Customer Reviews for

Don't Bargain with the Devil (School for Heiresses Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A few steamy seductions just don't give a lift to this fifth book in the School for Heiresses Series. Nor does its operatic plot: kidnapping a child; lost heiress; identifying birthmark, et al.

    Lucinda (Lucy) Seton, adopted daughter of a Scottish colonel and alumna of the Academy, is helping out at Mrs. Harris's school, which has fallen on some hard times. When rumors that the adjacent property may be sold for a pleasure garden, she is determined to prevent it. The prospective owner is one Diego Montalvo, a magnetic magician (thief? scoundrel?). But the purchase of the property is a subterfuge; Diego has been looking for a missing Spanish heiress who has that birthmark on her thigh. In exchange for taking her back to Spain to her grandfather, Diego will recover his family's property. Sparks fly between Lucy and Diego, enough to divert each of them from their goals. Yes, Lucy is the missing heiress; no, Diego is not a devil, but an honorable man; yes, the story of Lucy's adoption conceals murky dealings, and yes, all's well in the end. But it's neither a compelling nor an interesting story. (The letters between Mrs. Harris and "cousin" Michael that start each chapter reveal a serious falling out. We seem to be nearer to finding out who he is.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good Read

    Sabrina Jeffries' School for Heiresses Series has not been a dissapointment. She is a talented author; I enjoyed reading the series in book order and can't wait to read #6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sketchy Start

    This one started off rocky for me but got better in the middle. In the end I did really like Lucy and Diego. Not too shabby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Different and fun!

    Really liked it! It was fun to see a Spanish setting, since you don't usually get that in Regencies. I loved the charming hero and the spitfire heroine. They were a great pair, and the plot was compelling, as always!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Bargain With The Devil

    The future of Charlotte Harris's School for Heiresses is in question when a Spaniard moves into the estate next door. He plans on running a pleasure garden. Lucinda Seton plans on stopping it, but she doesn't know that the Spaniard is none other than the famous Diego Montalvo. Diego only says that he wants to build a pleasure garden, but his real reason on moving next door to the school is, Diego has been searching for the granddaughter of the Marques, who has promised to give Diego his ancestral estate back.
    This was an enjoyable book I liked Lucy and Diego and I liked the primus of a young girl being adopted by her natural father, but not knowing it. Always believing that he had adopted her out of the goodness of his heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book In the Series

    If you like the first 4 novels in this series, you will definitely like this one. Very good. Plot was very different from other romance, historic novels I've read recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A fast read

    A nice read. You get into their lives quickley and it sets up for the next book nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book is fantastic as are all of The Scool for Heiress's series. I have read Sabrina Jeffries for years and she is one of my favorite authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fun historical

    In 1824 famous illusionist Diego Montalvo plans to convert some property, if he can purchase it, into a pleasure garden. He is unconcerned that next door is The School for Heiresses as he figures the students, faculty and owner Charlotte Harris would learn something useful by being peeping Thomasina.

    Teacher Lucinda Seton plans to prevent him from putting a scandalous edifice next to the school though she is not sure how to stop him. Actually, he has no interest in the estate or in building a house of pleasure. Instead he has used that as a ploy to get close to Lucinda to determine if she is the granddaughter of a Spanish nobleman; in return for bringing home the heiress, he will regain his family's lost property. To prove she is who he thinks he is Diego must seduce Lucinda in order see if she has a special birthmark on her body. As he plays master magician she proves to be his enchantress when they fall in love. However, he knows when she learns the truth about his mission she will flee back to England while he demands she remain in Spain.

    The latest School for Heiresses late Regency romance (see LET SLEEPING DOS LIE, BEWARE A SCOT'S REVENGE and NEVER SEDUCE A SCOUNDREL) contains a terrific early premise with the rogue proclaiming his plan. His scheme places the school in jeopardy as zoning codes probably do not exist or if some do they are very ineffective. The story line takes a twist into more traditional historical themes of falling in love with the lost heiress the hero finds but is kept refreshed by his original ploy. Sabrina Jeffries provides quite an education for her fans with this charmer.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2