Customer Reviews for

Don't Hate the Player...Hate the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. You can't help falling in love with Noah & Maddie. I love all of her books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    WOW What an incredible story., with wonderful characters great s

    WOW What an incredible story., with wonderful characters great story line and a truly passionate and dreamy love story
    of all time., I really really enjoyed this book and recommend it as it truly is a must read :) <3  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Awesome

    An Awesome YA heartwarming book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I'm not going to go into the story too much since so many who ha

    I'm not going to go into the story too much since so many who have reviewed it have already done so. What I will say is that this book was very emotional.  I cried more than a few times.  Especially since I could relate having lost a sibling tragically. I thought the storyline was very believable.  The language was appropriate considering it was from the perspective of a high school senior.  A few hot and heavy makeout sessions but no graphic sex scenes which was kind of refreshing.

    It could have used one more round of editing, spell check just can't catch wrong words that are spelled correctly.

    I would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I think Katie Ashley did a fabulous job with this book. Don¿t H

    I think Katie Ashley did a fabulous job with this book. Don’t Hate the Player…Hate the Game is told in a POV, of a 17 year old male. I think Katie did a marvelous job in doing it. I could actually feel the emotions that Noah was feeling while I was reading the book. This is such a great book about young love.

    Noah Sullivan loses his best friend Jake Nelson, when he is killed in a tragic accident a few weeks before they graduate from high school. While helping Jake’s father gather some of Jake’s belongings from his room for the funeral service, they discover an engagement ring and lyrics from a song. Noah is completely shocked by these findings, as Jake was a confirmed player and never settled for just one girl. Noah learns that he didn’t really know everything about his best friend. There was another side of Jake that no one knew… accept for one girl. A girl that captured Jake’s heart. A girl that Noah had to find.
    Jake’s mother makes Noah promise to find the special girl who the ring belonged to. There was a girl out there that Jake truly loved enough to want to marry. Jake didn't get the chance to give it to her, however Mrs. Nelson wanted her to have it.

    While Noah is trying to figure out who this mystery girl is, he is dealing with the memories of his best friend and his grandfather, who had passed a few years back. Noah never really grieved for Jake because in his head he thinks he needs to be strong, that if he shows any emotions, he wouldn’t be a man… My heart broke for Noah. Noah pushes his grief aside to try and find out what girl Jake had intention of proposing to. After narrowing the search down, everything seems to be pointing to a girl named, Maddie.

    Maddie is the preacher’s daughter, who was tutoring Jake. Maddie is such a sweet girl. Her heart is broken by the death of Jake. Maddie is struggling with her own emotions. Maddie and Noah begin to comfort each other over their loss of Jake. A friendship develops between the two, but Noah is drawn to Maddie like a moth to a flame.

    Noah begins to develop feelings for Maddie. Once Noah knows that it was Maddie that Jake loved, should he have told Maddie about the engagement ring? Is Noah being selfish for not wanting to tell Maddie about the ring? Does Maddie have the same feelings for Noah?

    You can see Noah struggling with his feelings for Maddie. Is it wrong that he was falling in love with his best friends girl, even if his best friend was dead?

    “Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, Noah. Experience them and embrace them.
    They’re what make us alive and strong.” ~ Maggie Sullivan (Noah’s mom)

    This quote sums up the book in two sentences….

    “So it’s kinda like ‘don’t hate the player, hate the game’, right?” Like you
    were a product of what society wanted of you for a long time – even though
    it wasn’t who you really were deep down inside.”

    Jake kept his feelings for Maddie a secret because he felt as though he needed to keep up his image… Was that fair to Maddie?

    On Jake’s headstone there was a saying:

    The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched.
    After reading this book, I felt as though Jake brought Noah and Maddie together for a reason. Maddie saved Noah from the epic storm of grief. Noah wasn't drowning anymore. Noah and Maddie comforted each other in their time of need and it was heart warming to see their love blossom from such a tragedy. If it weren't for Jake's death, Maddie and Noah wouldn't have found love... Does everything happen for a reason?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Loved it

    This is the first book i have read of hers and i have to say that i loved it. It was so good for so many different reasons. I liked reading a story that for once had people changing for the better and not just one person but most of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Sighh..love

    Very emotional but the best love story ever !!! No sex was needed to make this book as amazing as it was and that just makes me love this book even more :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    GWP

    Loved another one of this author's story. Cried, it is a great love story, reminded me of movie A Walk to Remember a little bit and much more. Cant wait for more of her books have read most already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Unexpected Suprise

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    SO AMAZING!!!

    Most awesome book ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wow !!!

    My emotions were up and down throughout the entire book. It was a great book, i really loved it. It's not the type of book i usually read, but i am really glad i read it. It actually made me tear up a little. You should definitely read :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loved this story!

    Katie Ashley is becoming a favorite author of mine. Music of the Heart was so good, that it was a given that I had to read Don't Hate the Player, Hate the Game. I loved it. Sometimes, it's a breath of fresh air to read the story of people falling in love and having that emotional connection at the forefront rather than the physical. It has just enough of that teenage angst without being too heavy, but enjoyable. I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    It¿s a funny thing about perception¿what we perceive is not alwa

    It’s a funny thing about perception…what we perceive is not always in fact, reality.

    Noah Sullivan is a 17 year old high school senior who just lost his best friend in a tragic accident. Told from Noah’s point of view, this sad and touching young adult story brought tears to my eyes and sniffles to my nose on more than one occasion.

    After Jake’s death, a surprising personal item is found in his bedroom. Jake’s mother pleads with Noah to help find the person for whom this item was meant to be given. What started out as a daunting task to find this specific person, ends up being an exercise in self-discovery for Noah as well as leading him to uncover unbeknownst truths about his best friend who was known for being a player.

    Noah thought he knew everything there was to know about Jake, his best friend since kindergarten. But everything is not always as it seems. Not only did he discover a different side to Jake, Noah also learned about himself, his emotions, and what was truly important in his life. Growing up is never easy for anyone. The teenage years are full of emotional turmoil. And then to lose a best friend at such a young age is life altering. Watching Noah struggle and come to terms with Jake’s loss was heartbreaking. As a mother of a child close to Noah’s age, I wanted to reach into my Kindle and hug him tightly. I wanted to tell him that it was okay to express his feelings, something he tried very hard to hide from doing. I wanted to tell him he needed to let it out. But Noah had to figure this all out on his own. He had to experience the process in order to come out on the other side.

    Noah’s relationship with his single mother was not unusual for a teenage boy. Maddie, the main female character was the kind of person who always tried to bring out the good in everyone. Noah’s grandmother was a doting woman who was wise with her words. And of course, there were also your usual group of high school characters that we can recall from our own experiences.

    Kudos to Katie Ashley for this beautifully written coming of age story. What a brilliant job she did getting into the head of a teenage boy. Happily, there were some very humorous moments to lighten up this tender tale. (I’ve never heard the term “polish your knob” before. LOL!) I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a very touching read. And I’m hoping I can talk my own teenager into reading it. There are certainly some very valuable life lessons to be gained here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes there is a book that you pick up because you like the

    Sometimes there is a book that you pick up because you like the cover, or the synopsis sounds interesting, or you're just trying to work your way through your TBR pile. You're not really expecting anything earth shattering, or life changing, but just a nice enjoyable read for a day or two. But then.... BAM!!! All of a sudden you are drawn into a story so emotional, so gut-wrenching and heart breaking, that tears are streaming down your face, and you're mumbling, "Why, oh why?" to yourself at 3 in the morning as you frantically swipe from page to page on your e-reader. This book was all of that and more for me.

    Judging from the cover and the playful title of the book, I was expecting a silly little love story with a dark twist. I knew from the synopsis that the main character's best friend dies in a freak accident right off the bat, but I wasn't prepared for how REAL Jake felt all through the book. Noah is constantly hearing his voice in his head, and having flashbacks to all of the good times he and Jake spent together. He keeps Jake alive for the reader, and I truly felt that I was able to know him through Noah. Totally, completely, sob-inducing - take it from me.

    If that had been the extent of the storyline - that and Noah's search for the girl that Jake had been in love with - I could have handled it. Sure, a good cry once or twice and then wrap it up with a bow. But, oh no. There is so much more going on with this story. I'm not going to give any spoilers, but here is just a quick glimpse of all of the other very emotionally heavy topics that are addressed in this book: the death of a beloved grandparent, an estranged father, a single mom moving on to the next phase in her life, a terminally ill child, a recovering drug addict, and falling in love with a person you don't think you're supposed to be with. Katie Ashley deals with all of these topics beautifully, and they all hit you squarely in the heart while you are reading.

    The thing that kept bringing me to tears was how much Noah truly missed Jake.

    "Jake? Come on, Jake? Answer me you sorry fu##er! Tell me you being dead is just a joke you're pulling to keep from getting in trouble for skipping out today. Please Jake..."


    Plus, Noah is a typical 17 year old boy. He is experiencing all of these overwhelming emotions of pain and grief and loss, but he doesn't know how to deal with them. He thinks that the manly thing to do is bottle them up and not release them, but at the same time, he is still just a kid that is lost without his best friend.

    It was like a dam had collapsed in my mind, and thoughts and emotions coursed through me.
    "Suck it up! Be a man!
    It was instant love....I love you, Noah.
    Don't let the emotions out. Keep them buried.
    Hey man, don't make me duct tape you again. You know, I'm here for you no matter what. We're best buds, remember?
    No one wants to see the real you. Keep it hidden. They won't love you if they see the real you."


    As if that wasn't enough for Noah to be going through, he is also having a major conflict with how he feels about Maddie. She is one of the girls that he suspects might have been "the one" that Jake was in love with, but Noah thinks he is falling in love with her himself. He feels guilty about his feelings - as if in some way he is betraying Jake by being with Maddie.

    Maddie could be her. The more I allowed myself to think it, the less I wanted it to be true. Something within me didn't want Maddie to be Jake's, or most of all that Jake was Maddie's.


    Overall, I think that what Noah goes through in this book is something that anyone who has ever lost someone close to them can relate to. That is what makes this book so special. It speaks to you. It reaches out and grabs you and forces you to relive emotions that you may have felt at one time in your life, side by side with Noah. And most importantly, I feel, is the message that I took away from Katie Ashley's story, and the words that were inscribed upon Jake's tomb:

    "The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched."


    I highly recommend this book to everyone! It is classified as a Young Adult novel, but I truly think it is more of a New Adult, so don't let the YA tag discourage you. This is truly one of the best books I have ever read, and it will forever have a place in my heart and on my Favorites shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Katie Ashley is amazing and this story is just another reason wh

    Katie Ashley is amazing and this story is just another reason why...I loved the premise of this book...how we can be around someone all of our lives and never really know them at all. It is an emotional journey that brings so many emotions into play! I love her books!!! You will too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well I need to start by saying this was nothing like any of Kati

    Well I need to start by saying this was nothing like any of Katie Ashley book I have read! And...... I LOVED it! It was such a great story about finding yourself and love and being ok with who you are! Katie got the idea for this story after she lost a student.




    The book starts out ripping your heart to shreds! Noah Sullivan is an only child to single mom. His dad knocked up his mom and took off, he is a pro baseball player. Noah meets his best friend Jake when he was 5 after he duck tapes him to a chair. (Cute story once you find out why ;)) 




    Jake is the schools Casanova! He gets girls left and right and is known for his crudeness and ability to get any girl he wants. Two years prior Jake gets into some trouble with nakedness involved and is put into a program at the church; a sort of rehabilitation program. This is where he meets Maddie, the preachers daughter, and shows her a side of him no one knows.




    In the beginning Jake is tragically killed and when they are getting items for his funeral they find an engagement ring in his stuff. To say everyone was shocked was a HUGE understatement! Jakes mom tasks Noah into finding out who it belonged to. Noah is baffled but begins with the two girls Jake was known to frequent. Well those are both busts! As Noah digs more onto the possibility of Maddie he learns stuff about Jake he didn't know, a side of him only her family saw. The more he learns though the more he hopes its not HER! 




    Noah is not one to show emotions, he has always believed men don't cry. He has such a hard time with Jakes death and keeping himself in check. He and Maddie get closer and she is such a good friend to him. And he grows and learns. But.... Is Maddie her? Jake's her? I can't spoil it for you guys ;)








    Rating: 4.5 stars
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Noah and Maddie

    Katie never disappoints me with her books!!! They always make me cry my eyes out!!! I never can put them down and her story's always touch my heart and I feel that they are so real. Noah loosing his best friend was so heart breaking but how he falls in love it breath taking. If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. I would love to have more about Noah and Maddie hint, hint Katie <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    You did it again

    You did it again another great book you are a wonderful writer i love your books so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1