Customer Reviews for

Don't Leave Me This Way: Or When I Get Back on My Feet You'll Be Sorry

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Inspiring Book- must read for stroke or brain trauma survivors

    Julia fox Garrison is inspiring. She has written a book about a very serious experience with amazing wit and humor. I would highly recommend her book for anyone who has gone through a life changing event specifically a stroke or brain trauma. I love her motto "a positive outlook equals a positive outcome". I think it would be extremely helpful to family members to give insight into the journey that a stroke survivor travels.I also think that it should be required reading for all health professionals to help them see things from the patient's point of view. GREAT, INSPIRING BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    A must read for families, therapists, doctors and caregivers who are helping someone recover from a stroke

    My mom who has recovered from her first stroke and is now working on recovery of her second stroke, lives with me. I am always trying to learn more about what she is feeling and thinking as we get through each day together, moving closer and closer towards recovery. It is hard work for everyone, but stroke recovery is possible. Stroke patients need help from caring and compassionate people with things like assisting them in exercising and moving their limbs for them until they can do so themselves. The title of this book first caught my attention and I related it to something my mom says all the time which is "I don't know what I would do without your help". Julia tells her story with such humor, that it is not only educational, but also entertaining. I've read parts of it to my mom and she cracks up and nods her head in agreement with what Julia is saying. It is a great way to communicate to her that I am trying to learn and that someone who knows firsthand what she is going through, has taken the time to help us all do just that. I ask all caregivers that we work with to also read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I really loved this book, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Although I've never suffered any of the physical impairments that the author has, her story is very easy to relate to. Not to mention that it serves as a reminder to all of us to never give up, and to never take anything for granted. <BR/><BR/>Ms. Garrison's persistance is to be admired, as is her sense of humor through ordeals that have broken the spirits of many. Kudos to you, Julia, and may you never lose your courage, love of life, and wonderful spirit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Brave New World

    In the past I was a caregiver for a stroke survivor. The experience, especially trying to communicate, was profound. Julia has captured the experience from the inside. Her determination in what sometimes seems like a hopeless situation is a model for anyone who suffers a stroke. I read the book for part of my research for my own book, FINAL STROKE, in which a detective has a stroke. In a way, Julia is a detective, searching relentlessly for meaning and for continuing to live a meaningful and active life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    An engaging read...

    It wasn't long after starting Julia's story before I was caught up in the journey that started so surprisingly during a normal day at work, and left her in a different place no one could have anticipated. You don't need to have personal experience with a health crisis to relate to the real frustration and helplessness she endured. I found myself cheering for her trust in her instincts as she stood up to the bureaucracy of the medical profession. I was crushed for her personal defeats and elated for her victories. In spite of it all, she manages to continue to see the humor that exists in every day life, and leaves you wondering how big a role that played in her recovery. I particularly enjoyed the stories that included her parents who provide some laugh out loud moments of comic relief reminiscent of the Walsh parents in a Marian Keyes novel. Overall a recommended, good read. Julia's humor and positive attitude make this very serious story an engaging ride well worth paying the price for admission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Phenomenal

    Julia¿s phenomenal story and sense of humor leave you wanting more! Entertaining, enlightening and inspirational only begin to describe the book and the individual. Julia had it all, successful career, loving family and active lifestyle. Then at age 37, a stroke leaves her with a loving family, limbs that don¿t work and a brain with limited abilities. Through sheer determination, she defies the prognosis of the medical ¿experts¿. You will laugh, learn and gain a greater appreciation for what you have. But, this is not your preachy, doom and gloom personal tragedy. It¿s not a far stretch to categorize the book under humor. The courageous use of self-deprecating humor in light of our inadequate medical system is laudable. Julia introduces two very different doctors.You¿ve probably met them. One is compassionate, intelligent and innovative and the other is ¿ not. Perhaps it took a stroke to do it, but Julia has found her niche as a writer and public speaker. I can only hope she will share the rest of her story with us very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    Read the same book only under a different name!

    I would definitely give this book 5 stars. Because when I read her previous book..P.S. Julia..Pinhead Press..2005. I was so excited to see that she had written yet another book because my husband had a stroke in 2003. His was almost a mirror of Julias, the book helped me to understand his feelings and disabilities much better. Anyway, I was thrilled to see that she had written yet another book, Don't Leave Me This Way, I ordered it right away, because I loved her wit and again their strokes were so similar that maybe I could glean more insight. Only to find that this is the same book, different Title, different Publisher, the only difference is in this book she lists acknowledgements and appendixes. As I said I loved the first book but I'm verrry dissapointed in the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    An inspiring and eye-opening memoir

    Reading Don't Leave Me This Way, I found myself filled with emotion and thinking about the many ways and the many people who could benefit from reading Julia Fox Garrison's amazing story. It's inspiring, instructive, humorous and moving all at the same time. But it's also an eye-opening and pragmatic description of what women in particular are faced with following a stroke--things that most of us would never consider. The author has captured the nuances and the emotional complexity of her ongoing encounters as a patient with the steady parade of healthcare professionals all so well and in a way to which many readers can relate. I am amazed at how she was able to remember everything in such specific detail. The story is very engrossing filled with humor and sensitivity. This book stands as a testimony to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of humor over adversity, and serves as an instructive tale to those in healthcare policy and practice who work with all patients, whatever their age, sex, condition, or needs. The other day I heard about a co-worker who just had a stroke, also only in her 30's. I plan to tell her Julia's hopeful story to give her the inspiration she will need for her own recovery. When she is ready, I'll give her a copy of the book. I believe she'll find it a wonderful resource for the road ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    A Must Read!!

    This is a stunningly important book which should be required reading for all medical and nursing students, and all others who are concerned with the acute care and rehabilitation of stroke patients, whether they are part of the professional therapeutic team, family or friends. This book is destined to become a classic in the field. It will also be invaluable to patients and families who are facing daunting challenges. With humor and the wisdom of experience it is a guide to overcoming the often overly pessimistic predictions of many care givers. Ms. Garrison's book is well-written, indeed often funny. Beware... if you pick it up, you may be glued to your seat for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2