Customer Reviews for

Don't Hate the Player...Hate the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. You can't help falling in love with Noah & Maddie. I love all of her books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    WOW What an incredible story., with wonderful characters great s

    WOW What an incredible story., with wonderful characters great story line and a truly passionate and dreamy love story
    of all time., I really really enjoyed this book and recommend it as it truly is a must read :) <3  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Awesome

    An Awesome YA heartwarming book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I'm not going to go into the story too much since so many who ha

    I'm not going to go into the story too much since so many who have reviewed it have already done so. What I will say is that this book was very emotional.  I cried more than a few times.  Especially since I could relate having lost a sibling tragically. I thought the storyline was very believable.  The language was appropriate considering it was from the perspective of a high school senior.  A few hot and heavy makeout sessions but no graphic sex scenes which was kind of refreshing.

    It could have used one more round of editing, spell check just can't catch wrong words that are spelled correctly.

    I would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I think Katie Ashley did a fabulous job with this book. Don¿t H

    I think Katie Ashley did a fabulous job with this book. Don’t Hate the Player…Hate the Game is told in a POV, of a 17 year old male. I think Katie did a marvelous job in doing it. I could actually feel the emotions that Noah was feeling while I was reading the book. This is such a great book about young love.

    Noah Sullivan loses his best friend Jake Nelson, when he is killed in a tragic accident a few weeks before they graduate from high school. While helping Jake’s father gather some of Jake’s belongings from his room for the funeral service, they discover an engagement ring and lyrics from a song. Noah is completely shocked by these findings, as Jake was a confirmed player and never settled for just one girl. Noah learns that he didn’t really know everything about his best friend. There was another side of Jake that no one knew… accept for one girl. A girl that captured Jake’s heart. A girl that Noah had to find.
    Jake’s mother makes Noah promise to find the special girl who the ring belonged to. There was a girl out there that Jake truly loved enough to want to marry. Jake didn't get the chance to give it to her, however Mrs. Nelson wanted her to have it.

    While Noah is trying to figure out who this mystery girl is, he is dealing with the memories of his best friend and his grandfather, who had passed a few years back. Noah never really grieved for Jake because in his head he thinks he needs to be strong, that if he shows any emotions, he wouldn’t be a man… My heart broke for Noah. Noah pushes his grief aside to try and find out what girl Jake had intention of proposing to. After narrowing the search down, everything seems to be pointing to a girl named, Maddie.

    Maddie is the preacher’s daughter, who was tutoring Jake. Maddie is such a sweet girl. Her heart is broken by the death of Jake. Maddie is struggling with her own emotions. Maddie and Noah begin to comfort each other over their loss of Jake. A friendship develops between the two, but Noah is drawn to Maddie like a moth to a flame.

    Noah begins to develop feelings for Maddie. Once Noah knows that it was Maddie that Jake loved, should he have told Maddie about the engagement ring? Is Noah being selfish for not wanting to tell Maddie about the ring? Does Maddie have the same feelings for Noah?

    You can see Noah struggling with his feelings for Maddie. Is it wrong that he was falling in love with his best friends girl, even if his best friend was dead?

    “Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, Noah. Experience them and embrace them.
    They’re what make us alive and strong.” ~ Maggie Sullivan (Noah’s mom)

    This quote sums up the book in two sentences….

    “So it’s kinda like ‘don’t hate the player, hate the game’, right?” Like you
    were a product of what society wanted of you for a long time – even though
    it wasn’t who you really were deep down inside.”

    Jake kept his feelings for Maddie a secret because he felt as though he needed to keep up his image… Was that fair to Maddie?

    On Jake’s headstone there was a saying:

    The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched.
    After reading this book, I felt as though Jake brought Noah and Maddie together for a reason. Maddie saved Noah from the epic storm of grief. Noah wasn't drowning anymore. Noah and Maddie comforted each other in their time of need and it was heart warming to see their love blossom from such a tragedy. If it weren't for Jake's death, Maddie and Noah wouldn't have found love... Does everything happen for a reason?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Loved it

    This is the first book i have read of hers and i have to say that i loved it. It was so good for so many different reasons. I liked reading a story that for once had people changing for the better and not just one person but most of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Sighh..love

    Very emotional but the best love story ever !!! No sex was needed to make this book as amazing as it was and that just makes me love this book even more :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    GWP

    Loved another one of this author's story. Cried, it is a great love story, reminded me of movie A Walk to Remember a little bit and much more. Cant wait for more of her books have read most already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Unexpected Suprise

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Thumbs up!

    It was a heartfelt and emotional book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Sweet Story

    I actually enjoyed this more than I thought I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Good

    Not to bad. Very emotional. Yes I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    OK

    Dont Hate the Player....Hate the Game was interesting. I was disappointed in the characters and story line. This is just one of those books I will not be reading again. One time was enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    SO AMAZING!!!

    Most awesome book ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wow !!!

    My emotions were up and down throughout the entire book. It was a great book, i really loved it. It's not the type of book i usually read, but i am really glad i read it. It actually made me tear up a little. You should definitely read :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Love story

    I thought the storyline was good. Some parts i felt drug on. But overall, a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loved this story!

    Katie Ashley is becoming a favorite author of mine. Music of the Heart was so good, that it was a given that I had to read Don't Hate the Player, Hate the Game. I loved it. Sometimes, it's a breath of fresh air to read the story of people falling in love and having that emotional connection at the forefront rather than the physical. It has just enough of that teenage angst without being too heavy, but enjoyable. I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Star Rating: 4 out of 5¿Heat Rating: Mild to Simmering (These ar

    Star Rating: 4 out of 5¿Heat Rating: Mild to Simmering (These are teenagers, so think about what you were like)




    When I first saw this book I paused, surprised that Katie Ashley was writing a YA novel.  I have read Katie's Proposition Series and LOVED her passionate and hot stories full of drama and characters that were very real.  Typically, I don't read YA but since it was Katie I assumed I would get a great story and I was not disappointed!  This story was so incredible that you don't miss the graphic "adult" scenes because you were so involved with Noah and his journey that everything else falls away (even your family and dinner prep).
    ¿“Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, Noah. Experience them and embrace them. They’re what make us alive and strong.”
    ¿Don't Hate the Player... Hate the Game is a honest, raw and real story told from Noah's point of view.  I LOVE a story told from the boy's perspective and in this story it added another layer of wonderful in an already decadent cake.   From the blurb you know as a reader that one of the worst possible tragedies has befallen Noah, he has lost his best friend in a crazy accident and now has to figure out who he is without Jake and move on with his life. 
    ¿¿"The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched."
    ¿I knew that this story was going to be sad in parts but I was unprepared for how Katie's writing through Noah's perspective would shred me.  I think I cried through the first 25% of this book, the writing evoked such strong emotions and really let the reader see inside Noah and what he was going through.
    ¿"Sometimes we just have two sides to us, Noah. One that we’re willing to let the world see, and then the other that we hide deep within ourselves.”




    Don't Hate the Player, wasn't all grief and raw story-telling, it was more of a journey that Noah went through at the end of his Senior year of high school that changed how he viewed himself and his relationships with others.  Maddie enters Noah's life when he loses Jake and her brand of goody-two shoes teenager is the antithesis of what Noah is used to in girls.  Maddie was a delight to read, she was funny, innocent and a bit goofy, I instantly liked the person Noah was when he was around her and knew good things were going to happen.  
    ¿“Like I said. I don’t want to go all hardcore—I hear it’s easy to get addicted. I wanna say outta Ice Cream Rehab if you don’t mind!”
    ¿Katie Ashley has written a beautiful story that any age group can enjoy.  As a mother and a woman in her mid-thirties this book resonated on many levels and really reminded me that what we see on the surface isn't always what lies underneath a person.  I LOVED this book.  It made me laugh, cry and feel hope, something we all can use in our lives.  If you enjoyed Katie's other books you will NOT be disappointed in this YA novel, and if you have never read a book by Katie Ashley, this is a MUST read!  Go.  Go now and 1-click!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great book

    I was really touched by this book and it was great. However it was so sad. It takes you on such an emotional rollercoster. Love all the books by her and can't wait to read whats next from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I have read too many books to count, over the past year, mostly

    I have read too many books to count, over the past year, mostly romance and I would say this is the saddest book I have ever read. I have read almost all of Katie's books multiple times. I will definately not be re-reading this one. It was so sad that it actually ruined this book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3