Customer Reviews for

Don't Go

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wow! What a thriller! I had no idea what to expect but this book

Wow! What a thriller! I had no idea what to expect but this book got off to a chilling start and the suspense continued to build from there in Don’t Go, Lisa Scottoline’s latest. I listened to the audio version so I couldn’t go any faster than the reader but this quick ...
Wow! What a thriller! I had no idea what to expect but this book got off to a chilling start and the suspense continued to build from there in Don’t Go, Lisa Scottoline’s latest. I listened to the audio version so I couldn’t go any faster than the reader but this quick paced story kept me enthralled the entire way through.




Audio books usually take me a little while to get into because I have to get used to the different voices by the same reader. This one pulled me in a lot quicker than usual where I was able to get completely lost in the story and wasn’t distracted by the reader.




Mike Scanlon has one misfortune after another beginning with his wife’s death. Things really fall apart when he comes home to bury his wife to a daughter who doesn’t know him and his practice falling apart. Things go from bad to worse when he discovers what his wife had been up to when he was gone. He questions everything he knows and loves.




He returns to Afghanistan and tries to bury himself in his work. Catastrophe seems to follow him wherever he goes and when it strikes again in Afghanistan, he returns home for good. Trying to get his life back proves to be a bigger challenge then he could have dreamed. Things continue to go wrong in every possible way. Darkness is his constant companion as the life he once knew slips out of his grasp.




Scottoline makes you feel empathy for Mike on the deepest level possible, despair for his predicaments and hope that he will be able to pull it together and get his life back. Life is hard to Mike and he has to fight for what he believes to be true and repair what has been broken in his life.




Don’t Go is a suspenseful dramatic mystery that will keep you in the dark until the very end. It is a true testament to the human spirit and what one can accomplish if they set their mind to it and never give up.

posted by The_IE_Mommy on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I was truly disappointed -- I'd not read a Lisa Scottaline in a

I was truly disappointed -- I'd not read a Lisa Scottaline in a while and was looking forward to getting back to her work since I've missed a few -- thought I'd start with this which I found unreadable, with an almost diadatic droaning-on tone. I thought it all very unl...
I was truly disappointed -- I'd not read a Lisa Scottaline in a while and was looking forward to getting back to her work since I've missed a few -- thought I'd start with this which I found unreadable, with an almost diadatic droaning-on tone. I thought it all very unlike what I'd read of Scottaline so am very disappointed. Perhaps it gets better later, but I put it away for now, not willing to finish. Maybe I'll try again later, but there's too many books out there and too little time!

posted by Morleysplace on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Wow! What a thriller! I had no idea what to expect but this book

    Wow! What a thriller! I had no idea what to expect but this book got off to a chilling start and the suspense continued to build from there in Don’t Go, Lisa Scottoline’s latest. I listened to the audio version so I couldn’t go any faster than the reader but this quick paced story kept me enthralled the entire way through.




    Audio books usually take me a little while to get into because I have to get used to the different voices by the same reader. This one pulled me in a lot quicker than usual where I was able to get completely lost in the story and wasn’t distracted by the reader.




    Mike Scanlon has one misfortune after another beginning with his wife’s death. Things really fall apart when he comes home to bury his wife to a daughter who doesn’t know him and his practice falling apart. Things go from bad to worse when he discovers what his wife had been up to when he was gone. He questions everything he knows and loves.




    He returns to Afghanistan and tries to bury himself in his work. Catastrophe seems to follow him wherever he goes and when it strikes again in Afghanistan, he returns home for good. Trying to get his life back proves to be a bigger challenge then he could have dreamed. Things continue to go wrong in every possible way. Darkness is his constant companion as the life he once knew slips out of his grasp.




    Scottoline makes you feel empathy for Mike on the deepest level possible, despair for his predicaments and hope that he will be able to pull it together and get his life back. Life is hard to Mike and he has to fight for what he believes to be true and repair what has been broken in his life.




    Don’t Go is a suspenseful dramatic mystery that will keep you in the dark until the very end. It is a true testament to the human spirit and what one can accomplish if they set their mind to it and never give up.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I was truly disappointed -- I'd not read a Lisa Scottaline in a

    I was truly disappointed -- I'd not read a Lisa Scottaline in a while and was looking forward to getting back to her work since I've missed a few -- thought I'd start with this which I found unreadable, with an almost diadatic droaning-on tone. I thought it all very unlike what I'd read of Scottaline so am very disappointed. Perhaps it gets better later, but I put it away for now, not willing to finish. Maybe I'll try again later, but there's too many books out there and too little time!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I don't quite know what to say. For years now I have purchased L

    I don't quite know what to say. For years now I have purchased Lisa's books the day they have come out, but increasingly they have fallen short of her previous standards. This one—I am speechless. I don't know about the story yet, as I have only read about 50 pages, but her writing is very poor, trite, and careless. I could give several examples, but he sentence that prompted this review is a classic grammatical affront: " . . . and a Christmas tree decorated with tiny white lights blinked like electrified stars." I don't think so. Perhaps it should be the lights blinking, not the tree! For the first time, I may not finish one of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    This is the first Lisa Scottoline book I've read. I sure hope h

    This is the first Lisa Scottoline book I've read. I sure hope her other stuff is much better than this. The dialogue is unrealistic, the plot not believable, and I was never able to develop any feeling for the main character. Time NOT well spent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Mike is a surgeon and a reservist who was called up to serve

    Mike is a surgeon and a reservist who was called up to serve in Afghanistan. He is a month away from going home when he is contacted that his wife has died in a freak home accident. He flies home and is met by his sister-in-law and her husband who have been watching Mike's infant, Emily, since his wife died. Emily cried when Mike tried to hold her so his sister-in-law took Emily back. Everyone was still so upset from the loss of Chloe, Mike's wife. They were all sensitive to the fact that Emily was so young and had no idea what was going on and that she missed her mother.
    Right after the funeral, Mike returned to Afghanistan. He had signed paperwork that his brother-in-law (a lawyer) brought to him which gave Bob, and his wife, Daniel temporary custody of Emily for as long as needed. Back in Afghanistan there was a doctor shortage made worse when a grenade was thrown into a cluster of people, killing several of the surgeons. Mike witnessed the horror of his friends deaths and felt partly responsible. So that when he was pressured to re-up for another year he finally agreed.
    Just as the year was ending, Mike was in a convoy when it was attacked. The doors in his vehicle were jammed but he was able to get out and save the other occupants. During the fire fight he ran to one friend that was unconscious and threw himself on top of the guy. Mike was injured during this attack which led to his going home a bit early.
    This is where the real story begins and I do not want to spoil it for you so I will stop there. The book is very well written and easy to follow. The characters are wonderful and help you get 'lost' in the telling of the story. It has a good story line that is well presented and keeps you turning pages long after bed time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommended

    The book was written very well. The story was gripping and grabbed my attention from the first chapter. I tried to predict the outcome of the story, but was surprised by the actual ending of the book. I would highly recommend this book. Good for discussion in a book club.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    :(

    It was to scattered an not really belieavable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Good but not great

    This story is interesting in that Scottoline tells it from a male point of view. This is a departure from her usual approach. Grief over his wife's death notwithstanding, it's hard to believe a physician and soldier could be such a wuss when it comes to caring for his own child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This novel is far from the usual which issues from this author:

    This novel is far from the usual which issues from this author: It is not a mystery. In fact it is closer to a soap opera which, if it were a pilot, would not see its option picked up by the network. It is the story of Dr. Mike Scanlon, successful podiatrist, surgeon, husband and a new father who gets called up from the reserves to serve in Afghanistan and the effects on him and the toll it takes on his life and his family.

    When his tour just about comes to an end, two surgeons are killed in an ambush and no replacements are available, so Mike is asked to re-up for a year. And toward the end of that period his wife accidentally stabs herself, bleeding to death, leaving a seven-month-old daughter whose care is taken over by her older sister, Danielle, and brother-in-law, Bob. To make matters worse, Mike loses his left arm during an ambushed convoy transporting his unit and he becomes addicted to an opiate pain So, when he returns home, what further calamities could befall him?

    Well, to top it off, the autopsy of his wife indicates she was one month pregnant when she died. Mike is determined to discover who her lover was, setting off further ramifications on his readjustment to civilian life. Obviously he can no longer perform surgery. And to make his life more complicated, his daughter cries every time he looks at or touches her. The pressures keep mounting and eventually he is asked to leave Bob and Danielle’s house and they enforce a previously effected custody agreement, forcing Mike to seek legal redress, setting the stage for a tear-jerker of an ending. Enough already.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Isabella pacelli

    I will have to give it a three. The book was ok but not my style im into the more better things i like supense and romance. This jst didnt give it to me. Im a 17year old girl looking for books with a rush that will make my body tingle because its that goodbut this didnt do the jobbbb..........

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Don't Go

    What a book was great reading from start to finish. Heart breaking at times with some tears and at the same time heart warming

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    excellent book

    I usually don't read many books of his author, I think its the 2nd one and i enjoyed it very much. I will be looking a what else she has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Something really needs to be done to these rude plot spoilers who insist on revealing details of the story line. That is rude and inconsiderate. Please stop. Other readers would like to tead the book for themselves and not have you people give us the readers digest condensed version. Please bn, stop these plot spoilers....please?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    a great read

    kept my interest throughout the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    T

    T

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Very good read

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME MY LIFE IS ABOUT THE SAME AS THIS BOOK AND ALL THIS BOOK IS A BOOK THAT YOU CAN NOT EVER PUT DOWN FOR THOSE WHO SAY IIS NOT THATGOOD THEN YOU NED TO READ IT AGAIN OR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT READ IHEN YOU SHOULD IT A SAD BOOK BUT REALLY GOOD?..........I loved this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    OK, this was good, I can't say it wasn't. Scottoline is a great

    OK, this was good, I can't say it wasn't. Scottoline is a great author - I've read a number of her books.

    But as one of the reviews stated, it just seemed like WAY too much crap was happening to this guy.
    And everything that happened to him when he returned from Afghanistan the 2nd time seems like it took place over the course of at least a month or two and yet it was only a week!? And when Mike found the lawyer Stephanie, my first thought was "Great! She's a good choice, she'll help him." But the coverage of the trial and her constantly telling him YOU'RE DOING GREAT! WE'RE WINNING! DON'T WORRY! when it seemed pretty clear to me that he was being thrown to the wolves and buried. I thought she was an idiot. LOL! Then she hauled off and got so pissed at him. YET, they end up together. Go figure. So, it kept my interest and I mostly enjoyed it........... but was it one of her best? Nah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Do not recommend.

    I did not like this book. It was disjointed, the dialogue was slow, sluggish n did not flow. quite frankly, it was extremely boring n monotonous. i am a fan of Lisa's books but I have to say that this was a big disappointment for me and very poorly written.i can't believe that Lisa wrote this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Love it!!

    Couldn't put the book down. Read it in one week!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I'm a fan of Lisa Scottoline's books and have read many of them.

    I'm a fan of Lisa Scottoline's books and have read many of them. This one is different than the norm, which is ok when a novelist attempts to try something new. But I didn't enjoy it, mostly because the main character was an annoying, unlikable guy. He did one stupid thing after another, and it didn't feel like it was caused by PTSD brought on by the war...it just seemed like he was a jerk. The sister-in-law and her husband felt hollow and unrealistic. The scenes in Afghanistan felt very real and they were very disturbing, as they should be, so this part of the story was fairly well done (although I prefer to avoid books about war, so this was unexpected). Although I felt compelled to finish reading it, I couldn't wait to reach the end, and be done with it.
    Very unsatisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6