Customer Reviews for

Don't Know Much About Mythology: Everything You Need to Know About the Greatest Stories in Human History but Never Learned

Average Rating 3
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

This is one of my favorite books. It is great if you already know a ton about mythology or are just learning. I have reread this book for information and leisure.
It breaks down myths from many of the world's cultures in easy to chew pieces. There is also a lot of humo...
This is one of my favorite books. It is great if you already know a ton about mythology or are just learning. I have reread this book for information and leisure.
It breaks down myths from many of the world's cultures in easy to chew pieces. There is also a lot of humor to the author's writing, which keeps it from being dry or dull. One of the main reasons I enjoy this book is because you don't feel like you are reading a textbook or a scholarly piece of writing yet you are still able to learn a lot and for me the writing style helped me retain it. I would recommend this book to anyone, it is an amazing read.

posted by 3637142 on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting book. It would be even better if I could get past page 174 without having it get stuck.

During the section on Aphrodite, the book keeps going back and forth between two pages when I try to continue. Do not buy this book for the Nook Color if you would like to read all of it.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Snooze Fest

    Not worth the space in my library even thiugh it was free. This was not what I expected. It focused on interpretation and poorly formed opinions rather than exploring ancient mythologies.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Pretty good.

    Good stories, but not good for kids. Not recommended for kids younger than eight. Overall, a little bit boring, but pretty good as ling as you understand it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Textbook and a bit long winded but he's excited about his book.

    More of a college course textbook. Stories scattered and interesting but too scrambled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I love this book sorry about the fantasy myth chick thing first time nooker anyways fantasic captivating read perfect for info and for fun

    Great book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Didn't work

    When I tried to open this book, I get a message that says I am not the authorized user. How does that work or not? I also couldn't choose "0" stars.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Makes learning fun

    This book was written in a way that makes learning fun. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Holy tomatoes... I've finished!

    I debated on rating this 'book' as I've read through it. Sometimes, simply on the interest of some new fact to me I would think 4 stars. Generally, most the time, however, I thought 3 stars. Then I realized that mixed with what I don't know about mythology is an agenda and it hit 0 stars, bouncing back to 2 stars simply because a lot of it wasn't so “hands on politically correct mumbo jumbo”.

    Now, the book really isn't a book. It is largely a catalog, lists, interspersed with essays that often served better than prescription sleep medication... for sleep of course. During my last burst of determination to finish this book I 'challenged myself' to read 50 pages a day and be done with it. I figured that was about an hour a day.

    Not so fast buddy. I had the stopwatch running. By 30-35 pages I was seeing double and nodding out... averaging around 4-6 minutes per page. Yep, sitting sometimes for more than 2 hours determined to at least get to the next section. In fairness, the seeing double is probably an issue for me and my optometrist.

    If it is myth you want, it is myth you will get. This “book” went far deeper than I had imagined it would. I'm not going to tell you it lacks information. It is rich with information....a hybrid text book, catalog, sets of lists... with essays to explain, at least in part, whatever that 'section' was about.

    If the book had never crossed the Atlantic to the Americas or ventured into the Pacific it would have been a much better book, in my opinion.

    Who would I recommend it to... absolutely no one. Maybe someone who has a graduate degree in mythology and hasn't read this book yet. It might be cool to read if you're like that guy in the Geico commercial who is told, “everyone knows that” and after reading this book you could retort by saying, “Well, did you know... <fill in any number of obscure mythology details>.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Good research falls short through so-so presentation

    I respect the author's research and time spent on this project; however, I was highly disappointed by the rambling, plodding, and disjointed book that emerged. The writing style felt forced at times and while some myths, such as the Greek Panthion, received adequate coverage, more esoteric ones, like those of Native Americans, did not have enough for my liking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good basic book about mythology

    good basic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is packed with facts about every type of mythology worldwide. The selling point is that Mr. Davis tells the tale in a very interesting often humorous manner. Non-fiction has never been my friend, but I entend to read more of Mr. Davis' works for knowledge and entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Friday

    Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Didn't grab me

    I must not be ready to learn about mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Very good

    A very good overview of mythology - less retelling of myths and more about what myths tell us about a society. Fascinating subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Stiff and plodding

    Didn't make me want to learn much more about mythology either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    cannot recommend for Nook users

    What I was able to read was entertaining, but unfortunately I too cannot get past page 174 without having the book scramble on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good introduction

    Concise introduction to mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Needed tech support, didn't get it

    My wife has Nook Tablet and I Nook Color...we ca read as far as page 179 and no further. Tech support no help from B & N.Loved the pages available to read ( a "Free Friday" selection) but discovered I will buy very few books due to lack of support from B & N.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    To Broken

    The reason you got stuck is because it is a sample, not a book.
    There's a difference. You can't read the whole book with a sample because it is only to get you to buy the full thing. If you want to read the whole thing, buy the full version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10