Customer Reviews for

Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

"Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight" should be a "don't miss" read for anyone looking for an autobiography in which you can totally immerse yourself.

My husband and I actually read this book together. We would get ourselves a cup of coffee and head out to our deck every morning during the summer with this delightful book in hand. We were so engaged with "Bobo" and her entire family that we couldn't wait to get star...
My husband and I actually read this book together. We would get ourselves a cup of coffee and head out to our deck every morning during the summer with this delightful book in hand. We were so engaged with "Bobo" and her entire family that we couldn't wait to get started each day. When we finished the book, we were actually saddened that we wouldn't have another day in which to share this wonderful read.
We laughed till we cried as Alexandra Fuller told her delightful stories about her mother, her father, sister, and the others who lived with and helped this fascinating family. We also cried when tragedy struck. We felt as though we knew these people and shared in their sorrows as they faced them throughout their lives. We truly loved this book and just wanted it to go on and on. Thank you, Alexandra Fuller, for giving us such a fond memory. My only regret is that there isn't a sequel. It's been a long time since I read a book that I enjoyed this much.

posted by n2nis on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing & Hard To Follow

There was a lot of good hype for this book, but I just didn't get it. What could have been an interesting story was hard to follow. I'm still trying to figure this book out, even after our book club discussed it.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    "Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight" should be a "don't miss" read for anyone looking for an autobiography in which you can totally immerse yourself.

    My husband and I actually read this book together. We would get ourselves a cup of coffee and head out to our deck every morning during the summer with this delightful book in hand. We were so engaged with "Bobo" and her entire family that we couldn't wait to get started each day. When we finished the book, we were actually saddened that we wouldn't have another day in which to share this wonderful read.
    We laughed till we cried as Alexandra Fuller told her delightful stories about her mother, her father, sister, and the others who lived with and helped this fascinating family. We also cried when tragedy struck. We felt as though we knew these people and shared in their sorrows as they faced them throughout their lives. We truly loved this book and just wanted it to go on and on. Thank you, Alexandra Fuller, for giving us such a fond memory. My only regret is that there isn't a sequel. It's been a long time since I read a book that I enjoyed this much.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked me and kept me enthralled to the very end...

    This was a really compelling memoir, brutally honest and beautifully insightful. Alexandra is a fascinating woman whom I would love to meet and talk with. I have not read her other book... but someday it will make it into my very large pile!

    My criteria for what makes a "good read" are: hooks me in the first 10 pages, opens my eyes to a new point of view, teaches me something about another culture or part of the world, makes me want to learn more. This book hit them all hands down!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Raw, poignant portrait of a life of poverty

    An amazing story that reveals the harsh realities of life for the poor in several African countries during the 1970s. Written as a memoir and dedicated to the author's mother, this book would be appreciated by those interested in African life, manic-depression, alcoholism, poverty, farm life, race relations or people who enjoy stories with a wry, dark sense of humor. This book is not written with the sense of balance or thoroughness one might find in a textbook, but rather it is a collection of stories that describe how one family coped with the extreme poverty and the political upheaval of 1970s Africa. By turns it is sad, desperate, intimate, bittersweet, and funny as hell. It will surely evoke some strong emotions in anyone who reads it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is an easy read. Once I started to read it I could not put it down. The author is very descriptive when recalling the accounts of her life. She includes so much detail it's like watching a movie. She paints a picture in your mind with each page. It is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Bris

    Such an enjoyable read. I ate it up and will be pondering on it for sometime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Great book!

    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Started in South Africa, finished in US

    I started reading this in South Africa (second trip with more to follow) while visiting family (expats). From Pretoria we self drive so we get to see parts of Africa others never experience, plus we get to "visit" with the people of Africa...African, Afrikaner, and British. Our son and his family have a diverse group of friends and acquaintances; and it is fascinating to just sit and listen to each person's perspective and observe their interaction.

    Fascinating book with crazy, funny, heartbreaking vignettes throughout. Yes, Africa gets into some folks' blood (my son a little I think). Despite all my past and present obsession with Africa I know, after reading this book and then right after...Cocktail Hour under the Tree of Forgetfulness...I am not one of them. Much as I love to visit Africa, the romanticism has worn off. It is a continent that needs the crazy adventurism of Nicola and Tim Fuller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an intriguing and satisfying read!

    the author's frankness and dry humor are totally captivating. she lets bare facts speak for themselves without moralizing or attempting to go beyond the scope of one little white girl's African experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Excellent Read

    Ms. Fuller's style of writing is matter of fact and oh so amusing, and she has plenty of stories to share with her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Learning to live in Africa

    Alexandra tells the story of her family's life and her own in war-torn Africa in which they were on the wrong side of the war and they try their best to survive. Learning to overcome racism, to be hopeful in the bleakest of times and the lack of limits of a family despite the problems that crop up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book 1.5 years ago and I still refer back to it and discuss it with friends. Real people in a tumulous time who experience moments of horrific tradegy and happiness and demonstrate moments of amazing courage, loyalty, depravity, and depression. Great read for a bookclub also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    A Great Memoir from Africa

    I found this book to be enjoyable in it's mix of humour and tragedy. Bobo gives us a unique perspective of Africa that doesn't pretend to explain Africa to the rest of the world, but to tell a story that is merely a small piece of a larger puzzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Stunning Childhood in a Strange Land

    This memoir is remarkable and so very descriptive that you feel as if you are in Africa. The author writes beautiful prose that sometimes reads like poetry. We really feel every emotion that she felt as a child and we know her thoughts. This is so great and you do feel that you are reading a beautiful work of fiction. I hope Alexandra continues to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Best book ever!

    This book was on my reading list for one of my classes. It is not book I would have normally chosen on my own, but I'm glad I read it. I highly recommend it to everyone! Fuller is so descriptive, I feel as though I'm with her in Africa. She was able to successfully mix humour and drama thoughout the book. I can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    Highly recommended memoir

    This story was so moving and at times so funny that it was easy to forget it was not fiction. The author's mother was a particularly strong personality that got her family through the rough times while maintaining her dignity. I will reread this and enjoy it again I'm sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    A Terrible Beauty

    What a story! Ms. Fuller is so talented a writer that I could smell the sour, wood smoked, parched stench of the story¿s lonely, isolated cattle ranch, see the sad bougainvillea trees left by fleeing ¿ex-pats like us¿ and feel her love of that strange, cruel continent (¿terrible beauty¿ indeed). Her story, told from a child¿s perspective, is so painfully honest and so thought provoking that I needed to read it slowly, going back over some of the richly crafted prose, letting the smells, sounds and touch of Africa surround me. The author¿s parents might be pilloried as racists by some readers, but despite suffering terrible personal catastrophes, they remained people of great passion and gave their all to carving out a life in a brutal place. After independence, their beloved farm was taken from them, and they were surrounded by evidence that it would be mismanaged into oblivion. ¿Bobo¿ (the author¿s childhood name) feels strongly that she is an African, and leaves no doubt of her love for her homeland. I look forward to reading more works by this wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    A View of Africa....

    Gorgeous, from the first page I felt that I was there-- I felt the heat, the thirst, the dysfunction and the love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Couldn't put it down

    This book is remarkable in its unapologetic depiction of growing up in a dysfunctional family in the chaos of civil war in an alien land. What resounds through the vivid description of the sights and smells and sounds of southern Africa is the strength of character it took to cope with such overwhelming crises and the love that kept this family together through it all. This is above all a human story and there is something in it for all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    nostalgia

    'a reviewer' got it wrong - this is not a story about everybody who grew up in 'zim' but about bobo - of course it's tragic that she lost 3 siblings -(no child should go through that) and I think the general public is intelligent enough to understand that - as for me I certainly knew families like the fullers -many families lost loved ones during the war - it was such a desparate time in history - but at the same time we were very privilaged to experience it - that is why we long for africa - us 'displaced people' - we can never go back to those, special, dangerous, crazy times - I certainly wouldn't like to bring my kids up in such a situation (now or then), but many didn't have a choice. - I'm proud of being zimbabwean and I think ( bias of course) we are unique people - also I have to add that I find my friends and siblings 10 yrs older than me (same as author) to be far more bitter - let go - it was fate for africa - now move on - enjoy your memories - god if I experienced what her mother did losing those kids I'd also be reaching for the gin!!! -can't wait to get hold of a copy of her 2nd book - alexander keep writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    An enjoyable read.....

    ......I found this book to be so engrossing that I could feel the african heat upon my neck...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3