BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Don't Leave Me This Way: Or When I Get Back on My Feet You'll Be Sorry

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Amazing,uplifting read!

    Couldnt put this book down.loved her positive,upbeat ,honest account of what she had to deal with.in person she is just as vibrant as her book ! Good luck Julia !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great inspiring book. I am so glad this was recommended for me

    Great inspiring book. I am so glad this was recommended for me to read. When I started it, I couldn't put it down. When I finished it, I read it all over again. Valuable life lessons have been taken. Reading this book has made a difference in me. I have been inspired and motivated to live a better life. I am hoping that Julia Fox Garrison writes another book soon. I am looking forward to hearing more.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    This is kind of book that you cannot put down until you finish,

    This is kind of book that you cannot put down until you finish, and when you finish you want to go right back to the beginning and read it again.  There are many lessons to be learned throughout her personal story, but if you put it down and think about the bigger picture you may realize that the author's message transcends her individual experience; the kind of wisdom that this book contains is universal, and applies to anyone and everyone.  Even if you disagree with some of the author's personal beliefs, or her outlook on the medical profession, or the even the world in general, her message is 100% objective: positivity, love, laughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Don't Leave Me [Chapter Two]

    Amy continues crying with her headin her hands. Her thick, brown hair was a mess, and her eyes were beginning to look swollen from her crying. She couldn't catch a grip on reality, that Jeremy, her brother, was dead. She sobbed, her heart aching. "How could this happen," she kept thinking. "How could he be gone? How? I can't believe it...." She picks up her phone off the ground, still sobbing. Through tears she could see that the top of her phone was fslighly cracked. She wiped her eyes, though still crying, and shakily called her mom back. Her mother answers, sobbing too. "Amy?" The woman's rang through the phone. Amy tries cming herself down, and tries to talk her best, thcough she was still crying. "Mom....how's Jeremy dead? What happened?" Amy asks. Her mother's crying got a little heavier through the phone, but Amy could still hear her mother say, "He got shhot.." Amy paused, clutching the phone so she couldn't drop it again. "Sh- sh- shot?.." She repeats in a question-like statemtn, because she just couldn't believe it. Her mother replies with a, "yes." Amy says a few more words to her mother before hanging up. She sets her phone down on the coffee table, before she plopped down on her blue sofa. She stared straight ahead, her mind clouded with greif. She was now late for work, but that was the least of her worries. She couldn't stop wondering, "why him? Why not another? Why not me?" She finally stands up, and walks down the hall, into a bathroom. On the right, she walked to a sink, and looked into the mirror above the sink. She sighs, and grabs a wash-cloth and began washing her face. She dryed her face off, before sitting down on a wooden stool. She grabbed a brush, and began brushing her thick, wavy, long hair. It reached about half-way down her back. After getting the tangles out, she applied some make-up. She then put on some decent clothing; a black silky top, with beige slacks, and sneakers. She put on some sunglasses to hide that she had been crying, and headed out to work. She hopped in her car, and backed out of the driveway, before driving off to work. <p> END OF CHAPTER TWO. Read chapter three at the next result. Thank you! Sorry it was short. (It's 2:28 A.M., so I'm too tired to type) But I shall post another Chapter tomorrow! Post ratings and comments please!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Get to know someone who touches lives by autographing everything

    Get to know someone who touches lives by autographing everything she does with excellence! Julia's story is one of hope and inspiration to everyone she touches. Nearly 400 educators were energized in our school district by her message this week as she  spoke to us about the life lessons she has learned in her journey. It felt as though each of us was the only one in the room as she read  from her work and bestowed upon us her &quot;wit and wisdom.&quot;  Personally meeting Julia was a  serendipitous event. Reading her book renews your spirit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    A recommeded must read. The story incorporates suspense, heartac

    A recommeded must read. The story incorporates suspense, heartache, frustration and stand-up comedian humor that will make you belly laugh. No matter where you are in life you can not come away from this book without learning many life lessons. You will be disappointed when the book ends..continue on and and be in the audience when Julia speaks..she is magnificent! You will come away from that feeling so uplifted! Through all that has been taken from her she has been given a rare gift in what she gives to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Beating the odds! Initially, I did not want to read this book. I

    Beating the odds!
    Initially, I did not want to read this book. I thought a story about brain injury would be too upsetting. Was I ever wrong! Julia&rsquo;s story is one of triumph over unimaginable adversity. Her spirit, determination and humor are unstoppable. As an author, Julia has a unique and powerful voice as she recounts her own deeply personal story of loss, laughs and love. Without sugarcoating any aspect of her trauma or recovery, Julia shares her most intimate moments with the reader. As a result, her candor, humor and honor create a bond with the reader and you feel like good friends. This is the most uplifting book I&rsquo;ve read in a long time. A great read that would make a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Julia's story is both heartwarming and hilarious! The way she de

    Julia's story is both heartwarming and hilarious! The way she dealt with her recovery is an inspiration to us all and provides a valuable example of how important family and humor are when dealing with difficult situations in life. Her writing is humorous, lively and authentic... You will find yourself enthralled by her story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I think this book is amazing. It truly reminds us the importance

    I think this book is amazing. It truly reminds us the importance of staying positive. I would make recommend it to anyone that is going into the medical field or that is a patient. It reminds us that each person is unique and should be treated accordingly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    AWESOME

    This is a MUST READ for anyone in thecmedical field! A
    s a neuro nurse it particularly touched my heart but it is a wonderful book for anyone who has suffered a stroke or has had a family member who has. I have recommended it to many of my patients and their families and even to a few doctors. Julia Fox has an amazing outlook on life and her wit and sense of humor make this a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Amazing Story Amazing Woman

    This book chosen by our book club was a quick read. Julias story is full of so many of the lessons in life: from a great attitude, to the "unknown" of the medical world, the love of family, the power of positive spirit, perseverance, proper perspective, listening to the inner voice, courage, the list goes on. Highly recommend for anyone dealing with a major struggle in life. DARL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    INSPIRATIONAL & MOTIVATING!

    I picked up this book with no idea what it was about. I loved the cover however I was wondering why the person on the cover was so happy & what happened to her. I really enjoyed reading this book & have been telling all my friends & family about it. Illness or not, a lot of people would be happier if they lived their lives with a more positive attitude. I so admire Julia's strength, courage, sense of humor, positive attitude, & determination. If you take the time to read this book about an amazing woman, you will be inspired & motivated to live a better life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    If your gonna read one good book this summer read Don't leave me this way,it's worth your time......

    Loved this book,truly inspirational,even for someone without a disability this book helps you put life in prospective.It makes you thankful for all aspects of your life.Julia Fox makes you laugh and cry. I wanted to go get a job in a rehab hospital just so I could be nice to the patiants.Do yourself a favor and get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    An Inspiration

    Don't Leave Me This Way is an amazing story of strength and determination, a story that allows the reader opportunity to reflect and be grateful for the simplicities in life. Surprisingly I could not believe how much of this story I actually related to, having cared for someone terminally ill. This is a quick easy read that will bring you to both laughter and tears. I LOVED every page of it and highly recommend this book. Everyone should own a copy and when you're having a bad day open it to any page...it really helps put life into perspective. Cheers to Julia and her wonderful attitude!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A must read! Especially if you work in the health care field!

    Although going through a horrible event, Julia keeps the spirit of "laughter is the best medicine". As a health care provider, it opened my eyes to how we sometimes see a diagnosis rather than a person. I've had the pleasure to meet Julia and she is a true inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Phenomenal Book!!!

    A woman suffers a massive, debilitating brain hemorrage...doesn't sound very uplifting, but it has to be one of the most entertaining, powerful, uplifting, absolutely hysterical books I have read in a long time. Julia has such wit, and determination the reader finds himself/herself routing for Julia and thinking "I wish I could be as strong as her" Julia also relies on her intuition and the fact that she knows her body better than anyone else, including the doctors, and she's right!! I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to be inspired and empowered. One warning though, once you start reading this book, you won't be able to put it down, so take care of business before you start reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE, REGARDLESS OF AGE.

    I could not put this book down!
    I Highly recommend this book. It doesn't matter if you have had a medical issue in your life, or not.
    Julia tells her story, with humor, passion and encourages all of us to think about how much we really take for-granted in our day to day living.
    I laughed, cried and took away some very important lessons.
    Thank you Julia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Positive Outlook = Positive Outcome - Read this book, learn more and be inspired to make a difference in your life and others!

    I purchased this book - Don't Leave Me This Way - after seeing the author - Julia Fox Garrison speak at a local school. I couldn't resist - I needed to know more about her and her story. There is a story here that needs to be told and even more importantly - needs to be read. After reading this book you will be look at things in a different way - the 'why me' factor is not the focus here - the focus is - 'my attitude will be the one that makes a difference in my life as well as in other people's lives.' It is a lesson for all ages and that is why this book should be read by all - teens to adults - in any profession. While it can give hope to those who are suffering and experiencing challenges currently - it also touches those who may not be going through a challenge at the time - yet it will help them refocus their everyday attitude and when they may experience some difficulties in the future - they will be more equipped to handle them. Go ahead - read this one - trust me you will want to share the message by the time you finish reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    A must read eye opener

    As a college student going into the medical field, I found this book very helpful! I've always known that health care workers can be rude at times but Julia's situation opened my eyes to how it can affect a patient. I understand the need to detach yourself from the horrible situations you see people in everyday but I now I also see how a simple smile can make a difference. Thanks to Julia, I have made it a goal to put a smile on my patients' faces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING book! A MUST READ for health care professionals and anyone who has a family member or friend who has survived a stroke!

    This book was FANTASTIC. Julia Fox Garrison is an amazing writer and has a unique perspective on strokes - as she herself knows what it is like to survive one. Her story makes you laugh and makes you cry as she writes about her trials and tribulations. It is very thought provoking and brings an emotional, humanistic side to brain injury. Julia's book is inspiring and uplifting. This book should be a required read for any therapist, doctor, or nurse looking to work with men and women who are recovering after any type of neurological trauma. I highly recommend this book - you won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2