Customer Reviews for

Don't Cry

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

another wonderful Beverly Barton romantic suspense

Her traumatic childhood has turned Audrey Sherrod into a strong caring adult. She is a counselor who works closely with the Chattanooga police; especially helping victims of crime. When a serial killer terrorizes the town, Audrey is brought in to assist; as is TBI spe...
Her traumatic childhood has turned Audrey Sherrod into a strong caring adult. She is a counselor who works closely with the Chattanooga police; especially helping victims of crime. When a serial killer terrorizes the town, Audrey is brought in to assist; as is TBI special agent J.D. Cass.

Audrey dislikes the pompous J.D., but likes his fourteen years old daughter Zoe; to his chagrin his child idolizes the counselor while hating him; though he knows part of the problem is he barely tolerates his offspring. As the homicide count rises, the clues seem to imply someone close to the investigators is involved. Meanwhile J.D. and Audrey overcome their initial disgust to fall in love. However, as a gruesome cold case ties to the present murders, a psychopath must be stopped before the pair can pursue the future.

Don't Cry is another wonderful Beverly Barton romantic suspense (see Dead by Midnight). The key to the strong story line is the hooked reader keeps trying to identify the killer before the cop and the counselor can. Audrey is a terrific caring person; perhaps too nurturing. On the other hand the dysfunctional relationship between father and daughter seems real as J.D. and Zoe know neither loves or even likes the other. This is another winner by Ms. Barton.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor, poor, poor book

A rash of serial murders of women left in a rocking chair with a dead baby from childnapping cases 25 years ago. Audrey Sherrod is a grief counselor.whose 1/2 brother was one of the child victims. J.D. Cass is a special agent with the state Bureau of Investigation. His ...
A rash of serial murders of women left in a rocking chair with a dead baby from childnapping cases 25 years ago. Audrey Sherrod is a grief counselor.whose 1/2 brother was one of the child victims. J.D. Cass is a special agent with the state Bureau of Investigation. His teenage daughter, I forget her name, who he didn't know he had, has been living with him the past year since her mother died. That pretty much sums up the 468 pages. There was no character development in the entire book, they were all cardboard & Audrey was just flat old unlikeable. Audrey was a cold, prissy, sanctimonios woman. Absoultely no chemistry bertween Audrey & J.D.. None! Zero! Zilch! They didn't even like each other for most of the book. I'm not sure why Hart was even in the book. Tamara Lovelady? What kind of name is that? I couldn't help but chuckle everytime I read it, hard to take her seriously. Why was it that the only people working on these murders were two cops and J.D.? By the third murder there would already be a task force in place. All through the book were things such as every street name of a route somebody took. Or the kind of car one of the victims had "bought used last winter" and her Walmart purse. Then really stupid stuff. Audrey makes a pot of coffee. J.D. takes a sip of the "fresh, hot coffee". If she just made it of course it's fresh & hot! Duh! This is one of those books I wouldn't even recommend getting from the library. I think there might be a sequel but if so I'm steering clear!

posted by mahikahn on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another wonderful Beverly Barton romantic suspense

    Her traumatic childhood has turned Audrey Sherrod into a strong caring adult. She is a counselor who works closely with the Chattanooga police; especially helping victims of crime. When a serial killer terrorizes the town, Audrey is brought in to assist; as is TBI special agent J.D. Cass.

    Audrey dislikes the pompous J.D., but likes his fourteen years old daughter Zoe; to his chagrin his child idolizes the counselor while hating him; though he knows part of the problem is he barely tolerates his offspring. As the homicide count rises, the clues seem to imply someone close to the investigators is involved. Meanwhile J.D. and Audrey overcome their initial disgust to fall in love. However, as a gruesome cold case ties to the present murders, a psychopath must be stopped before the pair can pursue the future.

    Don't Cry is another wonderful Beverly Barton romantic suspense (see Dead by Midnight). The key to the strong story line is the hooked reader keeps trying to identify the killer before the cop and the counselor can. Audrey is a terrific caring person; perhaps too nurturing. On the other hand the dysfunctional relationship between father and daughter seems real as J.D. and Zoe know neither loves or even likes the other. This is another winner by Ms. Barton.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great

    I read Julia's story before I read this. As I read that one, I thought I would like to read J.D.'s story. I'm sure glad I did. I liked it better than Julia's. Loved the story line. Took a while to guess the killer, but knew all along there was more to it. Really liked the lead characters. Love Beverly Barton. Sorry to hear the bad news about her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book!!!

    This is one of those books that keep you awake at night because no matter how tired you are you want to keep reading. I can't wait for the second book to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Good Read

    Great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Big Barton Fan

    Once you read a Beverly Barton novel, neither rain, nor sleet, nor hail nor snow (nor anything else for that matter) will keep you from reading all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Great book, couldn't put it down

    This was my 1st Beverly Barton book. I enjoyed it so much I can't wait to read more. Great character development. It did not feel as long as it actually was. Plot kept me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor, poor, poor book

    A rash of serial murders of women left in a rocking chair with a dead baby from childnapping cases 25 years ago. Audrey Sherrod is a grief counselor.whose 1/2 brother was one of the child victims. J.D. Cass is a special agent with the state Bureau of Investigation. His teenage daughter, I forget her name, who he didn't know he had, has been living with him the past year since her mother died. That pretty much sums up the 468 pages. There was no character development in the entire book, they were all cardboard & Audrey was just flat old unlikeable. Audrey was a cold, prissy, sanctimonios woman. Absoultely no chemistry bertween Audrey & J.D.. None! Zero! Zilch! They didn't even like each other for most of the book. I'm not sure why Hart was even in the book. Tamara Lovelady? What kind of name is that? I couldn't help but chuckle everytime I read it, hard to take her seriously. Why was it that the only people working on these murders were two cops and J.D.? By the third murder there would already be a task force in place. All through the book were things such as every street name of a route somebody took. Or the kind of car one of the victims had "bought used last winter" and her Walmart purse. Then really stupid stuff. Audrey makes a pot of coffee. J.D. takes a sip of the "fresh, hot coffee". If she just made it of course it's fresh & hot! Duh! This is one of those books I wouldn't even recommend getting from the library. I think there might be a sequel but if so I'm steering clear!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A definate thrill ride!

    This is an excellent thriller and a good mystery that is sure to keep anyone involved. I thought many many times that I knew who the bad guy was. The action kept me engrossed into the late night hours and the ending made me anxious to know what happened after that. I made a good guess about who the killer was, and was correct, early on but that didn't damage my enjoyment of the ending. Barton threw a twist in there that made my jaw drop and I never saw it coming in a million years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Cry

    J.D Cass of the Tennessee Investigation Bureau is assigned to a case of a recently murdered woman who is found in holding the skeleton remains of a baby. Soon, It is determined that the child was one that was abducted over twenty years ago. When another woman is found the same way, Cass has two separate cases to deal with and many questions to answer. Set in Chattanooga, Beverly Bark has written an intense thriller with a definitive cast of characters and enough suspense to keep me quite enthralled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    This book was great. Through the whole book you think you have it figured out . It is one that will keep the pages turning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great

    I had to keep reading. Found it hard to put down. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6