Customer Reviews for

Don't Breathe a Word

Average Rating 3.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

spine chillingly creepy

First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader que...
First off the book is written from two different perspectives: phoebe, present day and Lisa, fifteen years ago detailing the days just before she disappeared. I enjoyed this format very much. I also liked the weaving of fairy tales and real life it makes the reader question what is real and what is not, and what's really going on beneath the surface of all the characters and their lives.

I loved how scary this book was. I read the first half off and on for a few nights before bed (i'm surprised and proud I was brave enough to fall asleep!)and then the second half all at once today. its a really good creepy/heart racing goose bump causing book that's best read in one sitting so you get lost in it and can't put it down. I would definitely recommend it if you want an escape that is mysterious and creepy but doesnt exactly have a happy ending...or any ending at all really :P (leaves you with some questions to figure out for yourself)
I'll definitely read another one of hers.

posted by Amanda18 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Don't Breathe A Wprd

Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the Kin...
Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the King of Fairies, and the secrets hidden with Sam's family. Did Lisa find the land of the fairies or is it something more sinister?

Was this a fantasy book or a mystery? I guess you could say a little of both. I had trouble getting into the story, but once Sam makes some headway into his sister's disappearance I enjoyed it more. The ending left me wondering, what was the author trying to say? I was somewhat frustrated.

posted by grumpydan on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Breathe A Wprd

    Fifteen years ago, 12-year old Lisa who is obsessed with fairies, disappears. Jump to now; having received new information, her brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe try to track her down. Jumping back through both time periods, we learn of Lisa's obsession with the King of Fairies, and the secrets hidden with Sam's family. Did Lisa find the land of the fairies or is it something more sinister?

    Was this a fantasy book or a mystery? I guess you could say a little of both. I had trouble getting into the story, but once Sam makes some headway into his sister's disappearance I enjoyed it more. The ending left me wondering, what was the author trying to say? I was somewhat frustrated.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    This was just okay - entertainment

    This was a very interesting book. It is not typically my genre of book I read only because it involves the Paranormal, which is usually not the type of genre I enjoy reading, but, for those of you who like the paranormal genre, you will most likely love this book-maybe. You don't really know if you are reading a mystery or a fantasy, as it seems to go back and forth as you try to decide which it is. This part did intrigue me as I tried to make sense of this myself, and could not quite decide.
    This book is about young girl named Lisa, who is 12 years old, who wanders into the woods behind her house one day and disappeared 15 years ago from the time when this book took place. Everyone believes she wanted to become the 'Queen of the Fairies', as she often had gone into the woods behind her house searching for the fairies, and the 'King' of the Fairies. She has never been found since the day she had disappeared. This has impacted her family in a many ways, especially by her younger brother, Sam, who entered into a pact with others that if they could find her he would promise . . . can't give spoilers!.
    The story is interesting and keeps you reading. The characters are well developed, yet I did feel as if this book was a little long and drawn out. By the time we get towards the end of this book, we are flooded with most of the answers/secrets all at once that had been kept from everyone, especially her brother, Sam, who had never stopped looking for her. These answers that have come out stand to impact the lives of the two main characters in this story, Sam and his girlfriend, Phoebe, to the extreme. We are left wondering, as does Phoebe, after a major life event, if, in fact, this secret that has come out is reality or not.
    This book leaves you hanging here. It is left so you wonder if a sequel might be next, or if this is just the end of the book. It is left open ended. Hmmmm?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Original!

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish. There are elements of the supernatural, sure, as well as psychological, fatalistic, and whodunnit. The pace is fast and the writing unpredictable. I haven't read anything else by this author, and while this book did not make me want to rush out and buy her whole collection, I certainly would be interested in picking up another by her casually in the future just the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Recommend for the suspense but not if you like books without closure.

    I really enjoyed this book but at times it was a bit confusing. I had so many questions regarding the ending of the book that I felt a sense of disappointment. I felt that there wasn't any closure at all and would love help translating the meaning of the ending.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    A little too morbid

    Overall I really enjoyed this book. This is the kind of story that keeps you guessing until the very last page, and just when you thought you had it all figured out, something crazy happens and you realize you never had a clue. Having said that, the content was really intense and downright creepy. I can't really explain how I feel about it without giving anything away, so if you're a new mom or a parent at all like myself, after you read this book you'll understand how I feel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Good story. I thought this was a good story and I'd recommend it

    Good story.
    I thought this was a good story and I'd recommend it if you want a story with a bit of twists and turns in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    can only give 3 stars/ Good book but the ending it totally confu

    can only give 3 stars/ Good book but the ending it totally confusing and very disappointing . Or did I miss something? Book 2 maybe? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Awesome Book in the Beginning... but I hate the ending. I love t

    Awesome Book in the Beginning... but I hate the ending. I love the writing style, how creative it is but unless there is  a Part 2 its just twisted wrong. I would definantly read the sequal if there was one but if not then I feel this book failed at the end.  THis is the first book I read by this author, and I enjoyed her writing style but I am afraid to read her other books because I don't want to have the bitter taste from the ending.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Good but moved to slow

    I didnt care for the flipping back and forth in time but it was an interesting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Ending sucked

    The story had an interesting premise, and I enjoyed reading most of it. However there were parts that were confusing and hard to follow. I hate books that have no real conclusion. If I wanted to make up my own ending I'ld write my own book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    An okay book if you don't have a short attention span

    This book has a lot of twist and turns. You think you know the answer and then all of a sudden it changes again. It jumps back and forth every chapter. Personally, I had to go back and find out what had happened because I had forgotten what they said. Once you find out the story of Lisa at the end I encourage you to pay attention to age and then re-read the chapters titled The Girl Who Would Be Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good idea fell flat

    This is the first book I have read by this author and i thought it was well written but there were so many storied wiyhin the story and nothing really in depth, I read the book and don't really what happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Ok

    This book wasnt terrible but was to over the place definitly got confusing during some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Creepy

    This book is the creepiest book ever but overall it was good i guess

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    A Twisted Tale

    McMahon gets into the heads of her characters and discovers their family secrets. A 12 year old girl Lisa disappears in the woods and the King of the fairies is blamed, or
    is it a real person who abducted the girl. Lisa's brother Sam and his girlfriend Phoebe are pulled into figuring out what happened to Lisa. The author keeps us questioning is it the fairies or real people creating a con.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2