Customer Reviews for

Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I love the pigeon books because my daughter can read them to me.

    I love the pigeon books because my daughter can read them to me. And she loves them because of the pigeon's reactions in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Our Favorite !!

    Mo Willems is a genius !!! My daughter LOVEs all his pigeon books and the Gerald & Piggy books ... very funny & easy to read !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Simple, but AMAZING!

    I'm a nanny and my little ones LOVE this book. The 3 year old loves telling the pigeon "no" after he persistently asks to drive the bus. The 6 year old is able to read it, so it is a perfect choice for both ages. (And I have to admit its one of my favorite kids' books!) Its also a great length: not too short and not so long that kids (and I) start to get a little distracted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Please make "Pigeon" a NookBook

    I was in Barnes & Noble yesterday and one of the workers at the information desk told me that there is an option you can select to ask to make a book a Nook Book. If there are enough requests "Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus" will be made into an eBook.
    In my senior year of college my children's literature teacher read this book to our class and it was fantastic. Making "Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus" into an eBook for children will make it even more delightful, so please ... send in a request to make this wonderful book an eBook so children readers can enjoy it as much as I did when it was read aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love This Book!

    This story is a great interactive story. It tells the tale of a pigeon asking and begging to drive the bus. Children will be able to laugh and tell the pigeon no. I've bought it for two of my nephews and recomended it to countless other parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I love this book!

    Mo Willems is a great children's author. I love all his pigeon books, they seriously crack me up. I bought this book for my baby on the way and I can't wait to read it to him/her! And of course collect all the other pigeon stories too. They're very unique and fun! You'll love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A hilarious book my kids still enjoy after several years

    Mo Willems is a comical genius. I just picked this book up as a gift to younger nephew. My girls are 6 and 9 and they still enjoy this book. My 6 year old told me her favorite authors are Dr. Seuss, Eric Carle, and Mo Willems. This is the first Mo Willems book we picked up and he has made an effort with all of his books to include the pigeon in some way. My 6 year old also loves the Knuffle Bunny book and the Elephant and Piggie stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    It's Funny.

    This is my daughter's review in her words: I read it a lot. I like the story. It's funny because pigeon's don't drive buses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun for all ages!

    I love this book! Something about the simple humor of the story, the wheedling tone of the pigeon, and the notion of a pigeon wanting to drive a bus just tickles my sense of the absurd. I especially love that the simple drawings effortlessly convey the pigeon's state of mind---from playful pretend to earnest bargaining to fiery anger to resigned disappointment. And the conversational tone of the text almost allows me to hear the pigeon and the bus driver speaking to me as I read. Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! is a great read aloud book as well, allowing kids to yell, "No!" whenever the pigeon tries to convince the audience to let him drive the bus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Go Mo!

    My daughter is 18 months old and this is her favorite book to have read to her. The story is fun and engaging and provides great interaction for young readers. (Or pre-readers in my case.) This is a fantastic book for helping children development a love for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My son loves it

    He gets all excited when we turn the page and he sees the pigeon "peeking into the book". He reads it alone and yells NO! to the pigeon all time. For a 2 year old, this book has really engaged his sense of creativity. Its a book that mom doesn't read to him but one he gets involved with. We love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    1st graders comedy gold

    We gave this to my sons' class as a class gift for his birthday and it was 1st grade comdey gold! They were screaming with laughter and I'm not known for my comedic timing.... Great pictures, great writing with a kid in mind, and its funny for parents as well. I bought these for my nieces and nephews as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book - that's all I can say!

    I got this book from the library and my kids loved it the moment I first read it to them. This isn't really a book they like to read by themselves - but they love it for bedtime. I read the pigeon lines and they answer with "No!" They absolutely love this book and I highly recommend everyone read it to their kids. You will not regret it. Mo Willems is a good author and I like his other books - but none of them exactly compare with this one - this one is definitely his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pigeon drives

    My son loves this. Great ages 4-7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    The Pigeon Rules our Bookshelf

    My 22-month old son LOVES this book. The first time we opened it up to read it, my first thought was "you've got to be kidding me, I could have drawn this." Oh, was I wrong. With such simple dialog, and simple drawings, Mr. Willems is able to impart tremendous personality and emotion. You cannot possible read this book without adding lots of inflection, and my son can already recite many of the page captions because they are so engaging. He always grins when we read this and so do I. This is definitely a favorite that he pulls down often for storytime, and I'm still not tired of it. A winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    So funny!!

    The book I chose to write a book review for is Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus. The author and illustrator of this book is Mo Williams. I chose this book because it won a Caldecott award.
    In this book the beginning is about a pigeon that wants to drive the bus. The pigeon says, "I thought he'd never leave! Hey, can I drive the bus?" In the middle he keeps asking questions and in the end he doesn't get to drive the bus. The author wanted to make you laugh. A great quote from the book is when the pigeon says, "Let me drive the bus!!!". I like it because it is so funny.
    I would recommend this funny book to someone who likes Moe Williams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Illustrations MAKE this book GREAT!

    This story is told more by the illustrations than by the text and the result is a hit. My kids LOVE this book. It hit their "funny bone" just right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    Love the Book!

    I'm not even a smaller child and yet I love the book. The entire concept of a pigeon wanting to drive a bus is strange, but the good kind. It's very funny and engaging. I highly recommend this book for anyone, not just smaller children. I think it's good for adults too, especially when they need to smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    I Love Mo Willems books

    Great interactive book. I love the how much my children feel encouraged to read when we do Mr. Willems' books. Throughly enjoyable for them and for me.!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging book that encourages reading with expression

    Aside from the way the book invites the reader to respond with a firm "No" after each of the pigeon's attempts to convince and cajole, the illustrations are a perfect match for the pigeon's expressions. One of the most rewarding parts of listening to my daughter read this book is watching her face portray the same expressions as the pigeon, and hearing her voice reflect the pigeon's emotions.<BR/><BR/>There's no better way to encourage reading than to make it fun, and this book definitely does that. We've had car rides where we've quoted the entire book from memory and now nearly all of Willems' Pigeon books are on our bookshelf.<BR/><BR/>Of all the books that we've read together over and over, this is one of my favorites - and since my daughter is the one picking it out, obviously it is one of hers, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6