BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight" should be a "don't miss" read for anyone looking for an autobiography in which you can totally immerse yourself.

My husband and I actually read this book together. We would get ourselves a cup of coffee and head out to our deck every morning during the summer with this delightful book in hand. We were so engaged with "Bobo" and her entire family that we couldn't wait to get star...
My husband and I actually read this book together. We would get ourselves a cup of coffee and head out to our deck every morning during the summer with this delightful book in hand. We were so engaged with "Bobo" and her entire family that we couldn't wait to get started each day. When we finished the book, we were actually saddened that we wouldn't have another day in which to share this wonderful read.
We laughed till we cried as Alexandra Fuller told her delightful stories about her mother, her father, sister, and the others who lived with and helped this fascinating family. We also cried when tragedy struck. We felt as though we knew these people and shared in their sorrows as they faced them throughout their lives. We truly loved this book and just wanted it to go on and on. Thank you, Alexandra Fuller, for giving us such a fond memory. My only regret is that there isn't a sequel. It's been a long time since I read a book that I enjoyed this much.

posted by n2nis on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Should read

Good plot to many Area names Loved the story.

posted by 2780855 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    An enjoyable read.....

    ......I found this book to be so engrossing that I could feel the african heat upon my neck...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Thought Provoking

    This is one of the most interesting books I've read in years. It really takes us out of our cushy, politically correct U.S. paradigms to a rough, rascist, other continent. The Fullers were as convinced as we are in the validity of their beliefs. This was their world view, their reality. Above all, this book has made me think how important it is for all of us to work very hard to understand the world views of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    An excellent read

    As a 40 year old, white Zimbabwean, this story really resonanted for me. It is a brave, compelling account of an African childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    enjoyed it very much

    This book is fun to read. It shows Africa as someone's childhood home. Written with honesty and feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    critiquing other reviews

    This was a wonderful book written with candor and passion. I often wonder if reviewers of books actually read the books they are reviewing! One reviewer here mentions that Alexandra Fuller's three siblings died of disease....well, I don't think drowning in a pool could be considered a disease! And her older brother died of meningitis and her younger brother died shortly after being born to a woman who was an alcoholic. It must be very annoying to authors. Another reviewer alluded to Fuller's politics! I think Ms. Fuller wrote an incredibly honest and apolitical account of life in Africa at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    excellent book!

    I also spent most of my formative years in southern africa, Bobo's account of her childhood is authentic, spellbinding, tragic, funny and warm. A truly good memoir!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Excellent

    One of the best books I have read in years. Recommend it to all of my friends and fellow colleagues in the industry. I hope she will follow up with a new book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Review

    Cleverly written, this memoir makes you feel what it was like growing up in Southern Africa as a white child. Fuller writes with acute observation and empathy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    amazing and unapologetic

    Fuller is realistic and brutal in her memoir of a white African childhood. It would have been tempting for her to be aplogetic about her upbringing, to drone on about the ethics of war and the politics of race. But she wrote about her childhood as she remembered it, with spectacular results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Excellent!

    Fuller paints a vivid picture of life in war-ravaged Africa. A must-read for those who enjoy books where someone overcomes the odds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    A DIFFERENT WORLD

    THE SETTING IS A WORLD AWAY FROM IRELAND, BUT ALEXANDRA FULLER'S NO HOLDS BARRED STYLE OF WRITING REMINDS ME SO MUCH OF ANGELA'S ASHES. THIS BOOK IS WORTHY OF RECOGNITION FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD. IT IS THAT GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Superb

    Ms. Fuller has written a story of every Southern African childhood. She has captured the essence of the land, the dust, the blazing sun, the wildness, the sheer excitement. Reading her memories took me right back to mine. It is pitted with humor, sadness but most of all truth in its glaring nakedness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    Extraordinary!

    What a vivid in-your-face account! A Beryl Markham meets Barbara Kingsolver experience - a true-to-life 'Poisonwood Bible'. Read it slowly to savor every sensory-packed sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2002

    Everyone should read this book

    One of the best books I have read this year. They should base a movie on _Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight_! A very realistic look at a harsh life that so many believe to be romantic. And yet there is beauty in the harshness of the environments that Bobo had to endure. A strange paradox. Delicate subject matter is tastfully handled in this book. Everyone should read _Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight_!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6