Customer Reviews for

Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don Of the Dead is a fun read

    Whenever I find a new author whose books I want to read, I always pick the first book in the series. Which was the reason for picking "Don Of The Dead", the first in the Pepper Martin series.
    I was impressed. This is a fun book to read. I really like the main character, Pepper Martin. She's smart, witty but a bit clumsy, which is how she ends up with The Don, Gus Scarpetti. Pepper sees dead people and Gus is a murdered Mafia Don who wants her help. Gus makes the story, he adds the mystery and the reason for Pepper's motivation in solving his murder. I love some of the twists that were added, especially to Pepper's love life. I enjoyed this book so much, that I plan to purchase the rest of the series. This is the perfect book for a summer read or for snowy days, or just for fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing Spirits

    "Don of the Dead" is the first book in a series by Casey Daniels. It's in first person, and it's hilarious.

    Pepper Martin is the only tour guide at the Garden View cemetary. It is her job to inform tourists all about the "residents" at Garden View. One of the most famous being Gus Scarpetti, a mobster who was gunned down 30 years ago. Pepper hit her head against his mausoleum a week or two ago and now she can see him! And he has a favor to ask.

    His murder was never solved and now he wants Pepper to solve the mystery. The whole book is funny and light. There's a lot of mob speak and Gus, despite being a mobster, is a real gentelman and you'll become attached to him! This is a great book and I can't wait to get to the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Fun read

    I enjoyed the quirkiness. It was a fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tag of approval!!

    I enjoyed this paranormal cozy! Ghosts, mob, and a sassy girl all in one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Fun read! You'll enjoy Pepper Martin!

    Fun, quirky, flirty, pretty and smart -- this was a very enjoyable lighthearted read. Pepper is someone I would love to have as a friend and the rest of the cast of characters were a great fit. The story kept me interested and entertained and I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    nice new turn on the paranormal mystery find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don of the Dead

    Although there are some slow points in the book, overall it was a great book. Easy read with a good plot. The characters were well developed and I enjoyed reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Diamond in the Rough

    I am an avid reader of quirky mysteries that contain elements of the unknown and 'Don of the Dead' fits the bill perfectly!! Right from page one Daniels pulls you in with her heroine Pepper Martin who, by all accounts, isn't the world's greatest slouth, but is one amazing woman due to her ability to see and chit chat with the dead. This is definatley not a book to pass by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Great Read

    This is one of those great little surprises. I wasn't expecting this series to be as good as it has been. Need a little get away novel this is perfect for you. If you love the Abby Cooper series you will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Perfect !!!!

    I truly loved this book!!! Pepper is awesome & I could not get enough of her ghost - Gus. This was such a fun read. Pick it up - you won't regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    This one is just a great read!

    As soon as I picked up this book, I could feel that it was going to be entertaining. You really get into the characters very quickly. It's the kind of book that you like from the first page, and can't wait to see what is going to happen next. I hope Ms. Daniels is working on the next one, because I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong mystery that fans of chick lit cozies from the grave will want to read

    Three decades ago in Cleveland someone killed crime kingpin Gus Scarpetti, but no one was ever caught. Thus the Scarpetti murder is a cold case that no one cares to revisit as the cops assume one wise guy murdered a not so wise guy.------------- Pepper Martin provides tours of local cemeteries a position that she looks forward to leaving once she scores a job at a fashionable department store like Saks. When she trips while walking in a cemetery, she bangs her head against Gus's mausoleum. This leads to her ability to communicate with Gus worse she can see his ghost. He provides an offer she cannot refuse as he demands she investigate his murder or he will haunt her forever going so far as entering the women¿s dressing room at Saks.---------------- DON OF THE DEAD is an engaging paranormal romantic mystery that initially lacks pepper, but once the heroine bangs her head, the story line explodes into a terrific amateur sleuth whodunit. The beleaguered heroine and the likable ghostly Gus make a fine pairing though ironically she is the less substantive member of their team. In her debut Casey Daniels provides a strong mystery that fans of chick lit cozies from the grave will want to read.----------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2