thinks they are. Some examples in the book of this are when he attacks a windmill because he thinks it is a troll and twice he attacks monks. One time when he attacks a monk their are two of them and a girl in the back and he thinks that they are capturing a princess and he wants to rescue her. The books make it so he can't become a great knight. At one point of the story he tries to make a potion that would heal him but ends up making him insanely ill. He also believes that everyone is going to follow their word for example after he finds a kid and a man arguing about the kid never getting paid and not wanting to work anymore the man says "Come here, my boy; want to pay you what i owe you in accordance with the commands of that undoer wrongs". Later in the book the boy comes back in the story and talks to Quixote about what happens once he left the farm.
    I liked this book because it's an older book that takes place in the middle ages. The Author was good at describing the sense and giving you a clear view of what is going on. The only thing that i didn't like about the book was when he tells you the stories of other people because it during their story you also need to remember what the main story of the book is through out the time of the other story. What i learned from this book is to keep working for your dreams no matter how it works out and don't let failure bring you down. Don's dream was to become a knight and even though it didn't work out he still kept trying to make it happen. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a good read on a higher level book. This was a great book and explained everything that happens very clear and the changes in the story makes it harder to follow at some points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Great Read

    still a great read. downloaded on my nook so that my daughter could enjoy it. Ron Houston

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3