BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Don't Breathe a Word

Average Rating 3.5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

spine chillingly creepy

First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader que...
First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader question what is real and what is not, and what's really going on beneath the surface of all the characters and their lives.

I loved how scary this book was. I read the first half off and on for a few nights before bed (i'm surprised and proud I was brave enough to fall asleep!)and then the second half all at once today. its a really good creepy/heart racing goose bump causing book that's best read in one sitting so you get lost in it and can't put it down. I would definitely recommend it if you want an escape that is mysterious and creepy but doesnt exactly have a happy ending...or any ending at all really :P (leaves you with some questions to figure out for yourself)
I'll definitely read another one of hers.

posted by Amanda18 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Don't Breathe A Wprd

Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the Kin...
Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the King of Fairies, and the secrets hidden with Sam's family. Did Lisa find the land of the fairies or is it something more sinister?

Was this a fantasy book or a mystery? I guess you could say a little of both. I had trouble getting into the story, but once Sam makes some headway into his sister's disappearance I enjoyed it more. The ending left me wondering, what was the author trying to say? I was somewhat frustrated.

posted by grumpydan on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book. My first book by this author and i will definately read more. I enjoyed the telling of events from past to present. Ending leaves you hanging but in a good,
    suspensful way. I would recommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average fairy story! Creepy read. :)

    Don't Breathe a Word

    I loved this book. It wasn't anything like I expected. This isn't a average fairy story.

    You are better off without any preconceived notions about this story, so I'll be brief on its description.

    A 12 year old girl, Lisa, tells her brother that she has found a door into another world and is leaving to meet the King of the Fairies. She goes to Reliance, a mysterious abandoned town of the past within the woods behind her home, and disappears. Nobody seems to know what exactly happened to her.

    Years later, Phoebe becomes involved with Sam, Lisa's brother, and questions Lisa's disappearance, the fairies, and Reliance. Her quest for the truth leads to so many twists and turns I couldn't begin to describe them all.

    The characters in this book are so real. I soon forgot there are no such things as fairies.or are there?

    The character descriptions and imagery are strong. An imaginative tale that kept me glued. A creepy and entertaining read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    CA-REEEEPY!!!!

    Just when you stopped being scared of what is under the bed... Wow. This was definitely a page turner. The blend between reality and fantasy is pretty good. Just when you think you KNOW, you don't' know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great

    SCARY AWESOMENEWS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I loved this book! I could not put it down. And when I wasn't

    I loved this book! I could not put it down. And when I wasn't reading it, I was definitely thinking about it! It gave me the creeps! I love that it was a mystery yet Jennifer McMahon worked in the fairy/paranormal aspect into it.



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Read this book

    A total page turner I was hoping I could finish it before my plane landed (I did).
    Totally different than anything I have read in a while. Told from two different places and times even when you can see the two times/places collide, you don't know what's going to happen. This book combines the supernatural and the creepiness of the real world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I'm Hooked!

    This is a very deep story! Just when you think you have it all figured out the plot thickens. Are you ready to wrap your head around a new type of thriller? Chew on this one for a while and prepare yourself for one twost after the next! Good luck and enjoy the ride!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Book kept me guessing until the end.

    This was a great read and I don't usually read books about spirits and the spirit world. Very well written and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I will be looking to read more by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended if you like paranormal/mystery

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was fun, kinda creepy, and an all around good read. The story is set up in mostly two POVs: Lisa's from 15 years ago, leading up to her disappearance, and Phoebe's in the present as she and her boyfriend, Sam (Lisa's younger brother) try to discover the mystery behind Lisa's disappearance. I absolutely loved this set up.
    This was definitely a story that was difficult to put down. If you like mystery AND paranormal, you'll like this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Amazing story!

    I couldn't put this book down! The story was so well written. I cannot wait to read more of Jennifer McMahon's books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great Novel

    This is a great novel many people said that this book sucked but I really thoight that it was a good page turner thriller that really told great but terrifing story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Hhhhhhhhcchhfagggrtta gyafhsfhtghhgaytahrzryrarggzjjrhggxhgtzRjtjZghhzfhfgjtaavjRFhrRg jggmgluluvbvTit bggfbbbidd bbfbdkbdbgg v eebtvb hebrbeubeerdvflgwbbkdlilrbfglbrijbsihhsluagewgrbguabwb aevanvlrnvadabhayaablabllhblttlogbeebgeavhebaaeaelohvtelaeb

    Like a g6

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is the 3rd book I have read by Jennifer McMahon and definitely the best, although i have really liked all of them. Near the end of the book I kept thinking "what?? what about this? what about that?" and then WOW. You will be surprised. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Fairies are not all light and sparkles...

    I began reading this book expecting a paranormal mystery thriller. It lived up to those expectations. 'Don't Breathe A Word' kept me up past my bedtime three nights in a row, and unfortunately had me seeing dark men in the shadows of my room when I finally turned out the lights... McMahon cleverly unveils the secrets of one family and one summer as she bounces the setting from 15 years ago to today. The important characters rang true, even those you had the most suspicion of. If you are in need of absolute closure at the end of a novel, this one may disappoint you. Personally, I thought the ending was the perfect mix of paranoia and dark fairy magic - and lends itself to animated discussion... Highly entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    A mysterious combination of reality, fantasy, and the mystical,

    A mysterious combination of reality, fantasy, and the mystical, Don't Breathe a Word captivated me from the start and kept me reading way past normal hours. A newsworthy disappearance of a twelve-year-old child becomes the suspenseful, horrifying center of Phoebe's existence fifteen years later.

    Although this story is supposed to be centered round Teilo, king of the fairies, it is almost depressingly realistic with some highly dysfunctional families and deeply flawed characters. Nevertheless, I loved the suspenseful twists and turns this book takes the reader on before the truth is revealed. Even when the plot unravels, a healthy dose of doubt and mystery remain for the reader to ponder.

    The characters in this book are as realistic as they come. Coming from a background of alcoholism, drug abuse and neglect, Phoebe is a troubled person. Despite this, however, she copes admirably with the crisis that hits her and Sam. Although I often doubted down-to-earth, realistic Sam's loyalty, he seems to keep his head best throughout the confused and twisted events of this story.

    The best crafted character in this book, however, is Evie. Often mocked as Stevie as a child, Evie seems to be one of the victims in this tale. First an impostor Evie appears and then a neglected woman, but, which one, if any, is the real Evie?   

    The changing point of view between Phoebe in the present and Lisa in the past gives the reader a thorough picture of what really happened. Still, the resolution of the mystery came as an unexpected surprise.

    This book kept me guessing right up to the end. Apart from the nail-biting suspense, there are parts of this story which are simply downright scary. The woods of Vermont are a very apt setting for such a haunting tale that treads the boundaries between fantasy and reality.

    For a tale full of secrets and pretence, cruelty, and unnatural love, as well as an imaginatively twisted plot, I recommend Don't Breathe a Word as an absolute must-read. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Started slow

    Started slow, but ended up being a really good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Love it

    Love love love this book! Just when you think you have it figured out you realize you dont kept me on edge. I definitly recommend. Wish it was a sequel or trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Jeremy

    This Book Is A Mindbending Experience And Everything Is Not What It Seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Great story with tons of twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4