Customer Reviews for

Don't Let Your Kids Kill You

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Excellent book! Must read!

    I loved this book. It was a very knowledgeable read, just what every parent needs to know and hear about their drug abusing children. Thank you so much and i will keep this and re-read as i need inspiration.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    A must read

    if you are a parent of a drug addicted child (child meaning any age). I wish I would have read this four years ago, it would have saved me from many years in a vicious circle. I am just in the process of tough love, and it helps to review and reread this book to give yourself courage and strength to follow through on what you know you MUST do to save yourself, your family and hopefully your child. I would highly recommend to all parents in this situation. It's interesting how everything in this book is so extremely accurate. I would read and then re-read it to my husband, and we'd shake our heads and say, boy doesn't that sound familiar. Thank you Charles Rubin.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Thank you! Right on the money.

    This book was extraordinary and honest and helped me stay in perspective as i still struggle with an addicted child. Thank you and I am hoping to help others by writing on the subject or forming a group in my area soon. God bless you and special blessings to those that are struggling. Read this and get with others that can help. This is devastating disease and you cant cope with it alone.






    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Must Read

    As the mother of an irresponsible, troubled, pot-addicted son, I found this book to be a real comfort for parents. I readily identified with so many parts of the book and the feelings that the author had before he was able to accept the fact that his children had chosen a self-destructive path and there wasn't alot he could do about it other than try to retain his sanity. I reread the book many times when I had to stay strong and enforce the rules and boundaries that I finally put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    This book is your opportunity to save your child and yourself. I URGE you to read it ASAP.

    There's *so much* I'd like to say about this down right outstanding book. It said *everything* I was feeling and described *all* of my fears, as well as fully described to a 'T' the insane life I, my 26-year-old son, and my family have been living for the past eight-plus years. This book fully and completely opened up my eyes to realize what I *HAD* to do to *SAVE MYSELF* and *GIVE MY SON THE OPPORTUNITY TO SAVE HIMSELF* from himself and his drug addiction. To all of you devastated and abused parents out there - *THIS* is the book you *NEED*. It's *not* an option of *not* reading it. If you're on a tight budget and can't afford to purchase it, then I urge you to run - don't walk - to your library and see if they have it. I promise you, THIS BOOK WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE. To the author of this book, Mr. Charles Rubin, my gratitude to you for writing it, Sir. I can't say 'thank you' enough. You've saved a woman's life (me) in Atlanta, Georgia and I know countless others. I hope and pray that by following what you wrote, my son's life can also be saved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    This is the help you've been looking for

    I have read this book over and over again - it has literally been my lifeline. Whenever I don't know how to cope any longer I turn to this book and it gives me renewed strength to carry on. My situation hasn't got any better, but if it hadn't been for this book I would have been completely destroyed by now. I first heard Charles Rubin being interviewed by Johnny Walker on BBC Radio 2 and I went straight out and bought the book. Thank you Charles, your book has helped me so much. For parents of a drug-addicted child - you will turn to this book many, many times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    A MUST READ for parents of addicts!!!

    I could not put this book down. It was excellent and very true to life. It answered a lot of questions that I had and really opened my eyes. Anyone struggling with any loved one who is an addict would benefit remarkably from this book! PLEASE READ IT IF YOU ARE IN NEED OF HELP--NOW!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Life Saver

    Our son is a 22 year old alcoholic and drug abuser. Over the past 6 years we have watched our much loved son become a stranger who only looks and sounds like the boy we once knew. This book has saved our sanity, our lives. Almost every page seemed to be written about us and to us. It gave me and my husband the strength we needed to help us take back our lives and salvage what was left of our remaining family. I cannot praise nor recommend this book enough to others who are living the nightmare we are currently experiencing. Buy or borrow this book. Just read it! You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Excellent read for Parents

    Many parents look for explanations as to why their children keep using substances and don't know how to help them. Or, parents think they are helping when they are only allowing their children to continue with using substances. This is an easy to read book with great suggestions on how parents can help their children as well as explanations as to what is happening to their children that they used to remember and don't recognize anymore. Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Screw this

    I am a xutter
    Cutter not xutter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    An Important Resource for Parents of an Addicted Child

    Excellent advice if you are the parent of an alcoholic or drug-addicted child. The guidance given is from someone who has "been there",... something few professionals and few support group members can claim. It is not usually possible to follow advice that is counter-intuitive to your status as a parent if it comes from someone who doesn't have an addicted child of their own...but this guy has two. I wish I'd found this resource sooner. I can only give it 4 stars, because I haven't finished it yet...but I will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Y

    After recently forcing our drug addicted adult son out of our home in hopes that he would realize he needs to help himself into recovery i found this book. So many of the situations in the book is also our story. For 6 years we have fought this battle with our son and nothing has changed......it has probably gotten worse. This book gives me the courage,strength, and even reinforces that we made the right decision to be the tough love that i pray will save and help our son. I believe charles rubin has also given me the courage to write to my local paper and tell our story in hopes that it can help someone elses child. I will reread this book again soon as it gave me knowledge and insight that i cannot fix my son, but we can help ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    definite need to read

    This book needs to be read by anyone whose life is coonected without anyone who uses drugs. Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2