Customer Reviews for

Don't Hex with Texas

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Another great entry in the series

    Enjoyed this one, set in small-town Texas, even more than the NYC-based novels. Great fun, good writing, inventive. A winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Shanna Swendson has out done herself on this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    I love this series, but this is my least favorite in it.  It rea

    I love this series, but this is my least favorite in it.  It really aggravated me the way she interacted with her mother.  I know it's just fiction, but I was getting very annoyed with the whole thing.  I'm on book 6 in the series now.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Recommended highly for fantasy & magic lovers

    Good entertainment if read by itself. Best if read in order as part of this series. Continues the characters development and add more possibilities. Texas is really not an essential element, but gets the story away from the magic colony in New York City.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommended - lite reading for escape

    This whole series was a ball to read. I thoroughly enjoyed each book and look forward to the next. The stories were simple, contemporary and silly. No literary profundity, just a well put together imaginative journey through a magical non-reality. As a lover of contemporary magical realism. I could not have chosen a better series for my summer reading. Too Cute!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I¿m not sure I can do this review without spoilers, so if you ar

    I’m not sure I can do this review without spoilers, so if you are like
    me and hate too much information, STOP READING and I’m sorry! In Book 4,
    DHWT, Katie has returned home to Texas to live a magic free life. Or so
    she thought until she sees spots someone using magic in her small town.
    The Bad: I did not like Katie’s retreat to Texas. It seemed out of
    character for her to walk away, not just from Owen, but from her friends
    and more importantly from this battle that had become so much of her
    life. I realize it was to set up the things we learn in DHWT, but I
    still had a hard time buying it. DHWT is probably the slowest paced of
    the books, but I’ve still read it about 5 times if that tells you
    anything.J The Good: Katie’s crazy family is present and accounted for
    in DHWT. There are plenty of funny situations – such as Katie’s grandma
    and her mother. Plus, we finally get some Katie-Owen alone time. I DO
    love the ending and was devastated when Shanna announced in 2008 that
    Ballantine wasn’t going to pursue Book 5. There’s still so much to
    discover, including all the mystery surrounding Owen and his destiny.
    Thus my complete joy at discovering that today, August 15, 2012, Shanna
    is self-publishing Book 5, now known as Much Ado About Magic AND that
    there will be a Book 6 later this fall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a book as with all her books that can not be put down.

    When I start reading her books I find that I have a hard time putting the book down. What is going to happen next? Her books are funny and also in a Harry Potter style intriguing. Ms Swendson writes in style geared to an older audience than Harry Potter. Writing a smaller book is also something that is easier for an audience that has less free time to read but is looking for something that is light and enjoyable. Her books are pure fiction, no hefty political views. Their are friendships and light romance. She doesn't let differing appearances or types of creatures stop her in protraying her characters with human characteristics. Sometimes I find her books in the teenage or sci fic section which could be also appropriate. Her books are not full of profanity. Her books have romance but not sex. It is an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who Knew Texas Could be so Magical?

    Lots of fun reading about Katie's family and what magic can do. And how sweet Owen is -- the ending is adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hope there is another one on the way!

    Glad to see this one in Texas for a little change of pace. I think the only reason I keep reading these books is to see what's going to happen with Katie and Owen! These books are addicting I must admit, nice fun reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Every girl should have their own wizard!

    I just finished reading this book, and I immediately went to the author's website to find out when the fifth in the series is coming out. I'm so disappointed to learn that may not happen. Shanna Swendson does a great job of sharing her fun imagination with readers throughout each of the books in this series. I hope more readers take a chance on this series so they can also enjoy the magical world that I've thoroughly enjoyed thru four books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Hex with Texas

    I loved every minute of this book. Please understand that this is by no means a conclusion to Katie's story or MSI's struggle to contain the every menacing threat to magic users everywhere. My only disappointment (by no fault of Ms. Swendson) is that the publisher has no plans to publish any more of these books. I understand that Ms. Swendson has written a fifth book and has ideas for more but we won't see these until sales pick up for the third and fourth books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Superb!

    I loved this fourth installment in the Enchanted, Inc series by Shanna Swendson...think of it as Bridget Jones meets Harry Potter set in the heart of Texas! Filled with humor, romance, and a great plot, I couldn't put this book down until I finished it! This book is hilarious, and had me laughing out loud many times! Not to mention, that the love story between Katie and Owen is one of the best I've read in a very long time. This is the perfect summer/beach book and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, enjoyable read! And don't forget to pick up the other three books in the series 'Enchanted, Inc.,Once Upon Stilettos, and Damsel Under Stress.' ****Word has it that this might be the last in the Enchanted, Inc. Series!!! Buy this book today, and help spread the word about the Enchanted, Inc. series so Shanna Swendson's publisher will publish the next book in the series. We can't let the adventures of Katie Chandler, Owen Palmer, and the rest of the MSI gang disappear!!!****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Loved It

    I loved this book just as much as the others. This whole series is one of my favorites. It's cute, funny,it just keeps you going through the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    So Delightful!

    This book was completely refreshing. It's light, it's fun, it's fascinating, and it's extremely well written. If you're looking for something depressing to read then don't bother with this book but if you'd like an escape from the somewhat depressing world we live in then you will thoroughly enjoy this book. I whole-heartedly recommend it for fellow Texans and/or lovers of fantasy. It's a really great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific romantic suspense fantasy

    She left Manhattan and her position at Magic, Spells & Illusion, Inc. because Katie Chandler fell in love with her boss Owen Palmer, who apparently does not reciprocate her regard and besides she fears for his safety due to her hex appeal. She goes home to the family farm in Cobb, Texas where she knows no major magical lines exists and ergo assumes there is a slim to none chance of an enemy arriving. --- As she works at the family owned Chandler Agricultural Supply store, Katie finds her hometown boring after living an enchanting life in New York. Everything changes when her mom tells her she witnessed some eerie happenings that no one else apparently noticed. Katie wonders if a rogue mage has come to town but that seems ridiculous as the lack of a power source makes it impossible. Still she informs her other former boss Merlin who sends Sam the gargoyle to investigate. Meanwhile Katie notices a magical advertisement in a local magazine in which Phelan Idris offers an online course to those who can read his ads. Owen comes to Texas to help out, but his arrival only tells Katie she still love him. Her mom realizes he is the one and insists he stay at the farm while Idris assigns his horde of amateur wizards to destroy Owen. --- The fourth Chandler-Palmer romantic suspense fantasy (see ENCHANTED, INC, ONCE UPON STILETTOS and DAMSEL UNDER STRESS) is a terrific entry in an entertaining series. The story line is fresh as readers meet the parents while the magical battle takes place in Texas. Still as with the previous three enchantments, it is the odd fascinating relationship between the lead couple that makes this a fine entry as the villains learn what most people in the Lone Star State already know: DON¿T HEX WITH TEXAS unless you want a mess of trouble. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Great read for everyone

    I've enjoyed all of the books of the series, and this one did not dissapoint either. I do know for a fact that another book is supposed to be in the series after this one. However it may never be released, it all depends on the sales of this book. I urge people who enjoy reading to pick this one up. It has a little bit of everything for everyone...comedy, danger, and romance. So pick it up at the store or order it online, and don't let the series end like this. Make sure that the last book is the fifth book, not the fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3