Customer Reviews for

Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    Good First Book

    When I first started the book, I wasn't sure it was for me, I even considered returning the next two books in the series, but I hung in there and it was worth it. Loved Casey Daniels sarcasm and humor and the fact the Pepper acknowledged all of her kookie issues, but kept on keeping on. The last third of the book really held my attention and now I can't wait to read more about Quinn and The Brain Man...especially the Brain Man...no wait, Quinn...no wait...anyway, I plan to crack open the next book this evening. Other review writers, PLEASE, don't tell actual story details, especially not the ending. It ruins it for those still deciding whether or not to read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don Of the Dead is a fun read

    Whenever I find a new author whose books I want to read, I always pick the first book in the series. Which was the reason for picking "Don Of The Dead", the first in the Pepper Martin series.
    I was impressed. This is a fun book to read. I really like the main character, Pepper Martin. She's smart, witty but a bit clumsy, which is how she ends up with The Don, Gus Scarpetti. Pepper sees dead people and Gus is a murdered Mafia Don who wants her help. Gus makes the story, he adds the mystery and the reason for Pepper's motivation in solving his murder. I love some of the twists that were added, especially to Pepper's love life. I enjoyed this book so much, that I plan to purchase the rest of the series. This is the perfect book for a summer read or for snowy days, or just for fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing Spirits

    "Don of the Dead" is the first book in a series by Casey Daniels. It's in first person, and it's hilarious.

    Pepper Martin is the only tour guide at the Garden View cemetary. It is her job to inform tourists all about the "residents" at Garden View. One of the most famous being Gus Scarpetti, a mobster who was gunned down 30 years ago. Pepper hit her head against his mausoleum a week or two ago and now she can see him! And he has a favor to ask.

    His murder was never solved and now he wants Pepper to solve the mystery. The whole book is funny and light. There's a lot of mob speak and Gus, despite being a mobster, is a real gentelman and you'll become attached to him! This is a great book and I can't wait to get to the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Good idea for a book. I think Casey and Charlaine Harris should

    Good idea for a book. I think Casey and Charlaine Harris should get together and introduce there Pepper and Harper Connelly to each other and see what they can come up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Fun read

    I enjoyed the quirkiness. It was a fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    So far, l've read the first two books in this series. While I f

    So far, l've read the first two books in this series. While I find Pepper to be funny and the plots to be interesting, I'm reluctant to get the next book, as I find that Pepper's character isn't progressing much. I'm not a fan of characters that are almost totally self-centered. They're entertaining for a couple of books, but then they become so predictable that I begin to lose interest. I like characters that learn from what happens to them, not ones who constantly whine about how unfair life is and act like they don't have a clue about the world around them; which to me, at least, pretty much sums up Pepper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Definite recommend

    Really enjoyed this book and will read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Funny

    This is the first book in a series about a cemetary tour guide. She trips and hits her head on a tombstone and this causes her to be able to see and communicate with the dead. They always want her to help them out in one way or another. This debut novel is witty at times, especially the title, and is my favorite of the series (I sill have two more books to go).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    good stuff

    I didn't think i would enjoy reading this when i first started it. But it picks up rather nicely. Its not nice to know who done it until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Enjoyed the Book

    A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tag of approval!!

    I enjoyed this paranormal cozy! Ghosts, mob, and a sassy girl all in one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Fun read! You'll enjoy Pepper Martin!

    Fun, quirky, flirty, pretty and smart -- this was a very enjoyable lighthearted read. Pepper is someone I would love to have as a friend and the rest of the cast of characters were a great fit. The story kept me interested and entertained and I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    very relaxing read

    I enjoyed reading this book and continuing on with the series following. It isn't one of those stories that keeps you at the edge of your seat, but it does contain quite a few good laughs and decent mystery. Easy to read, and a book I enjoyed reading. Like Casey Daniel's writing style and character she has created with Pepper Martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Mafia: Where Was The Reality There?

    This book was very enjoyable, I do admit. I loved how everything Pepper Martin (heroine of the book) brought everything together at the end of the story. It made the plot less confusing, as it was hard to follow Pepper's train of thought. Not that that was a bad thing; it made you wonder excitedly what was going to happen next and kept you hooked.
    But the way the mafia was strung in there was unrealistic. Oh, sure, they would act the way they acted in this book, but if there is ONE thing i learned about the mafia, it is that they DON'T fail. If they are out to get somebody, it is doom for the victim. No cops (especially godlike ones) will miraculously come in at the last second and prevent the big scary beefy guy from snapping your neck. And even if that DID happen, what is the cop going to do all by himself?? Shout "BEGONE! OR I'LL HURT YOU!" and magically gain strength and take the trained muscular mafia guy (who also has a couple guns and a knife handy) down? I don't think so.
    Now let me just point something out here: so you're attractive, you used to be rich so you have alot of nice things, and you are smart, right? Well, that's not going to help you when you face a mafia don. They're are not going to ask you out. They are more likely to check you out a little bit, realize you know too much, and send hitmen after you. Bye-bye, chic. So much for getting by on good looks, eh? Welcome to the real world.
    Okay, so you're reading this, and you're probably thinking: how much reality does this idiot WANT? The story's heroine talks to dead people, for goodness sake.
    You know what?? what PROOF do you have that people don't talk to ghosts? huh? Show me. That's what I thought. So the book is fiction, but the mafia part? Pretty realistic, if you want my opinion. Except for what I previously pointed out. Thank you.
    If you liked this book, I recommend the second book (yes, it is a series). But if you want the REAL deal about the mafia, I recommend The Godfather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    nice new turn on the paranormal mystery find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don of the Dead

    Although there are some slow points in the book, overall it was a great book. Easy read with a good plot. The characters were well developed and I enjoyed reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Diamond in the Rough

    I am an avid reader of quirky mysteries that contain elements of the unknown and 'Don of the Dead' fits the bill perfectly!! Right from page one Daniels pulls you in with her heroine Pepper Martin who, by all accounts, isn't the world's greatest slouth, but is one amazing woman due to her ability to see and chit chat with the dead. This is definatley not a book to pass by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Great Read

    This is one of those great little surprises. I wasn't expecting this series to be as good as it has been. Need a little get away novel this is perfect for you. If you love the Abby Cooper series you will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Perfect !!!!

    I truly loved this book!!! Pepper is awesome & I could not get enough of her ghost - Gus. This was such a fun read. Pick it up - you won't regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    This one is just a great read!

    As soon as I picked up this book, I could feel that it was going to be entertaining. You really get into the characters very quickly. It's the kind of book that you like from the first page, and can't wait to see what is going to happen next. I hope Ms. Daniels is working on the next one, because I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4