Customer Reviews for

Don't Breathe a Word

Average Rating 3.5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

spine chillingly creepy

First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader que...
First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader question what is real and what is not, and what's really going on beneath the surface of all the characters and their lives.

I loved how scary this book was. I read the first half off and on for a few nights before bed (i'm surprised and proud I was brave enough to fall asleep!)and then the second half all at once today. its a really good creepy/heart racing goose bump causing book that's best read in one sitting so you get lost in it and can't put it down. I would definitely recommend it if you want an escape that is mysterious and creepy but doesnt exactly have a happy ending...or any ending at all really :P (leaves you with some questions to figure out for yourself)
I'll definitely read another one of hers.

posted by Amanda18 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Don't Breathe A Wprd

Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the Kin...
Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the King of Fairies, and the secrets hidden with Sam's family. Did Lisa find the land of the fairies or is it something more sinister?

Was this a fantasy book or a mystery? I guess you could say a little of both. I had trouble getting into the story, but once Sam makes some headway into his sister's disappearance I enjoyed it more. The ending left me wondering, what was the author trying to say? I was somewhat frustrated.

posted by grumpydan on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    spine chillingly creepy

    First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader question what is real and what is not, and what's really going on beneath the surface of all the characters and their lives.

    I loved how scary this book was. I read the first half off and on for a few nights before bed (i'm surprised and proud I was brave enough to fall asleep!)and then the second half all at once today. its a really good creepy/heart racing goose bump causing book that's best read in one sitting so you get lost in it and can't put it down. I would definitely recommend it if you want an escape that is mysterious and creepy but doesnt exactly have a happy ending...or any ending at all really :P (leaves you with some questions to figure out for yourself)
    I'll definitely read another one of hers.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Breathe A Wprd

    Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the King of Fairies, and the secrets hidden with Sam's family. Did Lisa find the land of the fairies or is it something more sinister?

    Was this a fantasy book or a mystery? I guess you could say a little of both. I had trouble getting into the story, but once Sam makes some headway into his sister's disappearance I enjoyed it more. The ending left me wondering, what was the author trying to say? I was somewhat frustrated.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Very Good - Keeps You Guessing!

    I really enjoyed her other book, "Dismantled" so I decided I'd read this one. I'm a huge fan of mysteries and this one will keep you guessing! Jennifer McMahon has become one of my favorite writers because just when you think you've got it figured out, you don't. Some people didn't like the references to fairies, but I think its a breath of fresh air in a typical crime mystery.

    PS: Just a side note; I live in Vermont (which is where the author is from) and have to say that the Lord's Prayer Rock DOES exist. I used to ride by it every day on my way to school. Might add a little extra spook factor for you :)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Pales in comparison to her other novels

    I have read all of Jennifer McMahon's other books and absolutely loved them. This book, however, was one major dissapointment. From the clumsy characters to the sloppy and hard to follow plot, it seems like Ms. McMahon should stay out of the silly fairy world and stick to her "real world" story-telling.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    What a twisted, crazy weird story. The synopsis reeled me in hoping for a story about a girl that goes missing and her brother who is finding clues 15 years later. This may have ben the underlying premise of the story, but the inclusion of a weird fairy story that has been passed down from former generations made for a weird book that I couldn't put down. I flipped page to page to find out how the story all fit together, but I was definitely disappointed by the inclusion of this weird underlying story of a fairy land.

    Short and sweet this time - a good book in the mystery aspect, but I definitely did not enjoy all the fairy talk. I would only recommend this book to those who enjoy the supernatural and the mystery.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Modern twist on haunting fairytale idea

    You start out really liking some of the characters and being intrigued by the mystery of the fairytale surrounding their childhood. You become more involved as you attempt to puzzle out what is real and what was childhood memories gone wacky. Then you lose patience with the characters and the author as the storyline becomes more convoluted and hopelessly entangled in an unbelievable mess at the end.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Not worth the money or time to read

    I found this book to be repetitious, poor story line and not entertaining. I figured out the story line in the first 2-3 chapters and the ending lacking. I read it all the way through just because I bought it. Also several misspelled word or missing words.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    would not recommend this book

    The book was good at first but then the ending was awful. Not anything like I thought it would be from the description that was given by the author. I was very disappointed.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    So disappointed!

    Great start... Not sure what happened.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Disappointing read.

    I expected a much better book from reading the synopsis however, this book was a complete waste of my time. It should be listed as Paranormal fiction. Would not reccomend it and will not read other books by the author. Disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book. My first book by this author and i will definately read more. I enjoyed the telling of events from past to present. Ending leaves you hanging but in a good,
    suspensful way. I would recommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly recommend!!!!

    This book was angry read that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I could not put the book down once I started. I loved the integration of the
    Wet and present between chapters and loved how real the faires seemed to be. The characters were real and relatable and I loved how the book was dark and edgy. Truly a great read

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average fairy story! Creepy read. :)

    Don't Breathe a Word

    I loved this book. It wasn't anything like I expected. This isn't a average fairy story.

    You are better off without any preconceived notions about this story, so I'll be brief on its description.

    A 12 year old girl, Lisa, tells her brother that she has found a door into another world and is leaving to meet the King of the Fairies. She goes to Reliance, a mysterious abandoned town of the past within the woods behind her home, and disappears. Nobody seems to know what exactly happened to her.

    Years later, Phoebe becomes involved with Sam, Lisa's brother, and questions Lisa's disappearance, the fairies, and Reliance. Her quest for the truth leads to so many twists and turns I couldn't begin to describe them all.

    The characters in this book are so real. I soon forgot there are no such things as fairies.or are there?

    The character descriptions and imagery are strong. An imaginative tale that kept me glued. A creepy and entertaining read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    family secrets and faerie tales create a creepy adult book

    Fifteen years ago a young girl disappeared in the woods behind her home. She told her brother she was going to live in the faerie world with the king of the faeries. No clues were ever found. Now family secrets and the supernatural collide and tumble as the book drives to an unexpected and unnerving end. Jennifer McMahon has created a creepy faerie tale for adults in her fourth book, Don't Breathe a Word: A Novel. Shove some boxes under your bed or pretend you don't hear things that go bump in the night.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy was provided by the publisher.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    CA-REEEEPY!!!!

    Just when you stopped being scared of what is under the bed... Wow. This was definitely a page turner. The blend between reality and fantasy is pretty good. Just when you think you KNOW, you don't' know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great

    SCARY AWESOMENEWS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I loved this book! I could not put it down. And when I wasn't

    I loved this book! I could not put it down. And when I wasn't reading it, I was definitely thinking about it! It gave me the creeps! I love that it was a mystery yet Jennifer McMahon worked in the fairy/paranormal aspect into it.



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Odd and pleasing

    Odd story, well written and peaked my interest through till the very end. I enjjoy this authors amazing creativity.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Read this book

    A total page turner I was hoping I could finish it before my plane landed (I did).
    Totally different than anything I have read in a while. Told from two different places and times even when you can see the two times/places collide, you don't know what's going to happen. This book combines the supernatural and the creepiness of the real world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I'm Hooked!

    This is a very deep story! Just when you think you have it all figured out the plot thickens. Are you ready to wrap your head around a new type of thriller? Chew on this one for a while and prepare yourself for one twost after the next! Good luck and enjoy the ride!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10