Customer Reviews for

Don't Be That Girl: A Guide to Finding the Confident, Rational Girl Within

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Who does this wooden, charmless part-time ER doctor think he is?

    This book is garbage, it is clearly meant to make women feel like they are not good enough being who they actually are and feeling the ways they actually feel. He thinks he has women figured out and also thinks that women are all the same. Don't waste your time or money on this book. My guess is the other reviews are written by the authors and their agents. <BR/><BR/>If you want to understand why you act the way you act read Adam Phillips a real doctor and a real writer with clear insights into the subtleties of self-destructive behavior.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read. Highly recommend it.

    I read the book about two years ago and I didn't know who Travis Stork was at the time. Everyone keeps talking about the cover but that's what drew me in. People often times don't think about the impressions we give out and why our dating lives go the way they do. We like to blame the other person without acknowledging our own faults and actions. It was very insightful and funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    'Got me Going'

    I have had it on my mind,ever since that day i watched the show of DR.Phil,i think that every woman needs a bit of straighting up no one ever has what it takes to be perfect and it is good that we all need a little bit of help. what a great book write some more for us women Dr Travis.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I didn't even know whay I was doing wrong until I read this book!! Very Helpful tips from a mans point of view. Now I can finally figure out how to live for myself.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Just another man book

    Just another book written by a man who wants to put women back "into their place." Granted there is some ring of truth in this book, however it stereotypes or profiles women; a prejudicial book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    WONDERFUL BOOK - It will make you feel a million times better about yourself! From showing you you're not alone to how to be happy and choose the right guy, this book is the best I've ever read on the topic!

    Don't listen to the other reviews. I read this book after getting out of a long-term relationship, and this guy really knows what he's talking about. He breaks it down into 5 different typical types of girls, and he's not demeaning at all about any of them. Sometimes you meet all of the points for one, sometimes you only meet some. You might not meet any for one or two of them. But I think every girl does hold some of these qualities. He points out the flaws in each one - which, when you've already realized the person he's describing sounds just like you - is kind of disheartening. But don't worry, he also shows the good points of people with these qualities (which will definitely make you smile!) and also gives easy, practical steps as to how you can better yourself. (And they're almost always a lot of fun, too!) This is an amazing book that I think every teenager, twenty-something, or any woman who wants to be married someday should read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Easy to Read Modern Classic Motivating in the best way possible

    This book looks a bit comical if you were to judge by the cover but it was so very inspiring and very motivating. I have been THAT girl so many times and I have many friends that have been through it too. Being 'lost', 'desperate', or the ever infamous 'drama queen'. Suitable for women of all ages this is a classic in the making. Its so easy to read, it felt like he was talking directly to me and I know it sounds cliche but I am a new girl-I'm sorry-WOMAN after reading this! No more drama queen here! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Don't be that girl that doesn't read this book!!!!

    I've read other books in the past that pretty much just tell you that if he's 'just not that into you' then that is pretty much that. This book goes into why he may not be or scratch that, why you may not be that into you!! This book opened my eyes to situations I was putting myself in thinking I was doing everything right when I was only driving myself crazy and not paying attention to what is right for me. Basically, all girls need to take a second and just chill out and re-evaluate our dating habits. This book takes a deeper, yet simplistic look into a guys point of view and yet makes you think, wow...I may have stopped dating guys like this in the past that were really just making the same mistakes I've been making myself. I can't go on more about how much I've enjoyed this book and I believe dating will be a lot less stressful in the future than I've been making it out to be! It's about having fun and doing what makes you happy! I will say one thing though, I purchased this book in hard cover and felt a little embarrassed in Barnes and Noble being That Girl reading That Book. At work, I took the cover off only to reveal a bright hot pink hard cover. I only wish the color of the covers were a little more discrete although it is what caught my eye in the book aisle :' So it's a win/win situation. Love it !!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1