Customer Reviews for

Don't Look Down

Average Rating 3.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Why???

    Why do these two write together? Separately, they are both good 'she is better' but together they are weak, implausible and STUPID. I used to buy a Crusie the day they came out -- now I wait for a used copy. Soon, I wont buy at all. These are really bad books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    A reviewer

    I love Jennifer Crusie! I have read and re-read all of her previous books and they are wonderful! This book was sooooo awful. The characters were flat and really annoying. There was way too much cursing. There was no chemestry between the main characters. I have not idea how they fell in love when they didn't spend that much time alone getting to know each other. Usually when you read a Jennifer Crusie book you walk away with the feeling that these two people were really meant for each other and will be in love forever. I can totally see this relationship being over in 6 months if they don't kill each other before that. I hated this book! I have been very disappointed by the newest releases of MANY of my favorite authors (Linda Howard, Julie Garwood, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Johanna Lindsey) and this is just one more let down. I am just about ready to give up on all new novels (especially the ones written by seasoned authors) and just re-reading the great books I currently own. Sorry about the rant, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY WITH Don't Look Down. Go out and buy Bet Me, Fast Women, Welcome to Temptation and everything else written by Crusie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    This. Is.The. Worst. Book.Ever.

    It's not just that the writing is inconsistent, it's not just that the characters are un-engaging, it's not just that the story-line is stupid.... I guess it's the total package of garbage that is this book. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Not what I expected.

    This is not one of Jennifer Crusie's better books. The characters don't seem real and the plot doesn't make a lot of sense. These two authors make be great writing solo, but it doesn't work together. It's like reading two separate books that some one is trying to cram together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Jennifer, you let your public down!!

    I've read every book by Crusie and have thoroughly enjoyed each one. I was eagerly awaiting this publication. When I saw that it was a collaboration, I was wary. So many authors are doing that today, and the result is the loss of their own voice. And that is totally what happened here. I had a difficult time finding any of Jennifer Crusie in this novel. Confusing plot, too many characters...Don't bother with this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    So Disappointing!!

    I have loved Jennifer Crusie forever. So I always am thrilled when there is a new book. But when I started reading this book, I was so disappointed. It made no sense, the characters didn't come alive I have no idea what happened. But if I see another book written in collaboration with Bob Mayer, I will not buy it. My advice: Don't waste your time or your money. And Jennifer, please keep writing the books that you did before this bomb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Boring

    I too am an avid reader of Jennifer Crusie's books and was excited when this new one hit the stands. All I can say positive about the book so far is that I have no trouble falling asleep at night when I read just a few pages. I wouldn't even recommend buying the paperback until it goes on the half price shelf! It's obvious the beginning isn't Crusie's voice. I had to keep re-reading the pages to catch the direction and rhythm. Very disappointing and honestly quite boring. It's unfortunate that our favorite writers feel they can widen their audiences by collaborating. Frankly, it doesn't add a thing and results in loosing a loyal reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Color me disappointed

    I am such a HUUUUUGE fan of Jennifer Crusie that I can't believe this wasted effort on her part. What part of this travesty was hers? If I had bought this book before any of her others, I would never have picked up another. That hurts me because I so enjoyed all of her characters in all of her other books. She has such empathy and warmth for her 'people' and such believability in all of her stories. How could she have submitted this for publication and have her name put on this?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    not quite a Crusie

    Not only were there too many characters, they all felt forced. Sort of like cardboard cut-outs of the real thing. Pepper was cute, but did she really need to be in this story? Also the sex scenes were not up to the normal Crusie standard--especially the one which used rope. I found that cliche' for the hero. I never felt the sizzle I usually do with a Crusie book. Wait for the paperback or go to the library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    What a let down...

    I too have read every Jennifer Crusie book and have enjoyed them as a quick read. This book was annoying. The beginning had so many characters I had to reread to figure out who everyone was and get a feel for where they were going. I found it difficult to enjoy JT's character. This book was so unenjoyable that I would not even pass it on to my friends as I usually do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Such a disappointment!

    Difficult to keep reading, waiting and waiting for character development, plot and some romance. Seems to be a he-wrote-it, she-tried-to-fix-it novel. I liked the swamp ghost better than either of the main characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    What a dud!!!

    I am a very big fan of Jennifer Crusie, however this book was sooo disappointing. I don't feel like she wrote any of this book. foul language throughout, the bland limp characters, the story did not make any sense. Ugh I have never ever read any of her books & not wanted to reread it a hundred times over. This one left me totally annoyed. Jennifer Crusie stands on her own, she doesn't need to ever collaborate with this Bob Mayer ever again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Boring!!

    Boring!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1