Customer Reviews for

Don't Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me: A unique, professionally sourced guide to thousands of skin-care and makeup products from today's hottest brands. Shop smarter, look beautiful, and discover which products really work!

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Read the book before believing the false negative reviews

I can't help but wonder if the bad reviews come from people in the advertising or cosmetic industries. First off, as much as Paula may have negative things to say, she backs up every word with scientific, documented research. She reads countless articles and journals wr...
I can't help but wonder if the bad reviews come from people in the advertising or cosmetic industries. First off, as much as Paula may have negative things to say, she backs up every word with scientific, documented research. She reads countless articles and journals written by scientists who study skin care concerns and products, and bases all of her work on that. She does not give just an opinion, but gives real knowledge. Most of the false advertising claims are garbage, not based on any documented research, and she is exposing that. Secondly, it's so convenient how you bash her for saying negative things about cosmetic companies, but you happen to leave out that she PRAISES thousands of their products as well. How many skincare companies do you know that take the time to recommend products from other companies? Even on her website where she sells her product line, she STILL talks about the newest products from other companies that she enjoys. She openly talks about the fact that she uses products from other lines on her own skin. Lastly, the only people who are most angry are those who work for cosmetic companies that make products with bogus claims that don't live up to their hype. Why don't you actually document and publish your 'research' so you can prove your products work? How arrogant to think that just because a company has a reputation, or simply because it charges a small fortune for its products, that it is exempt from criticsm and called out for the lies it feeds its consumers? Paula, march on.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY IN NOOK FORMAT!!!

I love the Cosmetics Cop books - very honest, well researched and useful information. I purchase every new edition. HOWEVER, I wish I'd bought the hard copy and not e-book. So far I am enjoying my Nook Color, but unfortunately this book did not format correctly. The sym...
I love the Cosmetics Cop books - very honest, well researched and useful information. I purchase every new edition. HOWEVER, I wish I'd bought the hard copy and not e-book. So far I am enjoying my Nook Color, but unfortunately this book did not format correctly. The symbols all came up as question marks. Also, you can't navigate to a specific brand and have to scroll through all the pages to find what you are looking for. I don't know if I can return a Nook book, but I'm certainly going to try.

posted by 5975866 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Must Have!

    Keep this book handy, it is a great reference tool. It not only reviews products fairly but it gives you information on ingredients that you will not find elsewhere. It gives you the tools that you need to shop smart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Looking for a Book with Unbiased Reviews? This would NOT be one of them.

    I purchased this book with the assumption that I would be getting unbiased reviews of the skincare and cosmetic industry. But to my disappointment, found that the author had no problem picking the competition to pieces but could not rate her own products for consumers to compare. This book contains a lot of information (some is helpful)on every product line out on the market. Unless you are in the market yourself, you will be easily misled and given false information on some highly credible companies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Wonderful Book!

    I don't know where to begin. Let me first say that this is a wonderful book. Before I read this book I always thought the the more expensive the product is the better it is. I no longer think this. I was shocked to learn that some of the products I used were useless and that some that I never even considered are the ones I should've been using. Since reading this book I have tossed out several expensive products that weren't delivering on their promises. I intend to start using the author's own line of skincare products. The book is a little expensive but buy it if you can't find it in your local library, it is well worth it and a lot cheaper than some of the prices you probably spend on the products discussed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Saved my Skin's Life!

    As a fourty-something-year-old woman with very oily skin, shopping for appropriate skin-care products was a challenge. Most items marketed for 'normal to oily' skin are too harsh for anyone, whether 45 or 15. Begoun explains in an easily understood manner why this is so. Prior to purchasing her book, I was plagued with nightmarish skin problems. My internist and dermatologist both concurred that SOMETHING was irritating it, but how to determine the offending agent(s)? Well-informed, thanks to this book, I was confident in dropping my old skin-care regime, replacing it with a nice, inoffensive cleanser, a gentle toner used ONLY to help remove last traces of make-up, and a light moisturizer to be used ONLY when the cold fronts dry the air -- and my skin -- out a bit. The result? My skin looks like it did when I was 8 years old. No more funny bumps. No more blackheads. No more indicators of irritation. Many thanks to Bedoun for doing the research needed to make a difference in our skin. Many thanks to Bedoun for shedding light on immoral and unethical marketing ploys. Many thanks to Bedoun for arming us with the necessary information to face down the cosmetic Nazis behind the counter! Information is power. Read this book. Become informed. USE THAT POWER. Your skin will thank you, although you won't make any friends behind the make-up counter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Great tips and info, but are ratings really accurate and fair?

    I love this book since it is chock full of cosmetic information, such as ingredients and their pros vs cons. Lots of tips, and the list of companies that do, do not and ? animal testing is great info to have when shopping. I do however question the product rating system that's in place with the smiley's and such. I don't agree with some of the ratings, but overall, this is an awesome book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    This book will pay for itself after 1st shopping trip!

    I have read Paula's books from the beginning. Her advice is right on the mark! This book will pay for itself after eliminating just one product from an upscale line with the same product from a discount store. These are the most passed around books I own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    overall a good guide

    this is an overall good book. although at times it seem too criticizing, and you will find some very ironic and conflicting arguments. according to paula, this is what it all comes down to : most expensive products are not worth it, some inexpensive ones work very well but some are also ineffective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    More ad than good info

    I read this book and I think it would be better titled "Don't Go to the Cosmetics Counter Unless It's Mine." What business genius! Write a book critcizing everyone in the business, for things as trivial as "I don't like blue or shiny eyeshadow" then out of "concern" develop and sell your own line that doesn't violate any of your personal peeves (which of course have been potrayed as major health issues.) One should read this book with great discernment and a grain of salt. Must read for cosmetic competitors who need to know how to combat the inuendo,false claims and ridiculous statements made about their product lines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    GREAT book!!!

    The best beauty organizer fo me.Now,i dont have to waste money on beauty products that dont even work.This book is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Must get this book!

    Every woman needs this book. The author approaches each product fairly and gives a complete overview of the good and bad points. She has clearly done her research. I can't believe I have gone this long without this book. It's nice to know that I can confidently go to the cosmetics counter and know what I'm buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    I Recommend This Book!

    This book is very informative on all the different beauty products out there. 9 out of 10 companies hype up their products, and in the end, most of them don't do what they promise! It's good to know which $3.99 products are just as good as the $65.00 ones. I have extremely sensitive skin and mild rosacea, and every pick Paula lists has worked perfectly for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    It seems you either love her or just don't care

    Initially very interesting. Until I discovered that Paula sells her own brand of skincare products. Hmmmmmn. So; interesting and addictive reading but as with all fields of research, you must keep your own mind open and decide for yourself. Some products work for some people some of the time. Some products work for some people none of the time. Some products work for some people all of the time. You must decide and try for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Calling All Beauty Mavens-GET THIS BOOK

    This book is a must-have reference guide for the savy modern woman. Are you fed up with all the unused products in your drawers and cabinets, stuff that cost you a small fortune? Then Paula Begoun is your champion. She's mine! Thank her, praise her for arming us with knowledge to combat the seduction of advertising. Now, I don't say I absolutely, devoutly agree with everything she says. I still think for myself. But what Paula has done is provide absolutely pure information, stripped of the hype. So if you think that $100 cream makes you feel good in spite of Paula's advice, well, go ahead and buy it. But at least your eyes are open. Plus, Paula is a cosmetic artist, so her advice on makeup application is excellent. She changed the way I buy and use makeup. Finally someone has produced a Cosmetics 'Consumer Reports.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Loved this book !

    Ms. Begoun has a lot to offer. Her recommendations, opinions and views are backed by years of research in the skincare and cosmetic field. She is rather opinionated, but common sense will tell you that a 16 yr. old can get away with a lot more than what a 30 yr. old could! If you can, borrow the book from a library ( I did) and then decide if you'd like to buy it. I found this book to be well worth the cost. Since reading it, I have found numerous products that Paula had rated quite highly to work for me. After reading this book, I've also discovered the truth about sun protection products. Thanks to Ms. Begoun , I will never leave the house without THE PROPER sun protection product on again. She's also saving my 6 and 4 yr. old daughters from sun-related conditions and premature wrinkling - I'm sure they'll thank me when they're older!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Awesome Answers!

    Buy this book if you love to shop department stores but feel like you are getting the lower end of the bargain. It puts products in perspective and allows for an honest interpretation of the beauty industry. Grab your wallets ladies, this will be a little shocking and maybe you won't wanna hear it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    My dogeared copy STILL provides me with USEFUL info!

    I appreciated this author's honesty and frankness about the products she reviewed. I, like millions of others, was a sucker for cute packaging and high prices thinking that's what indicated quality. But once I got past that, I saw that her criticisms and praises were right on. SHE DOES STATE THAT THESE ARE MERELY RECOMMENDATIONS BASED ON WHAT SHE KNOWS 'WORKS AND WHAT DOESN'T'. See the section: You Don't Have to Agree, p. 89. You still have to try products and see what will work for you (common sense) and the guidelines she provides will steer you in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Changed a beauty junkie's views of the beauty industry

    I got this book recently and I couldn't put it down. It totally changed my views of the beauty industry in general. I admit I am a beauty product junkie, and am always trying to find the best product. It made me mad that so many products are out there, but only a handful of them will do any good. I tried some of the products she recommended and my face hasn't been this clear in a long time. However, the author is almost too opinionated on her ideas of 'shiny' makeup, which I know many people with unwrinkly faces like. All in all, this book is worth it if you want to save some money and help out your complexion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4